We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

The delightful Brunton Boatyard was my absolute favourite of all the lovely places we stayed on our Kerala trip. Extremely comfortable but with great character and a visible commitment to sustainability.

A fabulous colonial-style (but actually newly built) hotel, airy lobby open to the grounds, old fashioned ceiling fans and high antique beds. A beautiful pool right on the sea front and, really special, evening cruises across Cochin Harbour (included in the price) in their own gentleman's launch.

Being right on the water you get a real sense of this fascinating bustling city on the sea and the from the ferry stop next door you can head off via Vypin for adventures in the modern city of Ernakulam - for just a few pence. I loved the sight and sound of the shipping (everything from tankers to warships to dugout canoes went past my window) but in case harbour life is a bit too noisy for you, they thoughtfully provide earplugs.

A lovely feature is the bathrooms - instead of the usual windowless boxes, they are spacious and light and face over the harbour.

Apart from the friendly, helpful service, things I particularly appreciated included the breakfast preserves and bath products in refillable ceramic pots (not the usual plastic ones adding to India's waste disposal crisis) and disposal bags made from old newspaper. They do communal tipping - much more convenient for guests and fairer to behind-the-scenes staff.

The only downsides were slightly erratic breakfast service (I think our waiter was a new trainee) and in the evening the restaurant was very very pricey - after the first night we headed instead for the Arca Nova restaurant at the nearby Fort House hotel. Views just as stunning, food pretty good and a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank the_lucy_show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for posting a review of your stay at Brunton Boatyard. Thanks for taking the time to comment on each one of your experiences at Brunton. We are glad we could provide you with a highpoint in your holiday.
We hold dear, non negotiable core values of respect for the environment and community, integration and benefittng the local community and adapting the local ethos. It is always gratifying to have our efforts being appreciated by guests like yourself.
We are also sorry that our breakfast service was less than satisfactory and also that you thought the dinner was priced high. We of course have a very select menu and use only the freshest of ingredients in our kitchen; however we value your feedback and will look at what can be done.
We hope we shall see you again at Brunton Boatyard or some of our other destinations in Kerala and else where.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    184
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
129
351
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

WOW! Stunning spacious colonial style hotel in prime setting with only a couple of rooms. A MUST-DO to start/end a trip to South India.

Service: Excellent, generous, very friendly and professional staff!

Price/Rates: Accommodation mid-high range -worth every cent. Restaurant/Bar/room service very reasonable and good quality.

Location: Best location in Fort Cochin – walking distance to all major attractions and historical sites. Stunning setting next to busy harbour and Chinese Fishing Nets. Beautiful views from all rooms.

Food/Restaurant: Excellent main restaurant with impeccable service. Fabulous breakfast including Eggs Benedict – Indian style! Prompt room service – complimentary tea/coffee room service.

Facilities/Activities: Plenty to do due to fabulous location. Hotel arranges cultural dancing shows, walking distance from hotel. Stunning complimentary sunset cruise – perfect to view the Chinese Fishing nets. Pool with great views over the water. Ayurveda Centre and Cooking demo’s available – but our time did not allow for this. Daily complimentary 1 hour yoga class in the mornings under huge tree in courtyard – very good Yoga Master.

Rooms: Spacious, charming, stylish with colonial feel. Great attention to detail. All rooms with charming verandas overlooking the pool and water. Stunning views from bathtub!

What I liked most: Historical atmosphere and very charming ambience. Attention to detail and quality throughout. Perfect base to explore Cochin. Very friendly and attentive hotel manager.

What I liked least: Nothing – the hotel, staff, service, food, location etc. was SUPERB!

Special Tip: Leave all your shopping for your stay at Brunton Boatyard – take a Tuk Tuk to the Synagogue and shop for antiques, jewellery, crafts – be prepared to bargain +- 50% off, unless prices are displayed.

Would I return to this hotel: Absolutely yes, no trip to South India completed without visiting this special property!

Room Tip: All rooms have great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WEALLLUVTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

On our recent holiday in India our first stop was in Cochin at this very good hotel. The room was big and interesting and we thought the bed unusually high off the ground, but very comfortable.
The staff were very helpful and looked after us. The restaurant upstairs is a must...we had a Lamb dish which the name escapes me but it was excellant....the chef was very obliging with our dietry needs...so no panics there. A lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed twice during a visit to the area. Found the rooms rather basic and not as clean as they could have been. We got stuck in the lift on second visit and the telephone in the lift was falling to pieces and almost unusable a very scary experience for us.

Food in the restaurant we were told was to include an extensive fish selection ( after all you can see the people catching the fish!). When we got there we were offered a choice of that one or that one and were very disappointed by the chefs attempt to cook it.

Breakfast was OK but rather a disappointment in comparison to the spread some of their competitors deem standard.

Maybe of the town this is as good as it gets but we certainly would not return to the area to stay in this Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
217 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We ate dinner here our last night in Cochin and were sorry that we did not have any additional nights to repeat the delightful experience. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. We enjoyed the ambiance and the live traditional music. If return again to Cochin, this will be the first place we dine.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyasalark15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
0.8 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.6 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
9.6 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,649 - ₹ 24,828
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing