We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trident, Cochin
Nearby Hotels
US$ 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$ 79
US$ 75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 118
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 78
US$ 65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Kochi(Maradu)
US$ 121
US$ 95
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 36
US$ 29
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 59% below average rates

The price you found is 59% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cherai Beach Resorts(Cherai Beach)
US$ 125
US$ 57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue Waters Cherai(Cherai Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 57
US$ 54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
US$ 18
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
496
345
112
26
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
345
112
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswillingdon islandoberoi groupnaval basewellington islandmain cityswimming poolthe general managerf blovely poolrestaurant staffbusiness tripappambreakfast spreadfront officespecial thanksmemorable staycourteous staff
Filter
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived very late for a two night stay to a warm response which set the tone for the rest of the stay. Fantastic staff in a comfortable, well designed and decorated hotel with a good restaurant, and a pleasant pool area. While the location of the hotel is not fantastic, we were easily able to catch ferries to Fort Cochin, via Vypeen and its array of distinctive fishing nets, and had an enjoyable day out. Excellent buffet breakfast included in our room price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brettsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that we could make your stay memmorable right from arrival to departure. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin.

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Our rate was very good and included a deluxe suite with daily breakfast. We found the quality of services and amenities to be a great value for cost. The deluxe suite is a very spacious and comfortable room. Our room overlooked the pool which was nice. The staff are young and really try hard to please and serve the guests. We loved our interactions and the service from Atony, Bibbin and Salih.

The location is not central, but we knew that when we booked and the location was pleasing to us. It is at least a 15 minute walk (not 5) to the ferry dock. It is not a pleasant walk so best to take a cheap auto rickshaw. The Taj is a quick rickshaw ride away and serves a wonderful buffet. We enjoyed a terrific lunch at the Taj one day. The Casino Hotel is a quick walk from the Trident for other dining options outside the Trident. We enjoyed the location being out of Ft Cochin and found the excursion via ferry very enjoyable. We loved commuting with the locals. The locals are extremely friendly and helpful. The commute to Ft Cochin added to our experience greatly. Also, we did day excursions to major sites with a hired driver each day so coming back to the quiet area of the Trident worked well for us.

In room internet is at a fee. We were on the third floor which had a small lounge room with a pool table and a guest computer that one could use without a fee. The room was accessible to all guests.

The lobby is smallish and basic. We did not find it crowded or uncomfortable. The lobby lounge does lack warmth and atmosphere with far too bright lighting. The lobby does seem stark, basic and dated. A simple upgrading of furnishings in the lounge would benefit everyone.

The ayurvedic spa experiences were not to our satisfaction. Unfortunately we cannot recommend using the hotel spa services. Our sessions were near the end of the day so maybe the staff were tired. The treatment given was mediocre at best. We ended up going to the Casino Hotel for treatements. The spa rooms were more authentic and the quailty was very good.

The fitness facility is very small... but we broke from out fitness regime and ate, ate, ate as we were on vacation! There is a very small gift shop too.

The restaurant serves buffets at breakfast and dinner as well as an ala carte menu. The quality of the buffet foods are satisfactory. We enjoyed the items off the menu far more than the buffet. The deep fried cauliflower and spicy beef dishes were superb! The room decor is pleasing, but the lighting is far too bright so lacks in ambiance. We were there during the week of Christmas to the New Year and the hotel played holiday music all the time. It would have been nice to have some pleasant Indian music thrown in for variety.

The staff are very young and inexperienced. Yet they are obviously eager to please everyone in any way possible. They were so utterly charming and gracious. Management would do well to focus on providing thorough training. The staff are very intelligent and would learn quickly. Enhanced training on finer details of five star service would enable these great individuals to give the level of service they clearly crave to be able to deliver. We loved Atony, Bibbin and Salih! Great guys with great personailities and big hearts!

The security doormen consistenly gave five star service. They were all extremely welcoming, warm, pleasant and accommodating!

Overall, we feel that for the price we paid that we could not have made a better choice for quality, service and location. The deluxe suite is a bargain! Like all hotels there comes a time when an inveatment to upgrade is needed. While the hotel is not in poor condition it could use a renovation to modernize its interior.

We have no regrets with staying at The Trident Cochin and doubt anyone considering staying here would be disappointed. Very nice hotel with lots of heart from the staff. And, honestly, if ever we were return to Kochi we would prefer to stay at the Trident over staying in the old town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a detailed review of us on TripAdvisor. We have noted that you have utilised almost all the facilities and services in the hotel. Your feedback has been shared with Antony, Bibin and Salih who view it as a source of encouragement. I have noted your feedback on the Ayurveda Centre and the same has been shared with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We opted for the Trident Cochin for a single day stay in Cochin during our honeymoon in January 2012. The stay was amazing and the staff was fantastic. They ensured that all our needs were met. Thanks to the staff at the Trident Cochin, we had a lovely time.

Sleep Quality: Awesome. Being very calm quiet, its perfect for relaxation and spending laid-back time for your own-self.

Service: The staff here were warm, personable and most friendly.

Food: Decent food. Buffet was not lavish as you would expect it to be for such a good rated hotel. The deserts were good. There were no non-veg options(for saying options two plus items have to be there) in the Dinner buffet, just a chicken dish in the main course and a fish item in the starters.

Rooms: Good clean rooms with all the basic necessities and amenities. Well maintained. Though rooms are very nice, we stayed in a Family suite and still didn't feel pampered for the price we paid.

Hotel accessibility: Good as we didn't have any problem reaching the hotel from the railway station. 30 mins from Ernakulam Junction railway station. Taxi's available to take you to the hotel. If requested the hotel also does provide a cab(at double the rate though). There is a taxi stand at the corner of the road(50m from the main entrance).

Location: 30mins away from city. You are in the middle of no-where.(The only not nice feature). You need a taxi to go anywhere for site-seeing. As this was the case, and we wanted time for our-selves we ended up not going for site-seeing but rather preferred to utilize the cool calmness of the hotel and enjoy ourselves at the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustMiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that we would make your stay a memorable one. Your feedback has been shared with team and we assure you that we will work on the areas mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin.

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

- An hour's drive from the airport
- About 20 mins from the Cochin main centre
- Excellent staff and service
- Great food
- Quiet and relaxed atmosphere

If any city has a Trident hotel, I would prefer staying there as they are value for money with excellent staff and amenities

Room Tip: If traveling with a family, please ask for the suite as they can be converted into 2 bedrooms with a partition in between. Excellent rooms decor
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoutfinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you found the hotel to your liking and fit into your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

first let me state that the staff here were warm, personable and most friendly. They went out of their way to be helpful and I had no problems with them at any time. It is also a good hotel. My room (upgrade thank you) had a great bed and the restaurant served decent food.

Now that I have indicated some of the positive elements there were other aspects of this hotel that lets it down. The lobby is small and cramped. The bar area likewise is small and there is just no place within the hotel to sit and relax. Its location, for anyone that likes to potter around is not good. It is a distance from the city and a hassle if you just wanted to stroll around. I do however understand that this fact has nothing to do with its services, but for anyone thinking of location location location and, like myself likes to potter around, this may not be the best place for you.

The internet charges here, are to put it bluntly, outrageous. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired I would have expected better and indeed have received better in a 3 star property or less. I used their laundry services (expensive 5 star prices) 3 shirts were returned not properly ironed, which given the price I paid, was totally unacceptable. Finally the towels in my room were also poorly laundered. They had a bad odour as if washed in dirty water. I point this out just for the simple reason that hotels claiming to be of a 5 star standard charging 5 star prices and able to exact maximum revenues for people to check their emails, should have in place quality checks to ensure their customers receive a quality service for which they paid. Maybe just a little more attention to the smaller detail would go a long way.

Once again thanks to the staff which helped make the stay enjoyable over new year

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TridentCochin_Cochin, General Manager at Trident, Cochin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Guest

We thank you for taking the time out to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the team here could do their best for you. We are a small cozy hotel and we do understand that location of the hotel is a little out of the way with nothing but the port area surrounding it. On the contrary the location offers lots of privacy, quiet and easy access to the city and Fort Cochin.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Trident Cochin

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews