We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
1,272
223
25
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,272
223
25
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprincess suitethe chinese fishing netsoutdoor showerfort cochingarden cottagetower roomjasmine flowersswimming poolindian musicwonderful hotelloved this hotellovely poolcolonial styleold world charmboutique hotelsmall hoteljew town
Filter
Updating list...
913 - 918 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great place to unwind in India - the staff were pleasant and helpful Thank you for making it enjoyable.Love the cats Felix etc The staff made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamarosaCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Myself and 5 friends stayed for 4 nights in two heritage suites. From the moment we arrived, we were treated with the utmost care and warmth. The accommodation showed an unsurpassable attention to detail. Even the residents felines made us feel welcome! The scent of lemon grass in the air provided a welcome return from all our excursions. One of a kind....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicko55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I completed the long awaited trip to Kerala last week with my wife. Our journey started from Kochi and covered areas like Munnar, Thekkady etc. We booked our entire trip through the online portal Antilog Vacations and the guys there ensured a smooth booking and a smooth travel thereafter.

They gave us a host of choices and we finally narrowed our stay to the famous Old Harbour Hotel in Fort Cochin. The resort is a heritage property made many years back; but it still maintained superbly and is probably the best resort in Fort Cochin.

The first thing which touched us about the hotel was that the hotel was small and intimate and it gave the staff the opportunity to understand their guests and act according to their needs. This created an ambience of personalized attention which we liked greatly. We got a room close to the garden with an outside shower.

An excellently designed room of around 500 sqft, the space had a superb view from the windows. Despite the heritage qualities most modern amenities were present in the room. The only exception was the TV which was absent but I thought it kept up with the overall mood of the resort as the idiot box was best avoided in holidays such as these.

On the consequent days we happened to check out the suite which appeared quite special and luxurious. Though the rates were a bit exorbitant but if you happen to want a kingly retreat the suite might just be what you need.

The food at the restaurant was delicious accompanied with the live music including the flute and the tabla. This gave the entire dining area a special ambience and we would definitely like to return at the Old Harbour in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arjun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I decided to check out this hotel based on the reviews provided from some people. The entrance to the hotel is a 'quiet' doorway which leads onto the well lit, neat lobby.
The next thing one notices is the reception desk with a big ledger and phone, and if you are lucky enough you might see a cat lazing on the ledger or ambling about.
The manager of the hotel is an individual who is passionate about the hotel, and takes time to show one around the premises, explaining in detail about the history and providing factoids.
The garden is nice, well done with big trees, and bridges the way to the individual villas. There are 3 suites in the hotel, which are done up tastefully, and have nice bits of furniture, big beds and are nicely lit. The bathrooms are very nice too, and have good tubs.
The only dampener is the musty smell which swathes the rooms , especially during the rainy season, but then this is ubiquitous to all of kerala, but which- I am sure- disappears by the summer.
One can dine in the garden or in the small dining room adjacent to the lobby.
The dishes are on the expensive side- but then I guess thats the norm for being 'heritage'. The food tastes ok, I tried the calamari, but found it to be a bit rubbery and overcooked. A few items were not available, but I was informed that it was because of the 'off-season' condition, and that they usually were jam packed during the peak seasons.
It was a nice experience overall, and I would suggest one to take up the stay for the 'heritage' experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest opting for the rooms on the ground floor, as I found he mustiness considerably lesser there. Choose the garden facing rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indrajit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We spent two nights in the Old Harbour hotel, and we had a wonderful time. Room was large and clean, with an outdoor shower. Pool and garden are beautiful. Service was attentive and friendly. The restaurant was decent, although perhaps a bit expensive by Indian standards relative to the food being served, but having dinner by the pool in the garden is a delightful experience. The location was just perfect to visit Cochin. We favoured this hotel over Malabar House and after having a drink at (slightly less nice) Malabar House, we did not regret our decision.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OrangeBleue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews