We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent example of a heritage hotel”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 229 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Our introduction to India. Service was wonderful from start to finish for the 2 nights we were there. Food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meal. Wifi available in the lounge.
Perhaps it should be noted the bed could be softer for us westerners :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandwotshisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,110 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at the Old Harbour in mid August and this was our first experience of India. The hotel was lovely; full of character with a peaceful atmosphere, a lovely courtyard and gardens with a good sized swimming pool. It was clean and well run. The rooms were large with huge bathrooms. Both of ours opened onto the courtyard. We did ask for a twin and a double room, but were given two doubles. When we pointed this out, the staff were helpful and put in an extra single bed. The food was very good; expensive by Indian standards (main courses around 500 rupees). Breakfast was excellent. There are several good restaurants just outside the hotel also at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2plus2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have travelled A LOT, and I am at a loss to find another hotel as charming, tasteful, and as well appointed as this one. Being a fan of old architecture, this exceeded all my expectations. The renovations and decorating has been done with the utmost care, quality and style. The garden area and landscaping is gorgeous, restaurant one of the best anywhere, and the staff top notch. Our every need was anticipated and met before we even knew we needed it. Extremely comfortable and with a touch of old-world extravagance, this was a difficult place to leave. We can't wait to return. Do yourself a favor and give this gem a try. You'll thank me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We found this jewel walking around Fort Kochi the day after our landing and we felt in love with the place. A beautiful 300 years old portuguese mansion finely restored.
A great swimming pool. Large & comfortable bedrooms. We loved the turn-down service (each night we had jasmine flowers beautifuly displayed on the bed cover). The staff is very attentive and professional. A nice selection of reasonable ayurvedic massages is available at the spa (on the rooftop). We enjoyed a romantic dinner in the gardens at night with fine local cuisine (excellent fish kebabs!). Breakfast was nice despite it was not buffet-style.
We were offered a great off-season rate so, of course, the value for price was outstanding.
The reception desk kindly organised our trip by taxi to Alappuzha with its resident "5 stars driver" Anthony, at a reasonable cost. We enjoyed his safe driving, good company and his shiny 1954 british car!
This hotel is the best hotel we have been to in India, and we do hope to return next time we visit Kerala.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I had a lovely weekend stay here with my partner. This was during the monsoon season so we got a great deal. The room was lovely and spacious with private terrace overlooking the garden and pool area. The bathroom had open top design and nicely done shower area with mini garden. The hotel itself is well restored beautiful old building with nice thick white walls and wooden beams in keeping with the colonial feel of the place. The service was friendly and the food was good however they do not have full alcohol license so only beer and wine is available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#4 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
316 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
336 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#9 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
773 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#24 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
695 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#5 of 229 in Kochi (Cochin)
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 12,661 - ₹ 32,134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra, Expedia, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing