We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Carnival Tours & Travels
from US$ 26.00
More Info
from US$ 119.60
More Info
from US$ 112.50
More Info
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveller rating
394
31
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
394
31
4
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two nights night tour house boat excellent driver southern india peter babu backwaters arrangements doubts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 434 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We were really well looked after from start to finish and loved our day cruising the waterways. The driver collected us from the cruise ship and drove us to the houseboat ( about 1 1/2 hrs drive from Cochin port), expert driving through the chaotic Indian traffic.
Houseboat was gorgeous with 2 sitting areas, dining area, toilet and bedroom ( you can hire it for overnight trips). We sat on armchairs watching the world go by at a leisurely pace and were cooked and served a fabulous Indian meal at the dining table.
We hired the boat just for the 2 of us which was expensive but a special treat and a luxury. Took about 2 1/2 hrs trip on the waterways before being driven back again - fabulous.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Tuftyhead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalToursTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Carnival Tours & Travels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Madam,

Thanks for the excellent review about us on TripAdvisor .

Happy to know that you had a great tour and satisfied with our services

Looking Forward to serve you many more times in mere future Regards

Team Carnival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

We booked a shore excursion through Viator and Carnival handled the tour. Good communication, met early by tour guide at the port and off we went. We had a fantastic trip on the boat with only 4 people and a leisurely 2 hour boat ride with lunch cooked for us on board. After the tour we went back to Cochin and had a tour around the town, also seeing the Chinese Fishing Nets.
Altogether fantastic trip.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank karenbeanpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalToursTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Carnival Tours & Travels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Madam,

Thanks for the excellent review about us on TripAdvisor .

Happy to know that you had a great tour and satisfied with our services

Looking Forward to serve you many more times in mere future Regards

Team Carnival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We were happy around, booked all Hotels, Lodges, Transfers, Sightseeings, Nationalparks, Drivers with Carnival Tours & Travels direct. Very nice staff, friendly and helpful. We recommend Peter and his team 100 %. Thank you for 3 wonderful weeks on beach, in tea plants hiking and visiting the national parks with tigers, elephants and leopards.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank MaykSchega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalToursTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Carnival Tours & Travels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Sir,

Thanks for the excellent review about us on TripAdvisor .

Happy to know that you had a great tour and satisfied with our services

Looking Forward to serve you many more times in mere future Regards

Team Carnival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We booked this day tour as a shore excursion with Peter from Carnival Tours. All contact with Peter prior to the tour by email were very clear and he confirmed all of the details in advance. We did this tour as a shore excursion from Celebrity Constellation in March 2018 and our group of 11 enjoyed a great day. The bus was spacious and very clean for the 1.5 hour drive each way. Our guide, Jude, was waiting for us with a big smile when our group disembarked early from the ship and we were away before the other buses heading off to the same spot. Jude was knowlegable, friendly and provided lots of history, culture and information about this area of India. We boarded a lovely traditional houseboat in Allepey and enjoyed a wonderful traditional lunch of local Keralan food cooked on board by the crew - it was delicious. We enjoyed serene sailing on the covered deck seeing the traditional life on the banks of the river. We visited several other sites including Chinese fishing nets, market, dhoby ghat, Jewtown - before returning to the ship. Our day was special and Peter and all of his staff gave us a memorable day. This is a great shore excursion for Kochi Port.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalToursTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Carnival Tours & Travels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Madam,

Thanks for the excellent review about us on TripAdvisor .

Happy to know that you had a great tour and satisfied with our services

Looking Forward to serve you many more times in mere future Regards

Team Carnival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We were recommended Carnival Tours by friends who travelled to Kerala last year. We booked a private car to tour Kerala, taking in Fort Kochi (Brunton Boatyard), Munnar (2 nights at Spice Tree), Thekkady (Aanavilasam Plantation), and on a Lakes and Lagoon Houseboat at Alleppey. This was a tour recommended by Carnival Tours, which was a perfect itinerary. We added on three nights in Marari Beach (Xandari Pearl). Carnival Tours ongoing business with each of the hotels meant that we regularly got a room upgrade; although these cannot be relied upon, they would save paying for a room upgrade if not essentially required.

All hotels were recommended by Carnival Tours, except in Kochi, where we changed hotels to one centrally in Fort Kochi, rather than on the city outskirts - we were pleased with this decision, as it meant less travelling to visit Fort Kochi on the day we arrived. All hotels (except the houseboat) were only B&B; we had a main meal at each of the hotels, which cost between £8-£12 (+ 50% (approx) tax and service) a la carte and were of the highest quality. All breakfasts were buffet, with eggs cooked to order, and lots of local seasonal fruits. Most hotels provide their own activities, commonly walking tours, cooking demonstrations, tea tasting/high-tea, and bicycle hire.

We had a private a/c car and driver for the airport transfers, and the whole tour (except at our beach hotel). The car was a Toyota Innova, which was perfect for the tour, being large and very comfortable. There were two individual rear seats (rather than the usual bench seat), and these were raised for better viewing, and had individual air-rests. A comprehensive basket of snacks was provided (crisps, sweets, biscuits) and ample bottled water replenished daily. The car was impeccably cleaned daily inside and out. Our driver was the excellent Biju, a highly experienced and competent driver and guide, who spoke good English. The Indian roads are busy with large numbers of motor bikes, bicycles, tuktuks, pedestrians, buses and lorry's, and in rural areas are in poor condition, but we always felt we were in safe hands. Biju was always willing to offer guidance, tips and advice, answering our many 'tourist questions', and suggesting many interesting stops along the way - he always seems to know exactly what would interest us, a product of his years of experience. Biju was always immensely courteous and considerate, and could not be faulted.

Carnival Tours provided (included) 3 tour guides, one each in Fort Kochi, at the Arts and Craft Vedic Village spice plantation, and at the Harrisons Malayalam tea factory. These all had good knowledge, and spoke understandable English. We did feel that the spice plantation guide (Simon) was not the best, and was intent in just doing enough to command a tip, and then proceeded to try to sell us his natural health products. Matthew, our guide at the tea plantation was particularly good.

We travelled in April, before the monsoon seasons. This is the 'shoulder' season, so was nicely quiet, but is in the Indian school holiday's, although this still did not make it too busy, and only the well-off Indian's holiday in Kerala. The weather was quite hot (34/36C (feels like 44/46C)), but was cooler in the hill country at about 24/26C - this did not bother us and did not curtail any activities. However, at this time, the hill country waterfalls were dry, and the lakes were low, but the countryside was still green and lush.

We were sceptical about booking with an Indian tour company, and paying a large deposit in advance, but we should not have been concerned, and found Carnival Tours to be trustworthy. We paid the balance when we were in Fort Kochi at the office.

We were met at the airport by Peter Dalgleish, the main-man at Carnival Tours. He was always smiling and immensely helpful and efficient, both when exchanging emails to set up the tour and with any queries during the tour (via Biju). Peter kept in constant contact with Biju during our tour, and called ahead to hotels to let them know our ETA, so we always had a warm welcome awaiting us. He arranged early check in's where required.

The advantage of using Carnival Tours, compared with UK-based package holiday companies was that Carnival Tours are very flexible with their itinerary, dates and hotel choices, as well as being 'more economical'.

In conclusion, our tour of Kerala with Carnival Tours was excellent, and exceeded our expectations.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank globetrotter10023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarnivalToursTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Carnival Tours & Travels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Sir,

Thanks for the excellent review about us on TripAdvisor .

Happy to know that you had a great tour and satisfied with our services

Looking Forward to serve you many more times in mere future Regards

Team Carnival

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews