We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful retreat in the heart of Fort Kochi”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 214 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2017

My husband and I stayed here for our first night on a trip to India in late March.
The hotel is right by the harbour, a stones throw from the Chinese Fishing Nets.
The grounds a beautiful with a leafy garden and shady swimming pool where you can easily slip into relaxation mode. Our room was really nicely decorated and beautifully clean with the option of air con, fan or both. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and at an amazing price - if you like fresh food, Old Harbour is a must. There is also a great selection of fresh juice, particularly the pineapple and cardamom. We strongly recommend a stay here and our only regret is that we only had one night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2017

I stayed for 3 nights and needed to be on the Internet for some of the time. The hotel wnet through greatbtrouble to give me a separate router which meant I could write and upload photos. My room did not have a view, sadly, but it was amde uyp by being extremely comfortable. The touches fo flower petals on surfaces were endearing which I had never experienced before. Breakfasts were great as was one lunch which I enjoyed enormously. I would go back like a shot as the staff were super helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. It is a nice tranquil setting amongst the busy Fort Kochi just outside.

The room on the ground floor was large and clean. We weren't disturbed by any noise upstairs (apart from a coconut tree that fell down during the night!)

The food was a highlight - in particular the jumbo prawn coconut curry. I wish I could make it!
We wanted lunch one day and were given the dinner/main menu and asked if there were sandwiches etc and were told no however saw wraps being brought out to a diner later on. Think this was due to language barrier /mis communication perhaps though.

Pool was lovely in the heat but as others have said the crows were quick a big nuisance!

We took our own wine as it was quite expensive here- about from 1500 rupees.
Overall a lovely stay, a friendly manager and hats off to the chef!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelbuddies100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We spent two idyllic nights at the Old Harbour Hotel at the end of March. It is a 350-year-old heritage hotel that has been tastefully renovated, providing all the luxury we needed while retaining the feeling of old Cochin.

We are a family of three (with a teenage boy) and we booked a suite overlooking the main courtyard. There was plenty of space for all three of us in the graciously appointed room. The bathroom was large and modern with a great shower. Although there is a restaurant in the courtyard that serves dinner, any noise there might have been did not reach our room. Breakfast every morning in the restaurant was delicious; the doors were open to the courtyard where we could hear birdsong and see the huge trees within and beyond the walls. It was a choice of European style, with eggs and toast, or South Indian. Since I'm of the opinion that South Indian breakfast is one of the best in the world, I had that both days and enjoyed it. (I would have liked to South Indian filter coffee but we got regular coffee that wasn't as great as it should have been.) The pool is clean and perfect for taking a dip; some guests spent a lot of time there though we were busy exploring the town. I loved taking my journal to one of the tables in the courtyard, ordering a drink, and writing. It was a haven away from the hustle and bustle.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff at Old Harbour. They were all friendly and helpful, so gracious and kind. Just one example: When we mentioned to them that we wanted to celebrate my dad's 81 birthday at the hotel (he and my brother—and his family—were staying at another hotel), they arranged for us a lovely table for dinner. At the end of our delicious meal, the staff appeared with a chocolate cake (with a trick candle!) and a bouquet of red roses for my dad—as the musicians in the courtyard struck up "Happy Birthday." They didn't have to do this, but they did.

Old Harbour is an enchanting place—if I could have stayed a week, a month, I would have. I cannot recommend it enough. We were all sad to leave and hope one day to return.

A huge thank you to everyone at The Old Harbour for creating such a beautiful experience!

Room Tip: We liked our room overlooking the courtyard. All the rooms are unique. You may contact the hotel to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank worldstrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Just visited hotel for two nights and loved the stay. The staff were super friendly and efficient nothing too much trouble. Great locaton on town square every thing on doorstep.
Would definitely stay again

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ianmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,079 reviews
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
267 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#29 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
649 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
307 reviews
0.7 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 214 in Kochi (Cochin)
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 15,392 - ₹ 29,419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing