We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“true luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malabar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Malabar House
Ranked #33 of 199 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“true luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Malabar House in Fort Cochi is located near the beach front , and is close to the market, the Churches and the old town (known as Jew town). It is a beautiful relaxing Raleis & Chateau property with an excellent restaurant. The staff was very personal and accommodating, the setting is amazing with beautiful art work and specious rooms. I highly recommend staying at the Malabar House if you are looking for luxury without staying in the big chain resorts.

Room Tip: Second level deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarmufmaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    162
    64
    19
    20
See reviews for
84
334
36
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I have to say our whole trip was out of this world ! We booked our trip from scratch through KOKOindia.com and found that they had excellent taste and the experience to match our own personal requirements. The trip was exactly what we wanted/ NEEDED , nothing was too much trouble, the attention to detail was there all the way through, along with a genuine friendliness and a level of care that gave us total peace of mind.
Malabar House is a gem of a place in the heart of Fort Cochin. How we enjoyed the sitar in the evening by candlelight with one of the finest meals ever eaten in India. I literally asked the staff if i could buy a piece of the furnishing from the room...it was exquisite as was the rest of the room. A safe haven and some !
Big thumbs up

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niknok186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

I hate to say this, as we were incredibly well treated by the ALL the staff, however we were sorely disappointed in the lack of cleanliness. We stay in all types and levels of accommodation and our only stipulation is one of cleanliness. Staff outfits, rooms, the restaurant, bar - all are very grubby. However, if clean or not doesn't bother you, come here as the staff are truly terrific. We, however, would not recommend it to anyone we know.

Room Tip: Select a room upstairs at the front of the Hotel as they are larger and have a lovely feel to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Live2TravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a one day base prior to our departure from Cochin. Our flight left at 4 am and we thought we would catch an evening nap prior to our flight. Didn't happen the Indian band while very good played past 10 then we could hear the music from the bar. Needless to say no nap!
Otherwise lovely property watched kids playing cricket and football across the street. Very clean pretty rooms nice fruit platter awaits your arrival. Pool right behind reception desk kind of odd but still a beautiful old world sort of hotel.
One nice thing they provided us a boxed lunch to take to the airport, very thoughtful. Hotel car drove us Rey prompt and nice driver. Hotel close to marine walk and many shops make sure you take a tuk tuk ride!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Malabar House is an intimate feeling boutique hotel. It's organized around a central courtyard that has a tiny swimming pool, a restaurant and a peaceful patio. We stayed in room 1, which was in the small side, but beautifully appointed and quiet. The service was super friendly and unobtrusive and the food was delicious. It's a perfect location for exploring Ft. Cochin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
2.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#5 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.8 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Tea Bungalow
Tea Bungalow
#34 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#182 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 km away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#75 of 199 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar House

Property: Malabar House
Address: 1/269 Cochin Residency Parade Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,691 - ₹ 20,992
Hotel Class:4 star — Malabar House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malabar House is a charming boutique hotel overlooking the parade ground in the heart of Fort Cochin. The 17 highly individual rooms and suites seamlessly combine tradition and contemporary design. The Malabar House is a member of Relais & Chateaux. Malabar escapes offers the finest circuit of boutique and villa hotels in Kerala. Placed in colonial Fort Cochin, the backwaters and the plantation hills, each escape gives you a distinct experience & flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Expedia so you can book your Malabar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Malabar House Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing