We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
1,272
223
25
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,272
223
25
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprincess suitethe chinese fishing netsoutdoor showerfort cochingarden cottagetower roomjasmine flowersswimming poolindian musicwonderful hotelloved this hotellovely poolcolonial styleold world charmboutique hotelsmall hoteljew town
Filter
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We stayed at the Old Harbour in mid August and this was our first experience of India. The hotel was lovely; full of character with a peaceful atmosphere, a lovely courtyard and gardens with a good sized swimming pool. It was clean and well run. The rooms were large with huge bathrooms. Both of ours opened onto the courtyard. We did ask for a twin and a double room, but were given two doubles. When we pointed this out, the staff were helpful and put in an extra single bed. The food was very good; expensive by Indian standards (main courses around 500 rupees). Breakfast was excellent. There are several good restaurants just outside the hotel also at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2plus2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have travelled A LOT, and I am at a loss to find another hotel as charming, tasteful, and as well appointed as this one. Being a fan of old architecture, this exceeded all my expectations. The renovations and decorating has been done with the utmost care, quality and style. The garden area and landscaping is gorgeous, restaurant one of the best anywhere, and the staff top notch. Our every need was anticipated and met before we even knew we needed it. Extremely comfortable and with a touch of old-world extravagance, this was a difficult place to leave. We can't wait to return. Do yourself a favor and give this gem a try. You'll thank me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatKarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We found this jewel walking around Fort Kochi the day after our landing and we felt in love with the place. A beautiful 300 years old portuguese mansion finely restored.
A great swimming pool. Large & comfortable bedrooms. We loved the turn-down service (each night we had jasmine flowers beautifuly displayed on the bed cover). The staff is very attentive and professional. A nice selection of reasonable ayurvedic massages is available at the spa (on the rooftop). We enjoyed a romantic dinner in the gardens at night with fine local cuisine (excellent fish kebabs!). Breakfast was nice despite it was not buffet-style.
We were offered a great off-season rate so, of course, the value for price was outstanding.
The reception desk kindly organised our trip by taxi to Alappuzha with its resident "5 stars driver" Anthony, at a reasonable cost. We enjoyed his safe driving, good company and his shiny 1954 british car!
This hotel is the best hotel we have been to in India, and we do hope to return next time we visit Kerala.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I had a lovely weekend stay here with my partner. This was during the monsoon season so we got a great deal. The room was lovely and spacious with private terrace overlooking the garden and pool area. The bathroom had open top design and nicely done shower area with mini garden. The hotel itself is well restored beautiful old building with nice thick white walls and wooden beams in keeping with the colonial feel of the place. The service was friendly and the food was good however they do not have full alcohol license so only beer and wine is available.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

when we travelled through India, we saw many places – from Chennai to Tekkady, through the Backwaters to Goa. But when we would have to pick one single place to recommend, it would be the Old Harbour Hotel. The hospitality, the rooms, the food – everything was just awesome. Thank you so much for an overwhelming stay in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katja-and-guenther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews