We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing experience”
Review of Nimmy & Paul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nimmy & Paul
Ranked #230 of 459 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 May 2016

As part of our tour of Southern India we asked for a cooking class to be included. This was not a cooking class. It was a fast demonstration without any feeling. The four dishes to be prepared were a beef and potato curry, a prawn curry a fish curry and some beetroot. - there was no choice. All the ingredients had been pre prepared and to my amazement so had the masalas. So basically the entire course was 'stir fry this and add the paste and bit a of coconut milk. No recipes, no notes to take away, no masala recipes. It was all over in 25 minutes and then we sat down without Nimmy to eat. . Nimmy was not interested at all when questioned about ingredients. Altogether a poor experience

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2015

We love to go to cooking schools as we travel and although this one was not a hands on experience, it was a lot of fun. We watched the demonstarion and then sat down and ate a "yummy" meal. The best part of this was that we were give a little cookbook and when we returned home, my wife invited friends and she made everything in the book. It was absolutely delicious. The hardest part was sourcing the ingredients. But, is you are a "foodie" like us, this was a fune evening and you definitely should try it.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank stevesol6718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Attended in a group as part of a tour of the area. Had been looking forward to it. Started with lunch. First course was soup. When we asked what flavour we were told it was soup ! Didn't really get any better. Yes we learnt a bit and went away with a few tips, plus enjoyed a reasonable meal. The cookery cards were good but the entire group got the impression that Nimmy was glad to see the back of us.A bit disappointed really.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
3  Thank Mandy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I will admit that I cannot boil an egg and my wife will not allow me in our kitchen.
But I accompanied her on half a dozen "cooking demonstrations" during our recent trip through South India. There is no doubt that the best expierience - by a mile - was with Nimmy. Her set-up is professional, the recipe cards that go with her dishes are clear and handy, her dishes are delicious and her instructions simple to follow. Because my wife showed serious interest, Nimmy made a special effort and took her time answering every question ; she prepared 5 dishes for us and the lunch we had together was the best meal we had in Kochi. She and her husband were perfect hosts.
Nimmy has been doing these demonstrations for more than 20 years and she's very good at it. I understand that it must be hard to keep up the enthusiasm with some of the more demanding clients.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

What a cook she is, this fantastic lady Nimmy. From the reception until the last taste all was just a delight for the eyes and the palate. 4 recipes were given : potato Marsala, Thoren ,Kerala curry and Chemeen Ularthu. Very well explained in details for the ingredients and the way to proceed. And the dinnertable was nicely put up and she was a most interesting person to talk with.
A very succesful evening, showing the excellent Keraka cooking.

Room Tip: This is a homestay also, and not only cooking classes.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank gro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
4.6 km away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
95 reviews
8.2 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
439 reviews
3.0 km away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
27.1 km away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
7.2 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimmy & Paul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimmy & Paul

Address: Variamparambil | Chakalakal Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682 015, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 1,250 - ₹ 6,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand finale to your Kerala experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nimmy & Paul Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing