We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed really”
Review of Nimmy & Paul

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kochi (Cochin)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nimmy & Paul
Ranked #239 of 441 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed really”
Reviewed 1 December 2015

Attended in a group as part of a tour of the area. Had been looking forward to it. Started with lunch. First course was soup. When we asked what flavour we were told it was soup ! Didn't really get any better. Yes we learnt a bit and went away with a few tips, plus enjoyed a reasonable meal. The cookery cards were good but the entire group got the impression that Nimmy was glad to see the back of us.A bit disappointed really.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    0
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2015

I will admit that I cannot boil an egg and my wife will not allow me in our kitchen.
But I accompanied her on half a dozen "cooking demonstrations" during our recent trip through South India. There is no doubt that the best expierience - by a mile - was with Nimmy. Her set-up is professional, the recipe cards that go with her dishes are clear and handy, her dishes are delicious and her instructions simple to follow. Because my wife showed serious interest, Nimmy made a special effort and took her time answering every question ; she prepared 5 dishes for us and the lunch we had together was the best meal we had in Kochi. She and her husband were perfect hosts.
Nimmy has been doing these demonstrations for more than 20 years and she's very good at it. I understand that it must be hard to keep up the enthusiasm with some of the more demanding clients.

  • Stayed March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2015

What a cook she is, this fantastic lady Nimmy. From the reception until the last taste all was just a delight for the eyes and the palate. 4 recipes were given : potato Marsala, Thoren ,Kerala curry and Chemeen Ularthu. Very well explained in details for the ingredients and the way to proceed. And the dinnertable was nicely put up and she was a most interesting person to talk with.
A very succesful evening, showing the excellent Keraka cooking.

Room Tip: This is a homestay also, and not only cooking classes.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,306 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 608 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nimmy is a lovely person and clearly has a passion for food. I got the feeling that she is doing too many cooking demonstrations and as a result it has become a chore. Yes we learnt a bit and went away with a few tips, plus enjoyed a reasonable meal. However far from the best of this style of cooking demonstration I have experienced.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went here to have some amazing food with a large group of people, after a long introduction to "master cuisine" I was expecting the greatest food in the world. It was a big disappointment. The plates took forever to come out and the food wasn't good. The chicken was dry and nothing really stood out. The best part about this experience was leaving. People were really nice and welcoming the property is really cozy and clean. I would love to stay there, but as far as the food it just wasn't there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank edinchavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
8.2 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
425 reviews
3.0 km away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,025 reviews
4.6 km away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.1 km away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
7.2 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
642 reviews
25.5 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimmy & Paul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimmy & Paul

Property: Nimmy & Paul
Address: Variamparambil | Chakalakal Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682 015, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 441 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,250 - ₹ 6,500
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand finale to your Kerala experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nimmy & Paul Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing