We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with great ambience”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The Old Harbor is located in the old town of Kochi very close to the fort. Beach and the famous Chinese fishing nets are also within a few minutes walk. We had a garden room with an outside shower. The room was very spacious and very nicely decorated.
Although the hotel is surrounded by markets and streets the noise level inside is remarkable low. The staff showed a heartfelt friendliness and a defect bulb was also immediately replaced.
A dinner in the beautiful garden with live music should not be missed, especially since the dishes were very delicious.
But also the breakfast left nothing to be desired.
This the Old Harbor left a very good and harmonious overall impression.
It is perhaps the best place to stay in Kochi.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuK78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017

We absolutely LOVED our stay at the Old Harbour Hotel! The service and kindness of the staff goes above and beyond what you usually might find at a hotel - everyone is so kind and attentive and thoughtful. We were fortunate as well to be able to stay in our room through 4 pm (we had an evening flight out) so that allowed us to relax by the pool and enjoy the lovely garden setting before showering up and heading off to catch our flight.
The restaurant is fantastic - delicious lobster and prawn and everyone is just so lovely. I will absolutely return!

Room Tip: We loved our garden room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our first night on a trip to India in late March.
The hotel is right by the harbour, a stones throw from the Chinese Fishing Nets.
The grounds a beautiful with a leafy garden and shady swimming pool where you can easily slip into relaxation mode. Our room was really nicely decorated and beautifully clean with the option of air con, fan or both. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and at an amazing price - if you like fresh food, Old Harbour is a must. There is also a great selection of fresh juice, particularly the pineapple and cardamom. We strongly recommend a stay here and our only regret is that we only had one night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I stayed for 3 nights and needed to be on the Internet for some of the time. The hotel wnet through greatbtrouble to give me a separate router which meant I could write and upload photos. My room did not have a view, sadly, but it was amde uyp by being extremely comfortable. The touches fo flower petals on surfaces were endearing which I had never experienced before. Breakfasts were great as was one lunch which I enjoyed enormously. I would go back like a shot as the staff were super helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. It is a nice tranquil setting amongst the busy Fort Kochi just outside.

The room on the ground floor was large and clean. We weren't disturbed by any noise upstairs (apart from a coconut tree that fell down during the night!)

The food was a highlight - in particular the jumbo prawn coconut curry. I wish I could make it!
We wanted lunch one day and were given the dinner/main menu and asked if there were sandwiches etc and were told no however saw wraps being brought out to a diner later on. Think this was due to language barrier /mis communication perhaps though.

Pool was lovely in the heat but as others have said the crows were quick a big nuisance!

We took our own wine as it was quite expensive here- about from 1500 rupees.
Overall a lovely stay, a friendly manager and hats off to the chef!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelbuddies100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,066 reviews
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
253 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
638 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
297 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#6 of 211 in Kochi (Cochin)
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 15,350 - ₹ 26,862 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing