We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the town and nearly out of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Out of the town and nearly out of the world”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

It's a bit of a hike to anywhere from the hotel but you can take a boat from the hotel (minutes to Fort Kochi) or walk 5 minutes and take a ferry. That's the only downside - apart from the Chinese restaurant. (Can't work out why there is a Chinese restaurant. This hotel is in India.)

Superb service, a good to very good restaurant and a bar with a distinctly colonial feel, an excellent swimming pool and all with interesting harbour views. The rooms are large and comfortable and many have striking views. (Don't open the window unless you want to have that "I have been on holiday and been bitten" look.)

It's truly a comfortable place to stay with pleasant old world, other world feel.

I have stayed several times and I hope to be back. Soon.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view. Suites have a balcony - enviable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OVichski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for a great review. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Apart from the Chinese/Oriental restaurant, we have Rice Boat, which I'm sure you would have visited, serving predominantly Indian seafood and a multi-cuisine All Day Dining restaurant "Pepper". Do let us know if you have any preference and our chefs will be glad to make the same for you.

Look forward to your visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,367
    490
    103
    23
    16
See reviews for
610
661
113
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this fabulous hotel. We had a great time where staff went out of their way to make guests feel special. The food was second to none in the world. The special efforts to give guests that feeling of something out of the ordinary - the sunset cruise, the high tea and cultural shows as well as the welcome we got at the point of entry - all leave visitors feeling as though nothing is too much trouble for the staff. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly to all those who wish to enjoya very special holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for a great review. It's feels good to know that you and your family had a wonderful time. We look forward to your next visit and will be ready to surprise you allover again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagpur
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

truly magical,what to say,excellent rooms great food and true customer care .
will be back soon.

Room Tip: new wing rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatlasker l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for such a great review. It's indeed our honour that we could "Wow" you. We look forward to your next visit and we will definitely make sure that your stay remain "wonderful".

Would love to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed last night for avery brief trip to Cochin. I last stayed her 17 years ago and my memory is that it was ok but basic. Well obviously it has improved or my standards have dropped - the former is the truth!
Very colonial and comfortable. Great vews of the docks and natural harbour. Food was excellent in the Thai restaurant and service was generally good. Fittings were average if I'm honest but the 'around sound' system in my room was superb ( not sure what next door thought of it!).
In summary, a very good old fashioned colonial setting for an old fashioned colonial hotel with good service and decent food.

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your encouraging feedback. I've conveyed your appreciation for Thai food to colleagues at the restaurant and they were thrilled. Please do try our sea food specialty restaurant "rice boat" during your next visit and if your have any special preferences do let us know and our chefs will make it exactly the way you want it to be made.

We eagerly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I have stayed at a lot of 5 star hotels in my time, but this was something else. It's all about service at this hotel. The staff went out of their way to make us feel like royalty and were extremely helpful and attentive, but not in that annoying way where you feel harassed. On arrival, we were greeted with welcome drinks and a welcome pack. My two year old niece received ice cream and toys! The hotel itself is beautifully furnished. We paid for breakfast, lunch and dinner but it was affordable and very tasty (Indian cuisine or Western). Whether you buy a drink at the bar, or order a meal, they give you little extras (such as bowls of snacks, bread baskets etc.). The rooms are very clean and are beautifully decorated. Lovely bathroom. The whole place oozes luxury and warmth. We used the free (same gender) jacuzzi, steam room and tropical shower - again, nothing but excellent service, clean and luxurious. The free boat ride and high tea are definite musts. There are also activities which we didn't use, such as yoga classes, cookie making workshops for kids etc. On our last day, we received complimentary breakfast (no idea why), and all the staff came outside to wave goodbye as we drove away. All the attention to detail pays off. The only potential criticism I can think of is that the photos of the infinity pool slightly overstates the reality. All I can do is applaud management for this fantastic hotel and recommend that anyone who stays in Kerala takes the time to stay at this hotel. The distance is totally worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade or a sea-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVerghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Mr. Verghese,

Thank you for a great review. It was really our privilege that we could have you and your family as our guests. The heart of every hotel is its service and our people are our biggest assets who always try to put in their best 24X4X365 for making a guest happy, and then when we receive superlative feedback like yours, we feel elated and experience a sense of accomplishment. I have shared your review with my colleagues and they have also expressed their gratitude.

We look forward to your next visit and assure you a great time - again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
8.7 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
870 reviews
0.6 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
210 reviews
2.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,388 reviews
1.3 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
704 reviews
11.1 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,646 - ₹ 26,150
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Yatra, TravelGuru, DerbySoftTaj, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing