We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves The accolades.”
Review of Hotel Arches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arches
Ranked #30 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Deserves The accolades.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A wonderful warm hotel feels like you work in to the Victorian past! For business not the best no reliable internet no proper TV –Channels, but for holiday or honeymoon a must visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    194
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
102
302
41
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at the start of a tour of Kerala. We were given a warm welcome when we arrived and given a small but adequate double room at the front of the hotel. Everything was extremely fresh and clean. Contrary to our expectations there was tea and coffee making equipment in the room, effective air con, free wifi and even an electric plug adapter. The rooftop restaurant had a lovely feel to it and the staff couldn't do enough. The fish we had was beautifully cooked, although the atmospheric lighting meant we could hardly see it! The hotel's position was perfect; two minutes walk from both the sea front and the town. Despite this it was very quiet at night. It deserves the Tripadvisor award that it proudly displays!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed her for one night due to one of those booking problems one has in India. I noticed it was awarded 'travellers choice 2011' by trip advisor and lives up to the expectations of that. There is a level of professionalism in the running of this place often lacking in Indian hotels. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable and quiet and the management are very attentive to detail and guest requirements.
If its full don't however let them fob you off to the Fort Muzuris B&B. This is a C grade guest house leased by the management. I'm not sure why they are threatening their reputation by doing this.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaronshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Greeted with coconut drink and floral necklaces. Very comfortable and great rooftop restaurant. Interesting historic property. Convenient location for sights and waterfront.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We really liked this hotel and the manager (TJ Godson) was very nice and accomodating. The rooms are huge, clean and cosy. It felt like a british colonial house but not sure if it was. The location is pretty central as well and there are lots of 400 year old temples/churches to see and housestays also.

I would recommend booking in advance though as it is a small town and very popular and gets very full quite quickly. However, turning up last minute does have it's advantages as any accomodation you find tends to be much cheaper.

Also be very careful about the tuk tuk drivers as they offer to take you around all the sites for 50 rupees, which is a scam as they get paid to take you into all the shops and the shops in turn add on the commisison they pay to the tuk tuk drivers to your purchase. I got a bit annoyed by the end of the trip as he demanded more money for his time and all he did was take us to a load of over priced shops we did not want to visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 km away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#37 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
314 reviews
0.5 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
779 reviews
1.0 km away
Fort House
Fort House
#26 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Koder House
Koder House
#69 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
172 reviews
0.5 km away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#19 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
136 reviews
0.5 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arches? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arches

Property: Hotel Arches
Address: Rose Street | next to St. Francis Church, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#7 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,697 - ₹ 8,284
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arches 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the heart of enchanting historic Fort Cochin across from the famous St.Francis Church, Arches distills and blends the essence of our European heritage and cosmopolitan temperament. The hotel’s beautifully detailed colonial architecture welcomes you into a cool respite of tile floors and wooden ceilings. Come enjoy the warmth of our traditional furnishings, handcrafted by local master cabinetmakers. Each room has a well-appointed modern bath and air conditioning for your comfort. Stay in touch at our modern business center with internet access. Open Room- our roof top restaurant has quite a panoramic view and serves a fine cuisine, a fusion of east and west. Take in the charming tree top vista of the settlement’s roofs and spires under traditional tiled entertainment space. Be assured that hotel staff and management will do their utmost to make your stay both pleasant and convenient during your visit in our community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Arches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Kochi
Hotel Arches Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing