We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great location”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #10 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great location”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

After a very pleasant check-in we were shown to our room, #218 I think, which had a great view of the harbour. The room was pretty big, more like a suite. I agree with some reviewers that the beds were a bit hard, but that didn't bother us. Great bath room with shower and tub. We also had an evening swim in the pool, which was very pleasant. Restaurants were also pretty good, although we had better food other places in Kerala. The waiter didn't know how to open a wine bottle and had to ask his colleague to assist. At check-out they had big problems with my credit card, which eventually didn't go through. We had to use my wife's, although my card worked all other places in Kerala - even after this incident :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenNygard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    191
    38
    9
    6
See reviews for
141
366
34
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights from 7 March 2012 at the start of an individually arranged tour of South India. While we arrived at the hotel from the airport at 0830hrs we were given a great suite immediately rather than waiting for the usual check-in time of 1200hrs. The first thing that struck us was the friendly efficiency of the reception staff and easy manner in which we were 'signed in' followed by the seamless transfer of luggage to our top floor suite and the guided tour of the hotel facilities while sipping a welcome cold fruit juice. Our bedrooom was enormous with a good sized bathroom (shower only) and a veranda facing the sea. I had noted that on a previous entry a complaint had been made about the noise from the passing ships and the ferry service adjacent to the hotel. The waterway here is indeed very busy. However, this did not bother either of us and at night there seems to be a noise embargo. The hotel facilities are outstanding and include a beautiful pool with outdoor dining area and a motor launch on which guests are offered free sun-down cruises lasting about one hour. The food was excellent with a good choice but mostly South Indian (not as hot/spicy as in Rajasthan) but the outstanding features were really the quality of the service and the spotless cleanliness of the entire property. This hotel is part of the CGH Earth group (as we discovered later when we stayed in some of their other properties) and not only would my wife and I strongly recommend this hotel but every other one in the chain in which we stayed. We were not troubled by 'mossies' but we had taken the precaution of using a suitable spray before going out of the hotel. The hotel, although open plan on the ground floor ensures that the area is mosquito free by regular spraying. Situated on the Cochin Fort part of Cochin (Kochi) the hotel is well positioned for walks to all the local sites including the Chinese nets (still in use) and several old colonial buildings and churches. A terrific place as an introduction to South India.

Room Tip: I would recommend the top floor rooms that face the sea if you are not too troubled by a bit of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faughaballagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Festus, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The views of the harbor were great, the room was extremely comfortable and very clean, but the service was above reproach. Even though they lost my daughter and son-in-law's laundry when we checked out, they took all the information, and it arrived at our next hotel within two hours of our checkin. Can't beat that! We especially liked breakfast on the brick patio on the harbor side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the harbor, but the others are a bit cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remarkable1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your wonderful feedback on Brunton Boatyard. Look forward to seeing you back at Brunton Boatyard as well as some of CGH Earth's other destinations.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Old fashioned in the best sense-solid furniture and sensitive discreet service.Lovely pool in great location to watch activity in the port.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our last CGH Earth property in Kerala and lovely. Historical building tastefully restored. Huge reception area. Nice room on the second floor - rooms all overlook the water - ours the pool too. Small balcony to sit out and look at the sea. Nice size room huge lovely bathroom - all new fixtures - big shower with great water pressure. Lovely simple and tasteful furnishing and fabrics and lighting fixtures. A bit monastic but clean and simple. In keeping with the history of the town. We spent our first afternoon by the pool. Unfortunately they took all of the umbrellas for a garden party in the courtyard. Actually the courtyard had tree shading while there is no refuge by the pool. It is relentlessly hot and not a bit of shade to be had. They need to have heavy umbrellas for the pool and the lighter umbrellas for the garden party/lunches. It is not right to inconvenience hotel residents for group lunches that come in from outside. The pool itself is fine - not huge but refreshing. Sometimes the smell of fuel comes in from the ferry, tankers, ships going up and down the harbor. But that can't be helped. Ear plugs are complimentary in each room for the ferry horn that starts at 6AM every day. Lunch at the cafe by the pool was okay - though service was very slow. Breakfast was okay but don't get the Eggs Bendict. Keep it Indian or keep it simple. Very good pastries though and excellent coffee. Dinner in the historic room was delicious - excellent fish and superb desserts. Very high quality and good value too. Staff here are great - the Indian foods along the road finally got to me at this point and I had to call a doctor - the hotel was all over it and within 30 minutes a doctor was there - I was given an injection, some special antibiotics (all for $32) and was fine to travel the next day - the manager called to check on me and no request was too big - rice, yoghurt, soup broth, what ever I needed. Internet worked with no problems - again free with CGH Earth. I would definitely stay here again in Fort Cochi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbmaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the feedback on your experience at Brunton Boatyard. Let me first apologise to you for taking away the sun umbrellas while you were by the pool thereby depriving you of shade. I agree with you, we must have another set of umbrellas that are used for lunches in the courtyard rather than inconveniencing our guests at the pool. Glad to hear that the rest of your experiences made up for that inconvenience. Look forward to seeing you back at Brunton Boatyard.
Regards,
Anjali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,999 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,388 reviews
0.8 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
621 reviews
9.6 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
870 reviews
3.6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Property: Brunton Boatyard
Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,774 - ₹ 25,251
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is located in Fort Cochin, right in the middle of all the historic monuments, right in front of the mouth of the harbour, and with a magnificent view of all the grand ships coming into Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing