We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hotel...”
Review of Mermaid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mermaid Hotel
Ranked #135 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bad hotel...”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My family and I stayed here for three days..don't be swayed by the name people..The building was looking so dilapidated from the interiors and our room(which we had booked a few weeks before) was smelly, the walls and floor tiles actually had cracks in them, there was no furniture except a table and a tv in the living room and the service provided by the staff was none too special either! Don't waste your money here,people.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    34
    22
    16
    39
See reviews for
58
18
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

stayed for 2 days outta compulsion as we already paid to the agent. rooms were very small. no proper ventilation. a/c not working at all. no hospitable service. the pool n river stinks. looks as if the hotel isnt maintained for years. girls with very uncultured clothes and make up are seen allover offen at nights and the hotel service boys are with them everywhere. food was ok, but not all that ok. this hotel is fit for night people who use the bar. not for anyone else.

Room Tip: better dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sushma1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed in Mermaid Hotel during our Kerala Trip. We booked all hotels through Club7 Holidays and this was our last stop in Kerala before heading back to our home city. Though the hotel gives the big look at the beginning, it does not do much justice once u check in and go to your room. Our room was in the back towers of the room and though room was spacious and all, the whole place seemed like quite old.

Most of the lights were not working and had to ask an for electrician who took his own sweet time to fix up the lights. Even the hot water was taking too long time to start flowing from the 'HOT' tap and finally they gave us hot water buckets when we asked. The room service was fine when we ordered some water and sandwiches.

The another good part was the hotel's bar which has some live entertainment with girls singing request songs etc. making the environment lively. Plus two large screen TV's on opposite walls and some good decor that suits a bar. Our driver told us after we checked out that these were likely some residential apartments, which got converted to a hotel. And its the bar which attracts locals here and supports the hotel!

The pool of the hotel is right behind all its towers and secluded. It is right beside a flowing river which gives good look to the place but not sure how many ppl. chose to use the pool. In our two day stay, we didn't see a single person using the pool. Lastly, I would say I also got an 'eerie', dark feel in the hotel and room etc. Maybe also it was too empty for such a large hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with more people in surrounding rooms. Our room felt like too distant, in a dark hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hardikmaharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Good budget hotel. The people make hotel experience a great one. The staffs at this hotel were amazing.The food in the restaurant was top class, anything ordered was 5 star.Very nice & clean swimming pool.Only hotel in Cochin having backwaters. Bit far away from city centre, but having world class amenities. Worth staying.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoneyBeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Start bad experience on my Kerala Tour. Tiney rooms, a/c is not working & giving comfort temp. On repetitive complint for 3 to 4 times no response. Menu list is bug but horrible food. Not recommend for stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpantvaidya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
3.3 km away
The Classik Fort Hotel
The Classik Fort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tripunithura
90 reviews
4.2 km away
Hotel Abad Metro
Hotel Abad Metro
#81 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
118 reviews
1.3 km away
Emarald Hotel Cochin
Emarald Hotel Cochin
#131 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hotel Hill View
Hotel Hill View
#189 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
40 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Excellency
Hotel Excellency
#90 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
252 reviews
5.2 km away
Riviera Suites
Riviera Suites
#54 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Property: Mermaid Hotel
Address: Kaniyampuzha Road | Mermaid Complex, Vyttila, Kochi (Cochin) 682 019, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 212 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,541 - ₹ 3,403
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing