We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning charming place”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 222 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One word, wow!

Stunning, charming, tranquil boutique hotel with wonderful grounds, charming gardens (with pool) in historical building at walking distance of main Cochin attractions.

Room (tower) spacious, light, quiet, nicely decorated in colonial style with balcony overlooking garden. All modern comfort available including airco and minibar (no television)

Breakfast, excellent both Indian and continental, all freshly cooked to order
Staff, friendly and attentive

WiFi, Internet include, yet somewhat poor coverage/slow

Location/Grounds +++++
Rooms +++++
Staff +++++
Food ++++(+)
Price/quality +++++


Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pieter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,428 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the moment you step into the hotel you are transported 300 years back in time. the large rooms with old fashioned light switches and even the old fashioned telephones are a real delight. the gorgeous smell of sandlewood and jasmine envelopes you. sitting in the garden with an inviting swimming pool you forget the hotel is in the town. it's so serene. the hospitality was top rate. the staff were always smiling and so pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalpanashah240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a jewel in the crown!! Travelling with 3 friends we stayed at this hotel and found it to be exceptional! The food was fresh and beautifully presented. The flavours were tastefully combined and inspirational. Heartily recommend the beetroot and shrimp curry and the basil panne cotta. And what a bonus to meet the chef and take away the recipes. Jeril was particularly attentive and smiley!!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Karen130460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great hotel at a great location. Big rooms, outside showers, incredible swimming pool, fantastic food and last but certainly not least: great staff! Everyone was very nice, helpful and the service felt really genuine and personal.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was fortunate to stay at the Old Harbour Hotel during the Kochi Muziris Biennale in December 2016. Where to begin? The hotel itself is sophisticated, mesmerizing, the selection of food exquisite, and the rooms enchanting. But, most importantly, the staff at the hotel went completely beyond what was necessary to accommodate me. When I made my reservation, there were not enough rooms for my entire stay. And, somehow, they figured it out. I felt like a guest in their home. They helped me with everything, and the morning I left in the wee hours of the morning, they saw me off with a little bag of food for my voyage. This was such a kind gesture as they knew I had a long couple of days ahead of me and I was alone.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is a privilege.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,095 reviews
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#3 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
277 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
660 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.7 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 222 in Kochi (Cochin)
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 15,235 - ₹ 29,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing