We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #2 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our fourth stay at Old Harbour and I have had the most wonderful holiday. Many guests stay for one or two nights but we stay for two weeks at a time and cannot praise the hotel and its staff enough. The hotel is small and intimate giving staff the opportunity to know their guests and understand their needs. The rooms are beautifully furnished in traditional indian style and are extremely comfortable. The food is wonderful and chef regularly speaks with diners to see if they are happy. All the staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble, they wish only to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible. This was my grandughter's first trip to india and certainly won't be her last! Thank you Old Harbour for everything, you all feel like our extended family and we look foward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

838 - 842 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

We arrived at this wonderful hotel on our first day in Kerala and it made a truly brilliant start to a great holiday. The property is perfectly located right on the main drag of Chinese Fishing nets and a small walk takes you round the sights of Fort Kochi nearby. The hotel itself is perfectly equipped for most needs- the infinity pool is stunning - right in the heart of the gardens and is blissful for an afternoon of relaxing after a hectic morning sightseeing! The staff were always there but unobtrusive.. and the overall amtosphere is like staying in a warm and friendly home with lots of luxuries! The food is delicious from the restaurant so you don't need to stray far!
Not a bad word to be said about this place- it's just great!

Room Tip: The cottages in the gardens have outdoor showers and are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roverN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My stay at the Old Harbour was 1st class all the way. I stayed here for a fortnight and I came away wanting more. The staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. My room was superb with the bed being so comfortable and the shower 'sooooo' good. The garden and pool are very inviting. I felt so special here, I cannot sing enough praises.
The location is very central and only a short walk to the sea front. The market venders do try hard to sell you thier wares but at no time do you feel uncomfortable, after we had been here a couple of days they did remember us and there was lots of light hearted banter. Will definately be saving hard to go again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good, the ones facing the garden are more serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAISYDODOsheffieldUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Old Harbour Hotel has it all. Beautiful building with delightful rooms, excellent food and warm, efficient service. We are so glad to have found it. We liked it even more than Malabar House, which used to be our favourite hotel in India.

The pool and the garden are lovely and at night you can eat in the garden, with Classical Indian musicians sitting at the far side of the pool, playing right through dinner. What a treat! We have found that far fewer hotels have live Indian Classical music than in previous years.

We would thoroughly recommend Old Harbour Hotel and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had asked for one of their expensive rooms, but there were none available so we were down a level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynntrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I am so thrilled that I stayed here. It's in a great location and it's simply beautiful. I would return in an instant. In fact I would even stay here longer next time as it is just so relaxing, the rooms are unbelievably nice and the staff are so lovely and friendly. This was the first place we stayed on our trip and it really got our holiday off to a wonderful start. Can't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: We booked a garden room and it was huge! Had a lovely table and chairs outside the patio doors just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,080 reviews
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
268 reviews
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#27 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
649 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
307 reviews
0.7 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#180 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 15,437 - ₹ 29,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing