We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History”
Review of Fort Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fort Heritage
Ranked #167 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
North West
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed here for three nights at the start of a 16 night trip to Kerala. Good location and friendly staff. The hotel is full of history but lacked a few things. I asked about the kettle that was in the hotel information but it never appeared nor did the universal plug. A tired hotel but if you remember that a good stay

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEJ_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    33
    17
    15
    22
See reviews for
22
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel is ideally positioned within easy walking distance of the sea front of Fort Cochin and the chinese fishing nets. It has been thoughtfully turned into a hotel that retains many of the old features. The staff were most helpful, the food was good. The hotel was clean and our room well equiped.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brahimny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Superb location in the centre of Fort Cochin, but what a disappointing end to an amazing tour of Southern India at this hotel. The room that we were allocated was large, but so dull and drab with inadequate lighting. The room and bedding was clean.There was a trickle of water from a shower attachment that was luke warm. The so called 'safe' was just a drawer (in the wardrobe) with a key to lock it, not at all secure we felt. There was no remote for the air con in the room so it was impossible to regulate it.

The socket that we hoped we could charge our mobile from did not function. There was no additional tea/coffee making facility and when we requested it we were met with vacant stares and told there was nothing available. There was no bottled water provided in the fridge for guests. Alcohol could not be purchased anywhere locally so we could not even have a drink in our room. Service for our arrival and throughout our short stay was very poor or non existent.

The icing on the cake was the horrendous noise outside our room from a generator that clanged away until 3.00am thus resulting in little or no sleep. We would not recommend staying at this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtlebeach52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kochi (Cochin) hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
york uk
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2010

we found this an excellent hotel with very helpful staff and very comfortable hotel with air conditioned bedrooms, especially after a 10day dusty tour of kerala and tamil nadu. We didn't have our evening meals at the hotel because there is such a good choice of local restaurants close by. I would strongly recommend the hotel. (I hope the couple from London waiting to take our room at 6am found room no 7 comfortable).
j&t m, strensall, york, uk.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelleryorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Being in the travel industry and book ALOT of hotel rooms for paying passengers and having done a site visit without staying at the hotel, I was satisfied that the Hotel would be up to par.

Even despite protest by a frend joining us for the weekend and having read prior reviews, i talked her into still staying rather than elsewhere. BAD & COSTLY MISTAKE

However ....

Even before check in, i had learnt that 1 of the 2 rooms booked had been "bounced" to another client who had given the hotel direct payment, despite the booking being confirmed and credit cards details provided. When i called, they had said the agent did not respond to the call; being a blatant lie, as the booking was made by my own office/ company.

Rooms we only confirmed and rebooked as my office advised the nature of the booking and who their guests were. This does not guarantee any special treatment, as check in was rude and inefficient. Rooms requested not provided in terms of queen/ king bed but single beds for my wife and i. The toilets/ bathroom was old and musky and had obvious plumbing problems.

Included breakfasts were horrible and the service again shocking ... They just didn't get what good service/ ok service meant.

Upon check out - again confronted with bad servcie and the receptionist/ front office manager, overcharged me for services/ and added on additional amounts to the bill such as bottled water at breakfast.

When i complained verbally - the response was just blank and not a care in the world. Just gimme my money approach. A formal letter to management has remained unanswered.

from both a personal and professional perspective, a great weekend that was sullied by this horrid experience. Other great and more affordable hotels and homestays in the fort area, try them out instead.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rudeness untrust worthiness of staff
  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jh20Intrepidtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 km away
Kimansion Inn
Kimansion Inn
#119 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
49 reviews
0.5 km away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#36 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
308 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#29 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Victory Dawn
Hotel Victory Dawn
#96 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
85 reviews
1.3 km away
Fort House
Fort House
#24 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
624 reviews
0.6 km away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#54 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Heritage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Heritage

Property: Fort Heritage
Address: 1/283 Fort Heritage Fort Heritage Napier Street | Elphinstone Road, Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,263 - ₹ 5,301
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Heritage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Fort Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Heritage Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Fort Heritage Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing