We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

What a delightful find. In the heart of Fort Cochin. Lovely room with outdoor tropical rain shower. Sublime food - book a table in the restaurant early under in the courtyard under the biggest mango tree I have ever seen. Tuna tikka and fish and mango curry were both to die for. Wonderful massage. Staff could be have been more friendly. Very reasonable prices. We will be back!

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    201
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
238
797
63
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The property is a handsome, historic home with a lovely swimming pool and garden. When we arrived it happened to be Valentine's Day. The swimming pool was covered in fragrant red rose petals, there were candles hanging from trees and an live musicians were playing and signing Indian love songs. It was stunning and in such fine taste. Edward, the owner was a fantastic host and sent us to many fantastic spots. THANK YOU

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This is probably my fourth stay at Old Harbour hotel. This time I took my sister there as I knew she would love it. Of course she did. We stayed in the Tower Room and loved it. the garden, the pool, the breakfast, the ambience - everything is just so tasteful and beautiful. The wonderful chef, Rahim, speaks a variety of languages, including a bit of Swedish. He gave me the recipe for his muesli which was yum. Sukeesh, the night manager is always smiling and nothing is too much trouble for him. Both the lovely Vineeth and Jude always give a high standard of service and they made us feel like valued guests. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates special, beautiful places to stay.

Room Tip: I love the tower room. It has a beautiful view and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This is a great hotel, priced really reasonably, in a really perfect location, just outside of the main hubbub but easy walking, or tuk tuk distance to the main town. Within 5 minutes of checking in we saw dolphins swimming in the sea directly out from where the restaurant is and we continued to see them each day we were there. Food was very good and the restaurant has such a cool breeze flowing through with the views of the sea it is idyllic. Beds were very comfortable. We booked late so they only had a garden view room available on the first floor but directly outside the room there were seats with a table and large windows you could open to get a breeze while watching the dolphins...again! This was also the best place to get wifi. I really liked Fort Cochin, it is forward thinking, is the only place we visited where we saw waste paper bins in the streets and we also noticed a huge sculpture being made out of recycled plastics. Well done Fort Cochin for setting such a great example.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almshousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2017

This beautiful water front property has a historical past

Distinguished Grey haired retainers talk of a time when it was the stately home of tea plantation bosses;
Some regale you with stories of how the plotting of the retaking of Goa was actually done from this very 'War Room' in the Old Harbour Inn - so called in an earlier avatar.

SO walk down Tower Road at Dusk and over a chilled beer, soak in the tales of long gone days. The territory of Goa, taken over by the Portuguese in 1510, was held under their suzerainty for 451 years.

In 1961 Dec this illegal occupation came to an end with Operation Vijay. Over two days Maj. Gen Candeth and AVM Elric Pinto led the Indian forces that effectively liberated the occupied territory

Look around you and imagine the events that preceded the conquest, and all the planning involved. Maybe you will decide to stay and enjoy a sumptuous evening repast as we did

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,003 reviews
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
212 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#30 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
622 reviews
0.6 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
9.9 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,922 - ₹ 26,535
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelGuru, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing