We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 81
US$ 76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 101
US$ 93
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 75
US$ 56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 53
US$ 42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 77
US$ 66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$ 84
US$ 68
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
US$ 18
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
US$ 85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
346
248
54
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
248
54
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront restaurantwatching the boatsno alcoholcall to prayerthe chinese fishing netsprawnscharming hotelstayed here for nightsseafoodjew townsmall hoteltravel deskfirst stopappamclean roomsjettyharbour
Filter
Updating list...
384 - 389 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a nice hotel and the room relatively spacious. The breakfast and dinners are good and generally you're are well looked after by courteous staff. I would strongly recommend the east wing because the rooms there are better than the others, which we had the opportunity to view while there. While the rooms are clean the interior is starting to look a bit tired, especially the bathrooms.
But I would stay here again for the price/value in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room in the east wing - the west wing's rooms are smaller and more tired looking.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We intially booked this hotel for the start and end of our holiday because (in honesty) we were a bit apprehensive about arriving in India for the first time and this hotel seemed like an easy place to start.

In fact, we needn't have worried - Fort Kochi (like the rest of Kerala) is an incredibly easy place to visit. So if you are not after the illusion of luxury (and having a big gate and wall around you), then there are plenty of other nice places to stay, for about a third of the cost.

The hotel itself is very pretty - a garden courtyard and a restaurant on a little pier overlooking the sea. Our room just above the courtyard was also lovely. Large, nicely designed and immaculately clean. The water in the shower was hot, although frankly had lousy water pressure, but not the end of the world.

The service on the other hand was pretty poor. We booked a table in the restaurant at the end of the pier for a romantic last night. We had watched them write it down, but when we arrived they had no record of it. So whilst the restaurant is meant to be nice, we never got to eat there.

They also have signs in the rooms saying that they can arrange an earlier breakfast if required before the normal restaturant opening hours. When we enquired they just said no outright. I mentioned the sign and asked if they could do anything, they said they would sort out a takeaway breakfast. A nice masala dosa or something you're thinking? No it was one piece of cold stale toast. Can you book us a cab to the airport? Yes, for twice the price we paid on the way here... I guess that's to be expected from a hotel, but still a bit annoying.

Anyway, overall we had an amazing two week holiday and completely fell in love with Kerala and would highly recommend it to almost anyone.

However, we generally paid about £15-20 a night for a double room and (maybe we were lucky), but everywhere we found clean rooms, great food and friendly helpful people.

At the Fort House Hotel, what we wanted was a decent shower, a good dinner and service. For our £70 a night unfortunately all we got was an (albeit spacious) hotel room (but who spends their holiday in their room) and a piece of soggy toast. Go, but save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We ate here on our 1st trip to Kochi and thought it looked a lovely place to stay, with it's waterfront jetty dining area and lush green courtyard. So at the end of our month when we returned to Kochi we booked 2 nights. Our first night was spent in a room in the original block (Rs3500 per night) and was pretty average and a little noisy (The coastguard's parade ground is next door!). So on the 2nd night we upgraded to a room accross the courtyard in the new block (Rs4300) and it was lovely. We also both had great massages at the in house spa. Good way to end our holiday. The food served in the restuarant in the evening is asbolutely delicious too, and the ambience of the candlelit pier is very romantic.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and stay in the new block
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

It was an amazing palce with great customer service and amenities. Beautiful views from the eating area and walking distance from the ferry and other transportation. Take advantage of the ayurdeic treatments they provide it is a rejuvenating experience.

Room Tip: Home like feel.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Fort House has a lovely setting right on the waterfront of Fort Cochin, with a calm green courtyard at its centre and a jetty running out into the harbour, where meals are served. True, the view has been marred by the international container port just opposite but the busy waterway provides constant interest. The ferry jetty for trips to Ernakulam and Willingdon Island is 100m away. However, there is little else of interest in the immediate vicinity, although it is only a short tuc-tuc ride to the more lively area around St Francis church on the northwest shores or the Dutch Palace and spice market on the eastern shores.
Rooms are a good size, with AC and attached bathroom, but very simply furnished (hard beds!). Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is excellent (reserve for dinner, the open air jetty tables are very popular). But note, no alcohol is served due to the proximity of the mosque (whose muezzin will provide you with a dawn wake-up call, whether or not you want one!). However, the popular (and noisy) bar at the Hotel Seagull directly next door can remedy the deficiency. There is an in-house travel agency which can provide reliable airport pickups and other services. Also an in-house ayurvedic massage and treatment centre.
Fort House has something of the air of an upmarket backpackers' hostel. If you found this for 25 pounds a night you'd be thrilled, but at 75 pounds it's by no means a budget option.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper storey of the 'new' block probably have marginally more privacy.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langtang50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews