We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with all amenities”
Review of Trident, Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trident, Cochin
Ranked #21 of 205 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great hotel with all amenities”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This is a great hotel with all the amenities. I see some comments about the food but I have to say the food quality and selection was wonderful. It is away from some of the sites but that mean it's quiet too. You don't need to leave the facility, there is an indoor and outdoor restaurant serving Indian and American foods. There is a beautiful pool and gardens - see my pictures - and several setting areas. I can't say enough about the service. Everyone tries to please but especially - and I wish I could remember her name - a beautiful young woman that works at the front desk. I had emailed her about making reservations in the spa, while waiting to check in she approached me and assured me she had taken care of that and answered any questions I had. I think hotels in India need to employee more women, men can get the job done but so can women and they show attention to detail that is sorely lacking with men!! She also helped me with some shopping, and upon returning she helped me by talking about the different fabrics, what was a good buy and what wasn't. I just can't say enough good things about her.
This hotel has a salon and a little shop that has fantastic crafts and books. The woman in the shop- can't remember her name either - was kind and even offered to help me learn some Hindi phrases. She explained in detail where things were made and when we needed something she didn't have she had somehow got a hold of it the next time we came in. Superb service.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texastravlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tridentcochin-kochi, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Trident, Cochin

Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guest, as their comments are vital for us to continue in improving our services. I am happy to note that the services rendered by my team were to your satisfaction.

It is feedback from esteemed guests like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times

Amit Saincher
General Manager

email : amit.saincher@tridenthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    301
    103
    24
    9
See reviews for
203
238
53
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived very late for a two night stay to a warm response which set the tone for the rest of the stay. Fantastic staff in a comfortable, well designed and decorated hotel with a good restaurant, and a pleasant pool area. While the location of the hotel is not fantastic, we were easily able to catch ferries to Fort Cochin, via Vypeen and its array of distinctive fishing nets, and had an enjoyable day out. Excellent buffet breakfast included in our room price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brettsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that we could make your stay memmorable right from arrival to departure. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin.

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our rate was very good and included a deluxe suite with daily breakfast. We found the quality of services and amenities to be a great value for cost. The deluxe suite is a very spacious and comfortable room. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice. The staff are young and really try hard to please and serve the guests. We loved our interactions and the service from Atony, Bibbin and Salih.

The location is not central, but we knew that when we booked and the location was pleasing to us. It is at least a 15 minute walk (not 5) to the ferry dock. It is not a pleasant walk so best to take a cheap auto rickshaw. The Taj is a quick rickshaw ride away and serves a wonderful buffet. We enjoyed a terrific lunch at the Taj one day. The Casino Hotel is a quick walk from the Trident for other dining options outside the Trident. We enjoyed the location being out of Ft Cochin and found the excursion via ferry very enjoyable. We loved commuting with the locals. The locals are extremely friendly and helpful. The commute to Ft Cochin added to our experience greatly. Also, we did day excursions to major sites with a hired driver each day so coming back to the quiet area of the Trident worked well for us.

In room internet is at a fee. We were on the third floor which had a small lounge room with a pool table and a guest computer that one could use without a fee. The room was accessible to all guests.

The lobby is smallish and basic. We did not find it crowded or uncomfortable. The lobby lounge does lack warmth and atmosphere with far too bright lighting. The lobby does seem stark, basic and dated. A simple upgrading of furnishings in the lounge would benefit everyone.

The ayurvedic spa experiences were not to our satisfaction. Unfortunately we cannot recommend using the hotel spa services. Our sessions were near the end of the day so maybe the staff were tired. The treatment given was mediocre at best. We ended up going to the Casino Hotel for treatements. The spa rooms were more authentic and the quailty was very good.

The fitness facility is very small... but we broke from out fitness regime and ate, ate, ate as we were on vacation! There is a very small gift shop too.

The restaurant serves buffets at breakfast and dinner as well as an ala carte menu. The quality of the buffet foods are satisfactory. We enjoyed the items off the menu far more than the buffet. The deep fried cauliflower and spicy beef dishes were superb! The room decor is pleasing, but the lighting is far too bright so lacks in ambiance. We were there during the week of Christmas to the New Year and the hotel played holiday music all the time. It would have been nice to have some pleasant Indian music thrown in for variety.

The staff are very young and inexperienced. Yet they are obviously eager to please everyone in any way possible. They were so utterly charming and gracious. Management would do well to focus on providing thorough training. The staff are very intelligent and would learn quickly. Enhanced training on finer details of five star service would enable these great individuals to give the level of service they clearly crave to be able to deliver. We loved Atony, Bibbin and Salih! Great guys with great personailities and big hearts!

The security doormen consistenly gave five star service. They were all extremely welcoming, warm, pleasant and accommodating!

Overall, we feel that for the price we paid that we could not have made a better choice for quality, service and location. The deluxe suite is a bargain! Like all hotels there comes a time when an inveatment to upgrade is needed. While the hotel is not in poor condition it could use a renovation to modernize its interior.

We have no regrets with staying at The Trident Cochin and doubt anyone considering staying here would be disappointed. Very nice hotel with lots of heart from the staff. And, honestly, if ever we were return to Kochi we would prefer to stay at the Trident over staying in the old town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a detailed review of us on TripAdvisor. We have noted that you have utilised almost all the facilities and services in the hotel. Your feedback has been shared with Antony, Bibin and Salih who view it as a source of encouragement. I have noted your feedback on the Ayurveda Centre and the same has been shared with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We opted for the Trident Cochin for a single day stay in Cochin during our honeymoon in January 2012. The stay was amazing and the staff was fantastic. They ensured that all our needs were met. Thanks to the staff at the Trident Cochin, we had a lovely time.

Sleep Quality: Awesome. Being very calm quiet, its perfect for relaxation and spending laid-back time for your own-self.

Service: The staff here were warm, personable and most friendly.

Food: Decent food. Buffet was not lavish as you would expect it to be for such a good rated hotel. The deserts were good. There were no non-veg options(for saying options two plus items have to be there) in the Dinner buffet, just a chicken dish in the main course and a fish item in the starters.

Rooms: Good clean rooms with all the basic necessities and amenities. Well maintained. Though rooms are very nice, we stayed in a Family suite and still didn't feel pampered for the price we paid.

Hotel accessibility: Good as we didn't have any problem reaching the hotel from the railway station. 30 mins from Ernakulam Junction railway station. Taxi's available to take you to the hotel. If requested the hotel also does provide a cab(at double the rate though). There is a taxi stand at the corner of the road(50m from the main entrance).

Location: 30mins away from city. You are in the middle of no-where.(The only not nice feature). You need a taxi to go anywhere for site-seeing. As this was the case, and we wanted time for our-selves we ended up not going for site-seeing but rather preferred to utilize the cool calmness of the hotel and enjoy ourselves at the pool.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustMiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that we would make your stay a memorable one. Your feedback has been shared with team and we assure you that we will work on the areas mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin.

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

- An hour's drive from the airport
- About 20 mins from the Cochin main centre
- Excellent staff and service
- Great food
- Quiet and relaxed atmosphere

If any city has a Trident hotel, I would prefer staying there as they are value for money with excellent staff and amenities

Room Tip: If traveling with a family, please ask for the suite as they can be converted into 2 bedrooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutfinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the hotel to your liking and fit into your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.1 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,951 reviews
4.3 km away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Casino Hotel
Casino Hotel
#27 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
543 reviews
2.0 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
200 reviews
2.6 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 205 in Kochi (Cochin)
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Cochin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Cochin

Property: Trident, Cochin
Address: Bristow Road | Willingdon Island, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682003, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#8 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#9 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,747 - ₹ 8,269
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident, Cochin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trident, Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident, Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Trident, Cochin Kochi (Cochin), Kerala
Hilton Kochi
Kochi Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing