We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$ 104
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 104
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Waters Cherai(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 71
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 41
US$ 33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherai Beach Resorts(Cherai Beach)
US$ 69
US$ 52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$ 22
US$ 19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,199)
Filter reviews
2,199 results
Traveller rating
1,511
528
114
26
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,511
528
114
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrice boathigh teainfinity poolwillingdon islandpepper restaurantsunil panickerdolphin pointsunset cruiseevening teacorner roomboat rideheritage roomnew wingwellington islandwelcome drinkarabian seabeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,742 - 1,747 of 2,199 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent a very enjoyable 1 week at the Vivanta in August 2011, and I must say we were blown away by all aspects of the hotel. From the very friendly and helpful staff to the beautiful old world charm of the building to the food, it made for an excellent holiday for us and something we will want to do again and again.

Staying at the older wing, with it's decor and atmosphere was excellent, as is walking up a floor on that old staircase. We had an excellent sea view room, which made mornings and sunsets just perfect.

The gardens are well landscaped and soothing, and nothing beats a cold beer outdoors on a sunny day.

We also spent a lot of time at the lounge bar, and the staff there are so friendly and seem to enjoy their work so much t was a pleasure to go back again and again.

Would be pertinent to note that both Sunita from the front desk and Ahilan behind the bar stood out for their chirpiness and friendly banter with the guests. You two rock !

The ferry terminal is close by, shuttle provided, for links to the other islands and Ernakulam.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinesh_Alphaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!!

Its our pleasure to help you in creating memorable experiences, during your stay.

Team Malabar is ecstatic about your comments for Sunita & Ahilan. All of us are greatly enthused to deliver even more excellent service to our guests.

As a sunset aficionado, do also try the Sunset cruise in the evening, during your nest visit.

Wish you a great 2012!!

Regards
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have stayed in hotels around the world. Many were more fancy, certainly many were far more expensive. But I think this is the best hotel I have stayed in. We (wife and daughter) moved to this hotel after a conference at the Ramada, which was much further from Kochi. This hotel is on the central islands, between old Kochi and the new commercial center, and there is a public ferry service in both directions, though not terribly frequent. The hotel has a very nice ambiance, which you feel the moment you enter the resort. It is located on the tip of the island, with fabulous views. The pool is located on the water, and, in fact, when you swim in it, it looks like it is part of the bay. The landscape is beautiful, and every afternoon there is complimentary happy hour, with free drinks and food. later on there are free shows. In fact, we went to Kochi to watch a Kathakali show, while my wife stayed in the hotel, and it turned out that she watched the same show at the hotel, but for free, in addition to the martial art program we saw in Kumily. The service was impeccable, without being overbearing. We arranged all our trips from the hotel. Might have been cheaper elsewhere, but was very convenient, especially that we were a large group.

Room Tip: At least one of the rooms has a shower that overlooks the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YigalTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Vivanta By Taj Malabar Cochin!!

Thank you for the valuable comments. We consistently endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy liesure, even when on business.

Its great to know that you you have toured quite a lot of Kerala,.

I would be honoured to welcome you back to God's Own Country.

Regards
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

liked this place alot. great hospitality, the crew always welcome to help and realy great room and facilities ( we almost fell sorry about going for the sight seen in Cuchin instead of staying in the hotel :-) ).
realy recommand it to you all .by
one problem, and it seems to be coommon to the Taj hotels (including the one i duppose to visit in Varcala) is the internrt issue. for some reason, some hotels didnt realize yet that internet accea is not a luxuary, its a basic need and its not suppose to be charged by such rates ... we live in a diferent period now and alot of the hotels i visit here in Kerala already understood it.
besides that bad experience, the rest ia amazing.
have a nice trip :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just returned from a very special 8 night stay at the Taj. Apart from the wonderful rooms, it was indeed the team of people that made our stay so memorable. All of the staff provided Customer Service levels that exceeded all our expectations. It was not only the Superb Service that they provided but the most sincere and kindest way of wanting to please their Customers in every way – a breath of fresh air, certainly in today’s world!

The Food and Service in the Restaurants was exceptional. The attention to detail was perfect. We were served some exceptional dishes created by Chefs who were very proud of their skills and ingredients and wanted to personally share these with us.

The Poolside was very tranquil again with excellent service and immaculately clean.

Whilst we have stayed in many five star Hotels in different countries, we must compliment the Taj by saying that our stay with them has definitely been our best experience yet.

Room Tip: Balconies only come with Suites, however these are good value for money with excellent facilities and superb views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VincentRamos, General Manager at Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj Malabar Cochin!!

Thank you for enjoying our hospitality.

We are very happy that you experienced the flavour and passion recreated on your plate by our dedicated team of culinary enthusisats.

Let me join my team to invite you to savour the sights and sounds of Cochin, as the Queenof the Arabian Sea beckons.

Regards

Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Right at the end of the Island is good as you have lovely views over the harbour but there is nowhere much to walk to.

Customary excellent Taj welcome with delightful well trained staff throughout. The rooms in the tower are good, although neither they not the bathrooms are particularly large.

We eat well in both Thai Pavilion and the Rice Boat (sea food).

Lovely pool.

Definitely worth considering and position no problem if you have a driver.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews