We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A really lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 199 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A really lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What is most impressive in this hotel is the customer service. The team do all they can to give their clients an enjoyable stay, and sort out any problems straight away.
The rooms were delightful, light and spacious. They were almost reminiscent of Hemingway's house in Key West. The food was delicious, the laundry service speedy and efficient. The very experienced night manager was a joy.

It is very close to the harbour, and the town but is quiet. The gardens are tranquil, and a lovely place to eat breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JK5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,111
    190
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
227
765
61
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We've just spent 3 nights at the Old Harbour Hotel. The staff, no matter how picky you're feeling couldn't be faulted. Courteous, helpful and always smiling, they can't do enough for you.
Outside shower is fine - we're told that in the rainy season you may share it with tiny frogs, but apart from the occasional fly it was devoid of wildlife. Everywhere is very clean, food is yummy, and the spice content will be adjusted on request if you want flavour without too much heat.
There is a busy road nearby, it didn't intrude into our garden room so no disturbances to disrupt sleep.
Downside - minimal, no patio furniture so we took out a room chair, and a small table was brought to us when we wanted drinks on the patio - it stayed there (without us needing to ask) for the rest of our stay. I'd happily recommend staying here, unless you want late night partying. The average age of guests is not young, so evenings are quiet, if you're a party animal, this may not be for you. If you want quality, care, and a restful break, then it definitely will be.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jo50t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the start of our epic holiday through Kerala. An absolute gem of a hotel - cannot fault it. The whole experience, food , staff were amazing.
Will always stay here whenever we travel back to Cochin again.

Room Tip: around the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only spent one night here but would happily have stayed longer. Staff were exceptionally helpful and responsive - in arranging a very late checkout when our flight was delayed, some ultra-express laundry and giving us a free meal when the pool had some clarity problems after some rain. Dinner in the garden with traditional live music was very good and simple lunches in the restaurant were also good. Room was attractive, overlooking the garden. Wifi a little chancy within thick walls but better than they warned us of.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sukesh Stephenson looked after us really well on our 3 night stay. Well located busy hotel with lovely big rooms and suites. Yoga classes and massages were good and Rakim's cooking the best in Kerala! Only pain was the pool was green and being dosed with chemicals so we couldn't swim!
I'd recommend they put up some nets to deter the crows who are invasive.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#5 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.6 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#4 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,630 - ₹ 21,728
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing