We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“PERFECT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Excellency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Excellency
Ranked #74 of 200 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

now i couldn't hv asked fr a better choice..wthin walking distance of the ernakulam station this is located in M.G.Road so right at the middle of activity...i was really in a doubt abt which hotel to book seeing such a mixed reviews and booked this on my gut feelings...and the moment i stepped in the hotel I was assured tht i had made the right choice...KFC is located less thn 50 mtrs frm the hotel and so are other big names...And at 1000 INR fr a double room(nonAC) i found the price perectly ok..the front desk staff were too couteous and readily agreed to have me check out at 5pm at no extra cost(12 o'clock was their check out time)...so a definite recommendation fr fellow travellers and would definately stay at this place whenever i visit again.

Room Tip: No special preference for the location..all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayush a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    110
    70
    16
    12
See reviews for
98
67
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Hotel - 3 stars
Room - 4 stars
Food - 4 stars
Location - 5 stars
Staff - 3 stars
Value for money - 5 stars

We stayed here for one night on August 15, 2012 in the non-AC room. The hotel is within walking distance of Ernakulam Railway station and bus stand and 2 km from Marine Drive. The hotel entrance is clean, well-maintained and air-conditioned. The rooms had all the basic stuff like bed, TV, table, cupboard, and were neat and clean as well. Unfortunately there was only one window (facing another building), so ventilation was so-so. The bathroom didn't have a shower so you have to bathe the old fashioned way with a bucket and mug. :) There were also no power sockets, so I had to move the TV table and unplug the TV in order to charge my phone. The breakfast buffett was excellent and reasonably priced (Rs 100).

Had one funny incident while staying there. Normally people complain about slow or tardy room service, but it seems this hotel's staff are zealous about their mission! We had this guy ringing our bell at 8 am to deliver tea (which we hadn't ordered btw). I was in the bathroom and my wife was sleeping, so neither of us got out to open the door, and hoped they would just stop and go away. The guy went on ringing the bell continuously for 5 whole minutes! And this went on inspite of her yelling 'Who is this? We didn't order anything!' Finally my wife got out of bed to open the door and he said, 'I'm here to deliver the tea you ordered' :)) So that's 5 points for making the effort to get the tea delivered on time, and 0 points for bad manners and carelessness in checking which room it was supposed to be delivered.

Room Tip: Better to pick an AC room since Cochin is quite hot and humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vj_mehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Some of the staff are real rotten eggs with very bad manners. While I did not have any problems with the online booking ,I over heard more than a couple of customers arguing with the reception regarding availability of reserved rooms . I had one Taxi Driver wake me up in the dead of the night at 2 AM telling me that my taxi to Selem was Ready!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. I had no idea about my selem trip but the hotel guys had.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank bijuvarghese48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Too aristocratic and professional. When I called for confirmation of booking got rude answer. And the cost of food is high. Location is better for rail connecting people. But one help they did. Gave us the right direction for bus stand of Guruvayoor.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BibekDeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

a good clean budget hotel centrally located at m.g.road cochin. good food and proximity to various places. Prompt room service and clean maintenance of the rooms. Helpful staff and cordial atmosphere. It is hard to believe that in the heart of cochin city, we get such a hotel for such an affordable price. strongly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 km away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Archana Inn
Hotel Archana Inn
#15 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.9 km away
The International Hotel
The International Hotel
#58 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel S.M. Regency
Hotel S.M. Regency
#111 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Srinivas
Hotel Srinivas
#161 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excellency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excellency

Property: Hotel Excellency
Address: P.B No.1748, Nettipadam Road | Off. M G Road, Jos Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,073 - ₹ 1,543
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Excellency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Excellency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellency Hotel Kochi
Hotel Excellency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing