We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

What can one say about this hotel...It was an out of the world experience...Right from reception to check-in to restaurant to swimming pool to cruise to sleep quality to check out...everything was fabulous...We felt like royalty...Experience Taj hospitality here if you are in Cochin.. Believe me your needs shall be taken care of before you realize...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dipankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

It is truly rewarding to note that your stay with us was comfortable and it is our constant endeavor to serve you better.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    473
    99
    21
    16
See reviews for
564
647
106
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed there in the month of May for a business trip.

1. Awesome food..( Breakfast you would love).
2. Location is good as hotel situated in the back water.
3. But around 15 KMs from the main city. so accessing main office was little difficult.
4. almost they had folk dance which was superb.
Its a leisure hotel

etc etc..

Room Tip: Try to book any room facing back water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We really loved our stay there. All the employees we encountered were very genuinely friendly and professional. From our arrival we were greatly welcomed by the staff and offered a welcome drink and cake.
The room was very pleasant with a great view on the bay. I guess the rooms in the tower have the best view.
The quality of the restaurants was very high with a good variety: we tried both the buffet and the rice boat. Each afternoon for tea time, the hotel was serving free drinks and cakes for the guests.
The infinity pool gives good view of the bay and is very pleasant.
The only thing that could be improved is the spa area. The employees were very nice but it is somewhat small, and the showers - hamam were not working properly.

Would definitely stay there again if visiting Kochi again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are older but have the best view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings form God's own country.

At the outset I wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for taking time out and writing an elaborate review. It's also great to know that you have enjoyed your stay and also loved the food served at our restaurants

We have noted your feedback about the SPA and would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to inform you that the problem has been rectified and is currently functioning very well.

We eagerly look forward to your return and assure you a great time one again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed here in Nov 2011 with the family.

We had a corner room on the top floor, as requested. The views over the harbour are great...one can see boats coming and going. The room is a little bit on the smaller side. Bathroom is a bit better...looks refurbished.

We ate at the Cafe and Rice about a few times...both are very very good. Service is unbelievable as usual for a Taj. they were also happy to make special meals for our 1.5 yrs old kiddie.

We also used the pool once and it's a good spot to check out the harbour from the infinity pool.

There are nightly cultural programs...we saw the Kathakali, which was very good...but beware the mosquitoes. We also went on the Harbour cruise on the complimentary boat...got some good photos of the Chinese fishing nets at the mouth of the harbour.

We took a trip of the Old Kochi one day (about 20 min drive)...which was arranged by the hotel...went very well and priced decently.

Overall, I would stay here again...although it would be nice to get larger rooms!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings form Vivanta by Taj Malabar.

At the outset I wish to thank you for staying with us and also for taking time out and writing an elaborate review. It's feels great to know that you and your family including our junior guest had a good time with us.

We have noted your preference for larger room. I would like to mention that we have large and spacious rooms in our heritage wing. Please do let us know about your next visit an we would be delighted to block the same for you.

We eagerly look forward to your return and assure you of a great experience one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is away from hustle & bustle of the mainland city Ernakulam. Located on Wellington Island. Surrounded by back waters on all sides, its a post card picture hotel. All rooms are sea facing. The hotel offers a complimentary boat ride that takes one to Fort Kochi, Vyppin island and the Dubai Container terminal. There are two wings in the hotel. One is the old heritage wing having two floors only. The new wing is the tower building having 7 floors. One can see the mainland Ernakulam, Vypin Island, Fort Kochi, Open sea et al from one's room itself. The food is excellent in taste in presentation as well taster. Breakfast spread is almost endless. Service is excellent as expected from any Taj property. Staying in a Taj property is an experience by itself.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Container Terminal side are marginally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from God's own country.

Thank you for sparing time and posting a great review of our hotel.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly strive for innovation and betterment.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
8.7 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.6 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.7 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.3 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
11.1 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,816 - ₹ 17,503
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, DerbySoftTaj, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing