We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”
Review of Padikkal Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padikkal Residency
Ranked #296 of 451 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2016

Dear All, This place is completely clean and safe. The Christmas and new year decorations were very nice. It is a pleasant place to stay. Since it is a centralized location it is easy to move around for shopping.

Room Tip: Suits are bigger and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jojimathew77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2015

I chose this guest house in Fort Kochi for my tour group from Canada because of several favourable reviews on various travel websites. Unfortunately, those favourable reviews are out of date. You can see that the building must have been very nice when new, but maintenance has been neglected, and it is now getting distinctly run-down and shabby.

The bad impression starts right at the entrance. There are piles of garbage and broken furniture scattered in the courtyard and on the verandah. On the first floor up, garbage has just been swept under a staircase in plain view, a breeding ground for cockroaches and vermin. Every one of our rooms had something wrong, such as missing light bulbs, broken door locks, towel racks held by a single screw, no mosquito nets on the bathroom windows, broken toilet seats, defective plug points, broken buckets and jugs in the bathrooms, leaky taps and bathroom sprays units, bathrooms not cleaned, dirty towels in the bathrooms, no dust bins, no mosquito vaporizers, and on and on.

We stayed because we had prepaid the first night, but we immediately started looking around for alternatives. Also annoying was to find that the rooms are now being advertised on-line at about half the price we paid booking and paying several months in advance.

I would never stay here again, and recommend against it in the strongest possible terms. It's becoming a complete dump, and management obviously has no interest in maintaining and cleaning it properly.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank indiajp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

We stayed in Paddikal home stay on 17th Dec. 14.Experince was horrible due to following :-
1. Large no of mosquitoes (we could not sleep whole night), windows not having mosquito net & Anti mosquito liquid was not in home.
2. No infrastructure, even not having enough bed sheets, Towels .
3. Don’t have staff to provide service or for luggage lifting.
4. Restaurant don’t Indian food.
5. Poor reception (no one appears there)
6. Worst location, very far from main city Ernakulam (15 KMs)
7. Owner or staff don’t bother about guest’s pain.
8. Too much pollution & smell (Cigarette smoke & wine smell)
In summation it was bitter choice like hale and not recommended for any Indian or Family. We request travelguru & tripadviser to take booking only after due verification of such homes.

Room Tip: no room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VIJAY388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Dear All,

This place is completely unclean and unsafe, ok there is a English lady doing some english breakfast, but that is a completely different restaurant, and nothing to do with the rooms or hotel. I found the following :

1. All staff members were stoned and high on some drugs.
2. No water sometimes,no cleaner . You might have to share a room with the staff.
3. tolets are like public toilets :)
4. dont know who the owner is.
5. Whole staff has young boys , who invite some white girls to play card in the evening.
6. whole staff and boys enjoy daily evening on the roof top restaurant, with some drungs,alchol and etc.
7. The rooms were totally dirty.
8. I saw a room that was given to me fr 1600 Rs per night rented out for 500/- Rs for three backpakers.
9. Staff sleeps somewhere in the lane/path of walking ;).

This place not safe fir bagpackers. family guys cannot even think about this. Lot of stuff going on in the background , I hope some day these guys get busted. If u really care about ur safety as a traveler or bag packer stay away from this place !.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nitin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

Spotted this English cafe on the ground floor of Padikkal Residency. Lynn (from good old England) runs the place with two Indian guys. She had English tea on the menu (Tetleys) and sometimes has Yorkshire tea too - both perfect!!

The first day I had the full English breakfast - Toms, fried egg, REAL BACON, Hienz baked beans, fried bread and English cheddar!!!! Unfortunately mushrooms and sausages are off the menu as it's extremely hard to come by good quality.

The second day I had the club sandwich! So tasty and delicious, hit the spot!

Our friends had muesli which they said was excellent and very filling!

Lynn is very nice and polite, and even gave me a drink for a dodgy belly, which helped massively!! Thanks :)

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is missing home a bit or just wants to have really good food, tea and coffee.

Lyyn you do a grand job and I wish you all the luck for the future :)

Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
10.4 km away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
92 reviews
9.9 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#4 of 30 in Ernakulam
431 reviews
8.7 km away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
The Surya, Luxury Airport Hotel
27.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
11.6 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padikkal Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padikkal Residency

Address: Njalipparambu Junction 1/1206 Padikkal Residency K B Jacob Road | Njalipparambu Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 800 - ₹ 1,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Padikkal Residency 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, HostelWorld, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Padikkal Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padikkal Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing