We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trident, Cochin
Nearby Hotels
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 226
US$ 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$ 95
US$ 75
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$ 115
US$ 92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Meridien Kochi(Maradu)
US$ 99
US$ 85
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kochi Marriott Hotel(Ernakulam)
US$ 109
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Waters Cherai(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 64
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brunton Boatyard(Kochi (Cochin))
US$ 143
US$ 121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 42
US$ 35
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (982)
Filter reviews
982 results
Traveller rating
491
344
112
26
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
344
112
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswillingdon islandoberoi groupnaval basewellington islanddeluxe suitemain cityswimming poolthe general managerf blovely poolrestaurant staffbusiness tripappambreakfast spreadfront officebeautiful propertyexcellent hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 982 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Trident is a very good business hotel and adequate for seminars. Don't book this hotel if you are a tourist. It is too far from the old part of Cochin.
Rooms are clean, staff is kind, kitchen is good. There is nice pool. The location is not very nice, industrial and remote.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Cochin

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We have noted your feedback on the location of the hotel and agree that it is a little away from the city. On the contrary there is easy access to Fort Cochin and the main city via ferries and by road and the location does offer the hotel a calm and serene atmosphere.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Warm Regards

Amit Saincher
General Manager

email : amit.saincher@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Located in a peaceful and secure area of Cochin. From airport takes an hour to reach at night and over 90 minutes in day time. Around 30 min from most Cochin interest places. Rooms are neat but small. Amenities are basic and could be better. Same for staff eficiency. Breakfast buffet is disappointing in spread and taste to say the least. No lunch buffet. Would rate as 4 star and recommend looking for alternatives.

Room Tip: Pool facing
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freqtravdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest

Greetings from Trident, Cochin

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I have noted your feedback on the buffet breakfast and staff efficiency and the same has been taken up with the team. I assure you that we will give this feedback the seriousness it deserves and will work on it.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Amit Saincher
General Manager
email : amit. saincher@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a great hotel with all the amenities. I see some comments about the food but I have to say the food quality and selection was wonderful. It is away from some of the sites but that mean it's quiet too. You don't need to leave the facility, there is an indoor and outdoor restaurant serving Indian and American foods. There is a beautiful pool and gardens - see my pictures - and several setting areas. I can't say enough about the service. Everyone tries to please but especially - and I wish I could remember her name - a beautiful young woman that works at the front desk. I had emailed her about making reservations in the spa, while waiting to check in she approached me and assured me she had taken care of that and answered any questions I had. I think hotels in India need to employee more women, men can get the job done but so can women and they show attention to detail that is sorely lacking with men!! She also helped me with some shopping, and upon returning she helped me by talking about the different fabrics, what was a good buy and what wasn't. I just can't say enough good things about her.
This hotel has a salon and a little shop that has fantastic crafts and books. The woman in the shop- can't remember her name either - was kind and even offered to help me learn some Hindi phrases. She explained in detail where things were made and when we needed something she didn't have she had somehow got a hold of it the next time we came in. Superb service.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool is nice
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texastravlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Cochin

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Amit Saincher
General Manager

email : amit.saincher@tridenthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived very late for a two night stay to a warm response which set the tone for the rest of the stay. Fantastic staff in a comfortable, well designed and decorated hotel with a good restaurant, and a pleasant pool area. While the location of the hotel is not fantastic, we were easily able to catch ferries to Fort Cochin, via Vypeen and its array of distinctive fishing nets, and had an enjoyable day out. Excellent buffet breakfast included in our room price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brettsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that we could make your stay memmorable right from arrival to departure. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin.

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our rate was very good and included a deluxe suite with daily breakfast. We found the quality of services and amenities to be a great value for cost. The deluxe suite is a very spacious and comfortable room. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice. The staff are young and really try hard to please and serve the guests. We loved our interactions and the service from Atony, Bibbin and Salih.

The location is not central, but we knew that when we booked and the location was pleasing to us. It is at least a 15 minute walk (not 5) to the ferry dock. It is not a pleasant walk so best to take a cheap auto rickshaw. The Taj is a quick rickshaw ride away and serves a wonderful buffet. We enjoyed a terrific lunch at the Taj one day. The Casino Hotel is a quick walk from the Trident for other dining options outside the Trident. We enjoyed the location being out of Ft Cochin and found the excursion via ferry very enjoyable. We loved commuting with the locals. The locals are extremely friendly and helpful. The commute to Ft Cochin added to our experience greatly. Also, we did day excursions to major sites with a hired driver each day so coming back to the quiet area of the Trident worked well for us.

In room internet is at a fee. We were on the third floor which had a small lounge room with a pool table and a guest computer that one could use without a fee. The room was accessible to all guests.

The lobby is smallish and basic. We did not find it crowded or uncomfortable. The lobby lounge does lack warmth and atmosphere with far too bright lighting. The lobby does seem stark, basic and dated. A simple upgrading of furnishings in the lounge would benefit everyone.

The ayurvedic spa experiences were not to our satisfaction. Unfortunately we cannot recommend using the hotel spa services. Our sessions were near the end of the day so maybe the staff were tired. The treatment given was mediocre at best. We ended up going to the Casino Hotel for treatements. The spa rooms were more authentic and the quailty was very good.

The fitness facility is very small... but we broke from out fitness regime and ate, ate, ate as we were on vacation! There is a very small gift shop too.

The restaurant serves buffets at breakfast and dinner as well as an ala carte menu. The quality of the buffet foods are satisfactory. We enjoyed the items off the menu far more than the buffet. The deep fried cauliflower and spicy beef dishes were superb! The room decor is pleasing, but the lighting is far too bright so lacks in ambiance. We were there during the week of Christmas to the New Year and the hotel played holiday music all the time. It would have been nice to have some pleasant Indian music thrown in for variety.

The staff are very young and inexperienced. Yet they are obviously eager to please everyone in any way possible. They were so utterly charming and gracious. Management would do well to focus on providing thorough training. The staff are very intelligent and would learn quickly. Enhanced training on finer details of five star service would enable these great individuals to give the level of service they clearly crave to be able to deliver. We loved Atony, Bibbin and Salih! Great guys with great personailities and big hearts!

The security doormen consistenly gave five star service. They were all extremely welcoming, warm, pleasant and accommodating!

Overall, we feel that for the price we paid that we could not have made a better choice for quality, service and location. The deluxe suite is a bargain! Like all hotels there comes a time when an inveatment to upgrade is needed. While the hotel is not in poor condition it could use a renovation to modernize its interior.

We have no regrets with staying at The Trident Cochin and doubt anyone considering staying here would be disappointed. Very nice hotel with lots of heart from the staff. And, honestly, if ever we were return to Kochi we would prefer to stay at the Trident over staying in the old town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a detailed review of us on TripAdvisor. We have noted that you have utilised almost all the facilities and services in the hotel. Your feedback has been shared with Antony, Bibin and Salih who view it as a source of encouragement. I have noted your feedback on the Ayurveda Centre and the same has been shared with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews