We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
153
147
47
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
147
47
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wooden floors heritage hotel colonial style travel desk air conditioning a great place to stay floorboards meena fort furniture india nets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2020

For the second time, The Old Courtyard excelled!
Re-visited Cochin in January and was amazed that some of the staff and the owners remembered me.
The addition of a spa pool in the courtyard is fantastic to soak in the sun and relax after a day of touring and work.
Service is too attentive and to detail, offering a selection of herbal teas is most welcome and so is the lunch menu of the day. Had an excellent meal comprising of fresh vegetables in a home cooked style and the taste of the prawn curry still lingers! Thanks to all at the Old Courtyard for another great experience and shall re-visit in time.
Keep up what you are doing and good luck to Rose and Jacob for maintaining a property with such consistence !
5 *****

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020

The Old Courtyard Hotel is in an excellent location and is an older style Hotel with heaps of character, it is an old Indo-Portuguese architectural building, the floorboards are huge, and the furniture is so comfortable. We found the staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There are plenty of places to eat in the evening within walking distance, this hotel is in the centre of things in Fort Kochi, and an excellent place to stay. Not only are the hotel staff great but Meena at the Travel Desk is extremely helpful and knowledgeable, she made our stay all the more enjoyable. We can really recommend this hotel as a great place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2864Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear Ian,
Thank you for your great review! Our team is very happy to know that your stay with us was memorable.
Meena was happy to help .
We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

Fort Kochi was very busy. It did tax my driving in India a little. People, motorbikes, tuktuks, cars. Fortunately I did get to park right outside the hotel. The hotel was beautifully presented, with a lovely room, and the courtyard had a small pool. We ate elsewhere in the evening, but had breakfast, which was sufficient, though not the best. Very friendly staff (as throughout our stay in India).

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

Dear Jake,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not find your breakfast unsatisfactory. The breakfast for USD$ 3/- only, includes continental breakfast with choice of eggs, fruit, juice and Indian breakfast option, plus the option to eat inside or outside in the little garden, is a good deal. Perhaps if you tell us exactly what was wrong with it for that amount of money, we can improve breakfast.
Sincerely, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here, the best in Kochi after moving around between side trips. The staff were super friendly and cooked us our best meal in Fort Kochi.

The room - spacious, clean, brilliant hot shower and v powerful (same as a Western power shower... )!

The pool was also great, nice and cool and super clean. 10/10 would make sure to go to this hotel again if I came back.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank louis_hamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2020

Dear Louis,
Thank you for your great review! We, the team are very happy to have made your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We would love to be able to welcome you again in the future!
Best, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2020

The Old Court Card is an old heritage hotel in the colonial-style. It is located in the center of Fort Kochin and is a very nice hotel. You should be aware, however, that you can hear almost everything through the walls. But we had very quiet neighbors so this wasn't a problem for us. There is a little pool in the inner courtyard, but unfortunately, there is no longer a tree in the patio.

The most notable feature is the wonderful staff. Everybody is super friendly and always extremely helpful. Especially Thomas, the receptionist and night porter, was always ready with a smile, and his dedication to the customer was absolutely amazing. He was there around the clock for us, so much so that we really wondered when he ever had a chance to sleep. He helped us in so many ways both large and small that we want to send him our sincere thanks for his extraordinary and charming support. He is truly a gem.

We highly recommend this nice hotel and its fantastic staff.

Room tip: higher floor
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank karlheinzf2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donyarosa, Manager at The Old Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your very nice feedback. Yes, we lost the mango tree due to lightning. That is why we needed to change the ambiance in the courtyard.
Thomas will definitely be informed of your great feedback on his service. And his dedication will be acknowledged.
We hope to see you soon at the Old Courtyard Hotel.
Sincerely,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews