We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply the best hotel in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #1 of 200 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best hotel in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I have been fortunate to stay in many hotels around the globe, especially the middle east. One marble palace starts to look much like another after a while. All too often, websites can claim this and that for their hotels, and the photos are carefully taken to miss out the bad bits, only for the guest to be disappointed on arrival. And then we discovered the Old Harbour in Cochin. I don't know where to start to sing the praises of this wonderful hotel. The whole building has been refurbished to a very high standard, but I don't mean the 5 star blah of the International chains. The single word that sums it all up is 'taste'. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with lots of nice touches. No TV. What a delightful change for an upmarket hotel to have the foresight to omit the installation of the one-eyed monster. There is, however, wifi in the public areas, so if you need to stay in touch with the modern world, it can be done discreetly. The food was excellent. That said, we didn't actually have any of the western food, we stuck with the Keralan dishes as that was core to our visit. We ate in most nights - when we tried other restaurants, we realised what we were missing. The head chef (Shafi the chef!) would often ask the diners if everything was to their liking; not some fawning maitre d', but the chap who directly takes pride in what he and his team are producing. Plus you have the bonus of the live music, as a local trio gently plays haunting flute and tabla in the lovely setting of the dining area opening out onto the pool.
And then there are the rest of the staff. All the positive adjectives one could think of belong to these folk, including helpful, friendly, professional, discreet and attentive. Our trip was about stress relief and we let the staff organise various excursions for us, from the knowledgeable Jude to the ever cheerful Sukesh, to name but two. This they did as competitively as outside, but with all the hassle taken out of it for you. I thought it might be fun to hire one of those old Royal Enfield motorcycles for a day. No sooner had I mentioned it, than one was delivered to the main entrance of the hotel. Charge? Rps 700 - the same as 4 litres of petrol back home!
It is worth noting that the owner (not simply the manager) of the hotel is often there keeping a personal check on standards and I think that could be the root to the success of this wonderful hotel.
If you are looking to spoil yourself in Fort Kochi, this has to be the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs room (Burgher Room) which was delightful, but decided after four nights to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vaughan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    179
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
220
734
60
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
rugby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This old hotel has been wonderfully and sensitively renovated. The suites in particular are extremely comfortable and the staff are all you could wish for . If your trip around Kerala starts in Cochin then this is a lovely place to stay to unwind and prepare.Only 100 yards from the nets and close to all other attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Old Harbour Hotel is just an excellent place to stay. It's decoration is a rest for the eye, unique and well thought of. Personal Service (note the capital S), pleasant dining with a menu that gives you a great fusion of Indian and Mediterranean food. A beautiful garden with a nice pool. Great (and big) rooms. Best spot of Fort Cochin!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Very happy we chose to stay our 2 nights in Cochin at this hotel.
Full of character colonial hotel set in Old Fort area which is prime for tourists, close to Chinese Fishing Nets and old town.
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was excellent, so good we decided against going out to the famous Brunton Boatyard seafood restaurant. Entertainment of Indian music during evening outside restaurant.
When we were there a lot of press people and paparazzi gathered outside because some Bollywood movie star was staying there.

Room Tip: Some balcony rooms if you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Unfortunately, we were unable to stay at the Old Harbour Hotel as it was fully booked for our travel date. We decided to do the next best thing and go to dinner there instead. So glad we did, it was just perfect: beautiful setting, lovely food (we ordered the crab and seafood), good service (meaning our meals all arrived hot and at the same time) without being pretentious. Highly recommended! We would happily go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgainhunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#8 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.6 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#2 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#5 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#3 of 200 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
10.0 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Property: Old Harbour Hotel
Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,967 - ₹ 22,140
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel'. A 300 year- old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing