We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect start to our Indian adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #7 of 196 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our Indian adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Apologies for not writing this review sooner, we stayed at this hotel in Feb 2012 - it was the first stop on a whistle stop week long tour of Kerala. I have just read the review before this and was very surprised to read someone complaining of the noise. I can honestly say it did not bother us at all, we did not even notice any noise? Perhaps something has changed in the few weeks since we stayed there but I cannot imagine it? The hotel is stylish, unique and a perfect location to explore Kochin. It was a wonderful surprise to learn that a sunset cruise, cooking demonstrations and yoga were included in the price of the room - many other hotels would charge extra for this sort of service. The food, quality of furnishings and location was all excellent. Yes it is odd that massive ships go past loaded up with containers but for us that just added to the interest of the whole adventure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review on your stay at Brunton Boatyard. We are glad we were able to provide a memorable start to your Kerala holiday and hope you come back to many more of such starts with us even in the future.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    170
    28
    7
    6
See reviews for
122
319
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We loved our stay here. It is absolutely the best choice in Cochin. I went and checked our Mandalay House and it wasn't nearly as nice with no view. We had two kids with us so stayed in the suite which was about $500- US a night but was truly lovely. I think all the rooms have balconies and views so its not essential but was very spacious and had the best balcony overlooking the pool (really lovely) to the sea. The Queen Mary sailed right past our room and it was magical. Loved the relaxed vibe of the hotel and I highly recommend the marsala dosa for breakfast. YUM! p.s. beware of the mosquitoes at dusk. pps we didn't have any trouble with noise at night but in the suite the bedroom is away from the windows to the harbour.

Room Tip: We loved the suite if you can splurge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olivepopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Imagine a beautiful colonial-style hotel. The decor is early elephant-bagger, right down to the magnificent snooker table in the huge high-celinged lobby and the punkawallah celing fans. The food is good, the bar and staff are exemplary.

Sound good? We thought so too. And then we discovered something by the side of the bed.

It was the first time I had ever been supplied with earplugs by a hotel. They are of the type used by people who enjoy a little shooting now and again. But they were useless against what was to follow.

If only they had put the hotel elsewhere. The foghorn of a supertanker can apparently be heard 25 miles distant across open water. When it is a short distance from your room window (it felt like 1.5cm away) the aural assault is indescribable. The captain unleashed the first salvo at 1.30am, and the chorus was taken up by lesser vessels in the vicinity.

Your chances of a good night's sleep are akin to those of winning the world Formula One Title in a tuk-tuk with a bald tyre.

To those who relish an insomnia-driven frame or two of snooker in the early hours, it's ideal.

For anyone else, be warned. It's noisy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marwoodSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your superbly articulated review on your stay with us at Brunton Boatyard.
The port by Brunton Boatyard can get a bit noisy owing to the traffic on the waterway but therein lies the charm of the location too. Brunton Boatyard has the unique distinction of being located in the historic corridor of the Spice Route which was opened up by the Portuguese and then taken up by the Dutch East India Company and the British after them. We have sound proofed the rooms, we provide our guests with good quality ear plugs and have worked with the local community to ensure the ferries have upgraded to better quality silencers which has significantly brought down the sound levels. There might still be cases like the one you have mentioned in your review but not to the extent that the review makes it seem. It's unfortunate that you had a disturbed night and I hope the positives you have started off with in your review did to some extent make up for it.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is another hotel belonging to the cgh group which claim to offer unique environments where less is more, and luxury lies in simplicity. Hmm! This sounds like a cheapskates charter but it isn't. The hotel sets very good standards for cleanliness, comfort and service. We stayed in 5 of their properties on this trip and found the amenities and service to be very good in them all.
The hotel was actually built in 1999 though it looks much older. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable and the service very good indeed. Breakfast was excellent for Indian food but the European option such as eggs benedict failed because the required ingredients are not available. Indian ham is not a gastronomic pleasure. We would definitely suggest the masala dosas which set us up for anything! The upper floor rooms are nicer than the lower floors and the view from the verandah was excellent even if it included the the largest container port in Asia! Strangely this didn't bother us and we spent much time watching the dolphins playing in the wake of the ships, and the little wooden dug out canoes paying out fishing nets as enormous container ships sailed smoothly past.
It is a lovely spot and a delightful start to a Keralan tour.

Room Tip: Upper floor away from the ferry terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for you lovely feedback on your stay with us at Brunton Boatyard. Thanks for appreciating hence supporting our cause of sustainability and respect for the environment.
We hope to see you more often at our destinations
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

After a longish drive from the airport through busy streets the car swings into a peaceful courtyard, The welcome is quiet and polite with an efficient check in.

Casino Group Hotels (CGH) have a policy which discourages individual tipping. A box is provided at reception where guests may leave a general tip at the end of their stay. This is shared between all staff, front and back of house. So on arrival there is no embarrassing moment with the porter where one searches hopelessly for some small change which one does not have. Anyway groggy from the flight and in a new country one has no idea whether what you gave would buy a car or a carrot.

Another advantage of the system is that if you are mean (cheap) you can get away without tipping at all - if that rings your bell.

All the rooms look out over the busy waterway separated by a small garden, swimming pool and jetty. Other reviewers have remarked that the noise of the marine traffic is troubling. If you are likely to find boat hooters and ferry engines annoying, stay somewhere else. The hotel provides earplugs. The local ferry stop is right next to the hotel and the boats do have very noisy engines. They run constantly from the early hours until ten o'clockish. We enjoyed watching them and tolerated the noise. Once, in the very early hours a cargo ship blasted its hooter so loudly that I had to be scraped from the back wall of the room (LOL).

The room was a good size. There was a safe,TV and a colonial style bed so tall that steps were provided to climb in. We slept well. The aircon was effective. This was the only room on our trip with a bath (double ended), from where you could lie alone or with a friend and gaze across the Arabian Sea towards Vypeen Island. A small balcony was a perfect place to enjoy a sundowner before dinner.

Eating
The Armoury bar serves breakfast and snacks throughout the day. Service is typically polite and almost very efficient. We notice some taking a 'sundowner' here at the water's edge, and one degenerate even enjoying a glass of wine during the day". We drank our duty free on the balcony.

The History restaurant serves a menu which mostly changes daily and reflects the local cuisine. The food is good and the service (mention Rohin here) is excellent. A glass of wine is affordable.

The Terrace restaurant is open air and overlooks the phrenetic ferry terminal. This provides endless entertainment whilst eating. However' it is a seafood restaurant with two fixed menu options and a little more pricey. We were not in the mood for fish but fancied eating outside from the History menu. We had to pursued them to allow us to do this which seems a little bizarre. Had they refused we would have eaten elsewhere. But in the end we ate a second excellent meal. Their chef is to be commended.

Checkout was efficient and painless. Especially as two full dinners with wine and beer, snacks from the minibar and a light lunch in the Armoury set us back only £84. Great value and almost worth the long flight and cold virus picked up on our Emirates flight.

A Grumble
There is wi-fi in the room. However, having waited twenty-four hours for a user name and password, it did not work. I would rather have no Internet than have 'almost' Internet.

Summary
Good place to stay. Female staff wear wonderful white saris.

Room Tip: Eastern end away from the ferry terminal will be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinTurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.4 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#6 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.6 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#4 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
0.6 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#3 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,253 - ₹ 29,807
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing