We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat in Fort Kochi”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #29 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat in Fort Kochi”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Hotel Arches was recommended by the airport travel desk at Kochi airport, the 40 min taxi ride to the hotel was exciting and on arrival at the hotel which is situated down a quiet back street , the manager met us with a garland for our necks and a smile.
The hotel is a lovely medium priced hotel with a roof terrace eating area overlooking st Francis church and a distant view of the big ships navigating their way into kochi harbour and docks.
Our room was clean and had plenty of space for our luggage, aircon worked fine and had a tv and tea and coffee facilities too.
It was only a short walk to the coastal strip that has the Chinese fishing nets and nic nac stalls selling locally made bangles and sun hats.
There are other hotels in the area but for the short time we stayed in kochi this hotel was fine.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated well and furnished to a good standard too so take what's offered .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffoclarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    193
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
301
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my family. Excellent hotel with attention to all details, clean, good beds, anything you might desire except a swimming pool - but that's why it is affordable, I guess! Service is impeccable, the managers are for once not trying to sell you anything, but just extremely helpful. Would definitely reccomend!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chiara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent a really great two nights here with our two kids. The rooms were nice and spacious, very clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had an early departure for the airport on our check out day, and the staff very kindly arranged a small "bag breakfast" as we would miss the restaurant opening. Thought that was a really nice touch!
Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was nice - great shower.
The location was great, right by the fishing nets, and some great shops close by.
The only down side was a very noisy factory outside our window, but that was minor compared to the up sides.
Would stay again no question.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

A very pleasant small simple hotel, just right and historic in itself for the historic area of Kochi. Room adequate, mattress firm. Staff pleasant. We could only wonder what history lay in the buildings beneath the sea of red Mangalore Tiles seen from the rooftop restaurant, St Francis church, reputed to be India's oldest, being just one of them. Just a short walk to the Chinese fishing nets, outdoor food stalls and the hall where an evening show of Kathikalli drama is performed. We enjoyed our stay, despite the lack of lift, and wished we could have stayed longer.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel was quite simply the best we stayed in during our stay in India. We didn't particularly enjoy our stay in Kochin but this hotel was a ray of sunshine.

We were greeted with a cold fruit juice, the room was spotless and the bed was amazing! At 2500Rs it was very reasonably priced!

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nakedukulaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 km away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
0.2 km away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#54 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
288 reviews
1.0 km away
Fort House
Fort House
#24 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
624 reviews
0.5 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,650 - ₹ 7,693
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing