We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed in the Old Harbour Hotel for a couple of nights in September 2012, having come to Kochi on business and decided to stay for the weekend to unwind a bit. I couldn't have made a better choice.

The atmosphere is completely tranquil, with a feeling of understated luxury and comfort that bigger hotels simply can't match. The service is first rate, the rooms are spacious and beautifully designed, and the location is unbeatable. The hotel is beautifully restored with gorgeous wooden floors and sparkling white walls, clustered around a beautiful green courtyard and fountain. Best of all is the lush garden that adjoins the restaurant and which provides the perfect backdrop to a relaxed breakfast to start your day. The hotel also has a spa providing ayurvedic massage which I recommend.

It's not cheap, but I think it is exceptional value for money given the overall experience, the high standards and the friendly and personal welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    199
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
235
785
62
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is one of the best hotels if not the best hotel that I have ever had the privilege of staying in. The hotel is just spectacular in every way and the attention to detail is impressive.

The Old Harbour only has 13 rooms, and therefore it feels very personal. The staff are so helpful and professional and polite. You are asked not to tip the staff directly and leave money in a tip box at the end if you would like. Therefore, it's really nice as you don't feel pressurized by the staff to give them tips all the time.

My room was beautiful, it was so stylish and comfortable. It had a huge room with a huge balcony and a lovely bathroom. The pool area was a lovely place to hang out and relax. The food at the hotel was delicious, especially the breakfast - try the masala dosa here, one of the best!

I had such a wonderful stay, I am going to head back to Cochin at some point to return to this hotel.

Thank you all for such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I spent two nights with my family at the Old Harbour Hotel in August. Because we were a large group, we were given the hotel's suite, garden view and standard rooms. The rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The bathrooms were of a very high quality. From the get-go the service was impeccable; everyone working at reception, the waiters, housekeepers and the restaurant's chef were all extremely kind and considerate. The chef even prepared a special dinner for us on the night of our arrival, with special selections from the menu. They were accommodating in every sense of the word, from sending someone to help my daughter put on her sari after work hours to sending us items we had forgotten in the mail. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ra7alaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Staff is excellent. good food in very cosy surroundings, we enjoy mostly the very nice breakfast with different fresh juices, fruits and also tipical Indian choices! And top of the top a swimnig pool to enjoy even better this great Hotel. The room was very big with a great tiny terrace with view for the garden. You can also enjoy daily Yoga class. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_Moledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We didn't stay here( although we tried, it was fully booked) but ate breakfast, lunch and dinner as the food was delicious and good value( not cheap by Indian standards but by uk prices its a bargain!) we ate steak with bernaise twice ( at r495 ) and it was the best we've ever had, it was huge and cooked to perfection. The service is excellent and sitting in the beautiful walled garden is a lovely experience. Overall we cannot recommend the restaurant enough and would love to have stayed here.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#33 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,614 - ₹ 18,011
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Yatra so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing