We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, beautiful and welcoming hotel”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We have travelled in Kerala many times, and always the Old Harbour Hotel is a treat, usually at the end of our journeys. It is a beautiful, calm oasis after long travels and we feel very at home there; a wonderful place to relax. In particular the staff are welcoming, kind, helpful, and courteous, and we are grateful for the way they respond to our needs. We love the pool, the imaginative planting of flowers and plants in the grounds, and the variety of birds who also live here (except for the crows!) We saw quite a few species just in the grounds. It is not cheap to stay here, but we value the whole experience!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annabel2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 113 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2017

What is most impressive in this hotel is the customer service. The team do all they can to give their clients an enjoyable stay, and sort out any problems straight away.
The rooms were delightful, light and spacious. They were almost reminiscent of Hemingway's house in Key West. The food was delicious, the laundry service speedy and efficient. The very experienced night manager was a joy.

It is very close to the harbour, and the town but is quiet. The gardens are tranquil, and a lovely place to eat breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We've just spent 3 nights at the Old Harbour Hotel. The staff, no matter how picky you're feeling couldn't be faulted. Courteous, helpful and always smiling, they can't do enough for you.
Outside shower is fine - we're told that in the rainy season you may share it with tiny frogs, but apart from the occasional fly it was devoid of wildlife. Everywhere is very clean, food is yummy, and the spice content will be adjusted on request if you want flavour without too much heat.
There is a busy road nearby, it didn't intrude into our garden room so no disturbances to disrupt sleep.
Downside - minimal, no patio furniture so we took out a room chair, and a small table was brought to us when we wanted drinks on the patio - it stayed there (without us needing to ask) for the rest of our stay. I'd happily recommend staying here, unless you want late night partying. The average age of guests is not young, so evenings are quiet, if you're a party animal, this may not be for you. If you want quality, care, and a restful break, then it definitely will be.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jo50t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This was the start of our epic holiday through Kerala. An absolute gem of a hotel - cannot fault it. The whole experience, food , staff were amazing.
Will always stay here whenever we travel back to Cochin again.

Room Tip: around the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank angelx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We only spent one night here but would happily have stayed longer. Staff were exceptionally helpful and responsive - in arranging a very late checkout when our flight was delayed, some ultra-express laundry and giving us a free meal when the pool had some clarity problems after some rain. Dinner in the garden with traditional live music was very good and simple lunches in the restaurant were also good. Room was attractive, overlooking the garden. Wifi a little chancy within thick walls but better than they warned us of.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#12 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
749 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
675 reviews
9.9 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 15,444 - ₹ 31,844 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Yatra, Booking.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing