We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all”
Review of Soma Birds Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Soma Birds Lagoon
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Get away from it all”
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A lovely, quiet resort to relax in after visiting the busy, bustling Kochi. Lodges placed around central water feature. Grounds well kept and litter free. Outdoor eating overlooking lake very pleasant. Food was very tasty with large portions. Swimming pool disappointing- rather small and round so we did not use it. We visited for two nights in October when it rained each evening but sitting on lodge porch watching the lightning light up the lake was rather romantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hornbill lodge- lovely position opposite water feature and eating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebud30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    9
    9
    5
See reviews for
16
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

A wonderful location if you like off the beaten track, tranquil and picturesque places, as I do.
We stayed two nights as part of a small tour group in mid/high season. We were the only guests (nine people).
The brochure details are wildly inaccurate, with claims of facilities and services that do not exist.
On our second evening we waited three hours for a truly terrible meal to be served (cold but not dangerous). Due to the location there is nowhere else to eat. It always took absolutely ages to get anything to eat or drink at anytime.
Beer available (vastly inflated price).
We were still charged for our awful meal, despite there being a suggestion that we would not have to pay for our food when we complained the previous evening.
Some of our laundry was lost.
The shower facilities are Indian style, pour a bucket of warm water over yourself. If you are able to tolerate a cold shower there is a wall mounted shower head.
No fridge or tea making facilities.
No hanging space for clothes.
Sadly this place was a deep disappointment despite the beautiful location; we could have tolerated an overnight stay, but no more.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

India
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Drove down directly to Birds Lagoon from Kochi airport and its about 1.5 hours down narrow country lanes. Stayed for 2 nights and this is a lovely resort to just chill out. There is a small building with A/c and non-A/c rooms but we stayed in the lagoon facing cottage and that's much nicer. Our room was named 'Myna', all the cottages are named after birds and the largest one is called 'Hornbill'. There was a little porch outside the room facing out onto the beautiful lagoon, perfect place to relax with a drink and snacks.

Saw lots of birds even though the water level in the lagoon was low. There is a little hut out over the water and we had our breakfasts there. Good food, freshly made - the pineapples grow in the gardens and are freshly squeezed out for juice each morning! Staff were courteous and prompt and our request for local Kerala style food was met with a few hours advance notice. The manager lives on the property and was helpful with ideas on alternate places to visit since the main bird sanctuary was still closed.

The room furnishings were simple but clean and comfortable. It would have been nice to have a cupboard but for 2 nights it was okay. Good hot water in the shower but no shower curtain meant the whole bathroom got soaked.

Occupancy was low in mid-November because the bird sanctuary had still not opened. The main sanctuary gate is about 20 minutes from the resort. The spa at the resort had not yet opened for the season so cannot comment on that. The 'swimming pool' is just a small round splash pond. The conference room is underground with a cave-like entrance, very unusual.

It was still raining heavily in the evenings and the mornings were mist soaked with the hills in the distance. There is nothing else nearby, it feels beautifully quiet and isolated.

We stayed in Cochin itself at the end of our Kerala trip and it is just a big bustling city. This is a much better alternative, a great place to start or end your vacation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingsonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2010

I accidently stumped upn this hidden hotel. Got info from Lonley planet. a very small resort hotel in nowhere. completely out of everything and surrounded by beautiful and quite nature. I was a bit disappointed to learn that not many birds around the resort, you have to go to the nearby sanctuary aparantly run by government to see some birds. There are quite a number of birds there are guides are capable of explaining them. I myself is not very keen on birds and their nests colour etc.... but the walk was interesting. The management could do more to keep the place a bit more up-to-date. If they want they acan do a lot to attaract birds too. The resort is located at a beautiful location. nice small lake is very nice with lillies. nice kingfishers and other waterbirds always fly around, Its a very quite place only noice is from some birds around., The best thing I like about the size of the resort, under 15 rooms. There is no ayurveda as they offered in the site and catalouge. The pool is rather a tub or a big tank with blue colour. They actually changed the name of the resort too.. been said under new management. Food is so so... like the taste and service but presentation is not very good. The restaurant is more like a hut..... no proper cutlery and plates. But I enjoyed this simple way of service and simplicity of the resort. The farm is nice with some fruits and vegetables. I satyed there for a week and a winderful experince to to be out from the crowd. The nearest town/ restaurant/ hotel is 25 km away. nice location and nature if you are ready to explore and be adventurous.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja-Dorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed here for a day on our way from Kochi to Munnar. The resort is located near the Thattekad birds sanctuary. Like the other reviews say, there is not a lot to do in the resort. But it is definitely a great place to get away from all the noise of the city to relax. The food in the resort is good and the rooms are clean. We were pretty much the only family that stayed there in the second week of october. I would think that is a plus for people trying to get away from the crowds. We were there in October and I believe the bird sanctuary nearby opens in november. I think they should be getting more people then.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amitsethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kochi (Cochin)
20.5 km away
Wetzlar Resorts & Hotels
Wetzlar Resorts & Hotels
#1 of 1 in Muvattupuzha
15 reviews
1.6 km away
Hornbill Camp
Hornbill Camp
#1 of 5 in Thattekad
152 reviews
0.0 km away
Thattekad Birds Song Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Fisherman's Nest
Fisherman's Nest
#230 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
17 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel VKJ International
Hotel VKJ International
#1 of 1 in Kuttampuzha
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Panchendhriya Ayurgruham
Panchendhriya Ayurgruham
#1 of 2 in Kothamangalam
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Birds Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Birds Lagoon

Property: Soma Birds Lagoon
Address: Thattekkadu P.O., Kochi (Cochin) 686691, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 442 Speciality Lodging in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,125 - ₹ 4,378
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Birds Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Thattekad Bird sanctuary, Soma Birds Lagoon is an exquisite combination of nature and luxury. A nest that cuddles you in the lap of Mother Nature. Being quite close to the sanctuary, guests at Soma Birds Lagoon have the privilege of watching more than 300 odd species of birds that is found in this vicinity. The Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary commonly known as The Thattekad Bird Sanctuary is also home to mammals like leopard, sloth bear, deer, elephant and porcupine besides a phenomenally diverse bird and butterfly population. Special care has been taken while building Soma Birds Lagoon, to preserve the village ambiance and ecological balance of this haven. So while providing all modern amenities, our cottages do not lose their rustic air. Soma Bird's lagoon is also an ideal place to experience Ayurveda and rejuvenate your body mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda, HostelWorld and TravelGuru so you can book your Soma Birds Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Birds Lagoon Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing