We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful exoerience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Ranked #7 of 201 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful exoerience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Vivanta by Taj for in Cochin for 5 days in February of this year 2012. It was our first visit to Cochin and we were so glad to have chosen this highly recommended hotel. The welcome was extremely warm and friendly. Tha service was above expectation. The staff could not do enough to please us, even to the extent of sending flowers to one of the party who was unwell, and seeking out remedies to help. The decor is classy. The level of cleanliness superior, and the free treats (e.g . complimentary tea daily on a terrace overlooking the bay, cruise around the bay, chocolates and information leaflet placed on bed nightly,watermelon slices brought round to guests at poolside, and even a face spritzing service and cool herbal towels for guests sunbathing! ) Buffet food was excellent. The buffet breakfast and dishes to order had a great variety of choice and was very good value for money. We would not choose to stay anywhere else in Cochin.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room overlooking the herb garden at the front of the hotel and it proved to be very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sir,

I am very honoured that you chose Vivanta by Taj Malabar for your vacation at Kochi. And even more please that your family had a great holiday experience with us.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you.

Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    470
    98
    20
    16
See reviews for
557
636
105
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent a very enjoyable 1 week at the Vivanta in August 2011, and I must say we were blown away by all aspects of the hotel. From the very friendly and helpful staff to the beautiful old world charm of the building to the food, it made for an excellent holiday for us and something we will want to do again and again.

Staying at the older wing, with it's decor and atmosphere was excellent, as is walking up a floor on that old staircase. We had an excellent sea view room, which made mornings and sunsets just perfect.

The gardens are well landscaped and soothing, and nothing beats a cold beer outdoors on a sunny day.

We also spent a lot of time at the lounge bar, and the staff there are so friendly and seem to enjoy their work so much t was a pleasure to go back again and again.

Would be pertinent to note that both Sunita from the front desk and Ahilan behind the bar stood out for their chirpiness and friendly banter with the guests. You two rock !

The ferry terminal is close by, shuttle provided, for links to the other islands and Ernakulam.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh_Alphaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Its our pleasure to help you in creating memorable experiences, during your stay.

Team Malabar is ecstatic about your comments for Sunita & Ahilan. All of us are greatly enthused to deliver even more excellent service to our guests.

As a sunset aficionado, do also try the Sunset cruise in the evening, during your nest visit.

Wish you a great 2012!!

Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed in hotels around the world. Many were more fancy, certainly many were far more expensive. But I think this is the best hotel I have stayed in. We (wife and daughter) moved to this hotel after a conference at the Ramada, which was much further from Kochi. This hotel is on the central islands, between old Kochi and the new commercial center, and there is a public ferry service in both directions, though not terribly frequent. The hotel has a very nice ambiance, which you feel the moment you enter the resort. It is located on the tip of the island, with fabulous views. The pool is located on the water, and, in fact, when you swim in it, it looks like it is part of the bay. The landscape is beautiful, and every afternoon there is complimentary happy hour, with free drinks and food. later on there are free shows. In fact, we went to Kochi to watch a Kathakali show, while my wife stayed in the hotel, and it turned out that she watched the same show at the hotel, but for free, in addition to the martial art program we saw in Kumily. The service was impeccable, without being overbearing. We arranged all our trips from the hotel. Might have been cheaper elsewhere, but was very convenient, especially that we were a large group.

Room Tip: At least one of the rooms has a shower that overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YigalTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj Malabar Cochin!!

Thank you for the valuable comments. We consistently endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy liesure, even when on business.

Its great to know that you you have toured quite a lot of Kerala,.

I would be honoured to welcome you back to God's Own Country.

Regards
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashdod
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

liked this place alot. great hospitality, the crew always welcome to help and realy great room and facilities ( we almost fell sorry about going for the sight seen in Cuchin instead of staying in the hotel :-) ).
realy recommand it to you all .by
one problem, and it seems to be coommon to the Taj hotels (including the one i duppose to visit in Varcala) is the internrt issue. for some reason, some hotels didnt realize yet that internet accea is not a luxuary, its a basic need and its not suppose to be charged by such rates ... we live in a diferent period now and alot of the hotels i visit here in Kerala already understood it.
besides that bad experience, the rest ia amazing.
have a nice trip :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just returned from a very special 8 night stay at the Taj. Apart from the wonderful rooms, it was indeed the team of people that made our stay so memorable. All of the staff provided Customer Service levels that exceeded all our expectations. It was not only the Superb Service that they provided but the most sincere and kindest way of wanting to please their Customers in every way – a breath of fresh air, certainly in today’s world!

The Food and Service in the Restaurants was exceptional. The attention to detail was perfect. We were served some exceptional dishes created by Chefs who were very proud of their skills and ingredients and wanted to personally share these with us.

The Poolside was very tranquil again with excellent service and immaculately clean.

Whilst we have stayed in many five star Hotels in different countries, we must compliment the Taj by saying that our stay with them has definitely been our best experience yet.

Room Tip: Balconies only come with Suites, however these are good value for money with excellent facilities an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Malabar, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!

Thank you for enjoying our hospitality.

We are very happy that you experienced the flavour and passion recreated on your plate by our dedicated team of culinary enthusisats.

Let me join my team to invite you to savour the sights and sounds of Cochin, as the Queenof the Arabian Sea beckons.

Regards

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
8.7 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.7 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.6 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
11.1 km away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Malabar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Malabar

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Address: | Willingdon Island, Kochi (Cochin) 682009, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#2 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,235 - ₹ 21,046
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Malabar 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Willingdon Island with a magnificent view of Cochin harbour, Vivanta by Taj - Malabar is a fine balance between yesterday and tomorrow. Our lobby is a unique mix of chic and classic. The heritage wing, built in 1935, reflect the inherent beauty of Cochin. And the tower wing houses newly renovated guestroom suites, each a delicate mix of the classic with the contemporary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Malabar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Taj Malabar Cochin Kochi
Taj Malabar Cochin Hotel Kochi
Vivanta By Taj - Malabar Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing