We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely homely place.”
Review of Padikkal Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padikkal Residency
Ranked #303 of 459 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here for one night, before my flight back to the North. My friend and I arrived at around 3pm and spoke to the hotel owner Manu for a while. He was the owner of the previous hotel I stayed at in Munnar and he recommended his homestay here in Kochi before the flight. He was really welcoming again, and his advice was really genuine and trustworthy as he has grown up in the area. He arranged local auto-rickshaw transport for us to get to the tourist areas for cheap, he told us the prices to bargain for, so we were able to get proper decent prices here in Kochi, which is tourist heavy destination. The area is beautiful, in Fort Kochi, a pretty residential area. Lots of palm trees, nice houses and friendly people. Although we only got to stay there one night, I really enjoyed my stay. I will keep in touch with Manu and definitely return here. I stayed in an non-ac room, it was fine. Lovely stay. They had new born kittens when I returned - absolutely stunning.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor- good view with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukeevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

we stayed in this residency on 18 may to 19 May 2013. We took one ordinary room and one A/c room. Rooms were basic. There are frequent power cuts in cochin, and we had a tough time as backup power was not available at padikkal. Overall there was one person at the reception, who disappeared half of the time. There is no inhouse restaurant and we didn't get even a cup of tea at the residency. Morning we went to a nearby restaurant for breakfast, paying 40 Rs. for rikshaw one way. Padikkal is located in area, where you have to walk atleast 10-15 minutes for everything. There was construction going on in adjecent plot. No room service, no reception. Suggest everyone to stay away from Padikkal residency.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pankaj p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I appreciated my stay at paddikal. The location is close to Kochi center, the food at the restaurant is good and Manu is always ready to give you some good tips.
Room quality is really good for the price, including AC and breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene-CMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed a few days in Kochin in January and we really enjoyed it.

The guesthouse is nicely located in the city center and Manu was really helpful. He gave us some ideas of things to do and provided us with the best rickshaw driver in Kochin!

The rooms were great value for money.

I really recommend this place

Benoit

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit_V0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

This was the first place my wife and i visited upon arriving in india. We had no money, our cards weren't working, we were tired and dishevelled... The way in which Manu looked after us and made sure all our problems were sorted was incredible. There coild not have been a better introduction to the friendliness of the people of Fort Cochin. Padikkal is a great place to stay for those travelling around Kerala, and Manu deserves a medal for how well he looked after us on the 3 (three!) different occasions we stayed there in March 2013. FortCochin became like a home to us during that month, and Padikkal too. Heartily recommended. Thank you Padikkal, and thank you again Manu!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewWargirdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
10.4 km away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
96 reviews
9.9 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#5 of 30 in Ernakulam
439 reviews
8.8 km away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Kochi Airport
28.8 km away
Sara Hotels and Apartments
11.6 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padikkal Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padikkal Residency

Address: Njalipparambu Junction 1/1206 Padikkal Residency K B Jacob Road | Njalipparambu Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 8,043 - ₹ 8,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Padikkal Residency 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Agoda, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your Padikkal Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padikkal Residency Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing