We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
22
3
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
3
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoconut milkcooking demonstrationsouthern indiaher husbandcookbookcuisine
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Both Nimmy and Paul were so welcoming! Nimmy provided us with recipe books to take with us so you could concentrate more on the cooking lesson without worrying about writing it all down. Nimmy is a very good teacher - she didn't just run through the recipe but also covered useful cooking tips. We all sat in the garden afterwards to eat together - the food we had here was some of the best we'd had on our whole trip. Would definitely recommend this course - a really fun day and good value!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen___83378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stopped off for a meal and a cookery demonstration at Nimmy & Paul's beginning of November while on our tour of India. A fantastic experience an excellent meal and a very informative cookery demonstration of some of the courses we had been served. A really homely welcome was made and a real taste of Indian cooking with out the ''heat'' was served.
Well worth a visit was a real highlight of our tour.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My friend and I stayed at Nimmy and Paul's for slightly less than 24 hours, and never wanted to leave! We initially read about Nimmy and Paul's on Trip Advisor, and since we love Indian food and wanted to learn how to cook these delicious meals, it seemed like the perfect choice and we were not disappointed in the least. Nimmy gave us a mini cookbook and taught us simple ways to create these gourmet-tasting traditional South Indian dishes - some of the best Indian food we've had since arriving in India. She amended our cooking lessons to include specific dishes that we told her we wanted to learn to cook.

From the moment we walked in the front door, the hospitality was impeccable. Both Nimmy and Paul seemed to know what we wanted/needed even before we knew. We are students who had been traveling in India for the past two months and Nimmy insisted on washing all of our clothes, since we had been washing them by hand since we arrived in India. We came back to our room later that day to find our fresh laundry folded on our bed - truly a nice surprise. Nimmy also knew that we would be taking a long, overnight bus ride when we left their house, and arranged for us to have an early dinner and then packed more food for us to take on the bus in case we got hungry. My friend and I were amazed at their kindness and generosity, and agreed that it was the most "at home" we have felt since arriving in India.

I am now confident in my ability to whip up some of the relatively simple but delectable South Indian dishes, and can't wait to cook them for my friends and family when I get home! Our stay with Nimmy and Paul has been one of the absolute highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgica13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My friend and I stayed with Nimmy and Paul one night, had a private cooking lesson, and ate great food at every meal. Their house and garden are beautiful, our room was air conditioned, and Nimmy teaches out in a little demonstration kitchen set up in the shade looking out at the garden. She showed us how to make simpler dishes so that we would be more likely to make them back at home, but they were delicious. The class wasn't hands-on, but that ended up being just fine, especially since there were only two of us with her: she made sure that we watched closely and understood things like changes in texture.

Nimmy and Paul also gave us tips on where to go to buy spices and tins (I wanted a tiffin carrier!), and we had fun shopping. They were also helpful in coordinating with a local music teacher so that we were able to do the singing, cooking and shopping all in one day. Whew!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moontravelbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We arrived in Cochin on the 18th of January on the Silversea Silver Wind. We had seen that this was an excursion offered by Silversea and did some research on Nimmy & Paul via the internet well in advance and noticed that they could be booked directly which we did. We were a party of 6 (5 great cooks, and me) and Paul was very prompt in his replies to our email inquiries. He was even kind enough to arrange a taxi for us for the day which we paid directly to the driver however Paul made sure we got superior quality at a reasonable price. Our research paid off and we were able to secure NImmy & Paul's services for the full day at a significant savings from the ship price. (We prefer to book our tours directly rather than through the ship to be able to customize our days to suit us and the price is always more reasonable)
When we arrived at about 11 in the morning Nimmy & Paul were both there to greet us and welcomed us into their beautiful home. We had a short chat and then it was off to work in the lovely back yard which doubles as an outdoor kitchen/instruction area. It was a warm day and they both made sure that the fans were directed towards us and we were comfortable. We had a demonstration for about 5 dishes and then we sat down to have a wonderful lunch. During the morning instruction Nimmy endured many questions about spices, technique, and pots. Nimmy was assisted in her prep work by Baby, who was wonderful. Baby did not speak, however always had a smile, adding to the pleasant day. After lunch, NImmy and Paul found out from us where we wanted to tour and what items we wanted to buy and instructed the taxi driver where to take us. We saw the most popular tourist areas and purchased spices and pots. Nimmy and Paul did not accompany us as a previous poster has suggested. We then were taken back to Nimmy & Paul's to have a beautiful dinner. Because Nimmy had to receive the tour from our ship, she was not able to spend time with us, however Paul and their son Joseph did sit with us as we ate and were terrific company. After dinner, Nimmy did come to say goodbye, and sent us off to the Broadway Market to buy some more pots. Our taxi then took us back to the ship.

In short, Nimmy, Paul and Baby were wonderful people and accomodated our many requests. I would not hesitate to recommend Nimmy & Paul for a day of cooking to anyone who has an interest in Kerala cookery. Their home was spotless, comfortable, and quiet and the yard was beautifully maintained. We have already recommended them to travellers and would not hesitate to send anyone there way.

All of our group are fairly well travelled and this was truly one of the best days we have ever arranged.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank imlostagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews