We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kumar knows what travelers want and need and provides a great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green House Home Stay
Ranked #78 of 424 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Kumar knows what travelers want and need and provides a great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just three rooms, nice indoor living/dining room, outdoor patio and upstairs area up on the roof! So intimate, personal and friendly. Met great fellow travelers!

Kumar is a pro! He's a young guy, but very worldly in his vibe and understanding of what travelers want and need. He provided EXCELLENT tips on restaurants, shops, walks, places to "be local" and tourist sites. What really impressed me though is how much he pays attention. He remembered EVERY place I mentioned to visit, including our discussions of the best/cheapest/most interesting routes to take, what method of transport to take, and how much I should pay. Then, when I came home, hr asked me which route worked best. I had forgotten the conversation by then, but Kumar wanted to make sure it all worked for me, AND confirm whether we'd in fact landed in a new, better way to go. I was very grateful and very impressed.

Rooms and bathrooms are CLEAN! I forgot the name of the lady who works with Kumar, but she's lovely and keeps a very tidy house. I paid more for a/c based on kumars recommendation. It was hot and humid, so what initially seemed like a nice luxury quickly became a life saver. One afternoon, I stayed in and read to recover from the heat, and reeneegize with a/c.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank unsyncsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
31
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Room is very clean and spacious.
Location is in a short distance from anywhere you want to go.

Kumar, the owner, really care that you have a good stay and you can 100% count on his advice.

No A/C and no hot water (we did not have any problem not having those).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank avihub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Green house was the best place among the places I've ever stayed in Kochi. It has well cleaned rooms with necessary amenities and a shared hall along with a relaxing balcony where you can read or chitchat. Kumar keeps the place well maintained and provides very sincere service to travellers and is also a good advisor for travelling over this area. He also arranges various tours/programs. Location is good as well to move around. I am so sure you will also like this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hye_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Kumar made our stay in Kochi wonderful. My partner got sick for four days and STILL we can say that we had a good time there thanks to this homestay. The rooms are good for the value, the hospitality is AMAZING, you can do your yoga and your laundry on the roof and it's the perfect distance from everything. Book ahead - it fills up. After three months in India I think it may be one of the best places we stayed:) Thank you:)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you are looking for the greatest Homestay in Fort Cochin (Kochi) this is it! The bedrooms are impeccably clean. There is hot water 24 hours a day. There is a common space were you can chat we the other travvelers, as well as a nice balcony were you can sit and relax. There is also a fridge and a computer that you can use (30 Rp per hour for the internet). The owner, Kumar, is very helpful and will give you good advices about the things to see in Kochi. We loved our time here and surely recommand it to everybody. And in comparison to other places, it is calm and not to noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anylexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 km away
The Travellers Inn
The Travellers Inn
#66 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 km away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#24 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.5 km away
Elphinstone Residency
Elphinstone Residency
#70 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Maison Casero Home Stay
Maison Casero Home Stay
#44 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 km away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#6 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 km away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 424 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Home Stay

Property: Green House Home Stay
Address: H. No. 1/1040 a, Kunnampuram Cross Road, Njaliparambu | Njaliparambu, Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 424 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 648 - ₹ 1,167
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located in Fort Kochi, few meters away from the main church Santa Cruz, the pedestrian area Princess Street and the fishing net. You can move around by walk. Green House it an individual house where we welcome our guests as a part of the Family! Greenish, nice and simple house with an upper balcony and terrace for relaxing time. WI-FI, fridge, washing cloths facilities as well as drying clothes space, parking and possible access to the kitchen area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green House Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing