We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, good value place for a relaxing stay”
Review of Hotel Victory Dawn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victory Dawn
Ranked #103 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely, good value place for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a lovely 3 star place,more of guest house then hotel with only 6 rooms. Good location just by the Parade Ground & everywhere within walking distance. My friend and I were the only ones staying here and had rooms upstairs. Very spacious, clean with large bathrooms and lovely communal areas. Staff friendly & helpful. Free wi-fi. Breakfast could have more variety and usually finishes at 9am but they did serve it later for us. We were here for 5 nights and had a relaxing time during the start of the monsoon. A lot of the restaurants here in Fort Cochin don't have a licence but there is a government liquor store which an auto will take you to. Dry days in Kerala are not just the usual national/election days but also the 1st of the month - not sure where that date came from!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
31
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel in a beautiful spacious room with an enormous bathroom.I had requested upstairs room by email and this request was honoured. We arrived early and the staff went out of their way to get the room ready. Good location, just 2 minutes walk from the Del Roti restaurant and not much further to the beach and local points of interest.
Breakfast could have been better, but still ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but it was the room that really made it.

Room Tip: Request room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonlassUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed for a week at Victory Dawn in Fort Cochin. A small hotel, not a Home Stay, located on the Parade Ground, has spacious rooms, large bathrooms and all in all is an excellent value particularly during the high season in Fort Cochin. Furnishings vary from room to room and can be quite basic but clean. Staff, while minimal, was extremely helpful and gracious taking good care of us during our stay. The location is excellent and within easy walking distance of the center of Fort Cochin.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the preferred rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I stayed one night at Victory Dawn in January 2012. I am a single female traveller. Victory Dawn was by far the most charming hotel I stayed at during my travels. It has a B&B feel with a dash of colonial charm -- high ceilings and wooden fans. My room had two double beds and was exceptionally clean and spacious. The room also had a lock.

I was greeted by the manager and he made me feel welcome. The breakfast is delicious -- both the "western style" and the "Indian style." If you're interested in the Keralan Kathatkali dance-drama (amazing! go see it!), you can also buy your tickets from the manager.

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from all the main Kochi sites, like the Chinese fishing nets and the theatre for Kathakali dance. It's also close to restaurants recommended by the Lonely Planet. I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoquaxTheKumquat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The staff at this hotel were so pleasant & helpful. The rooms are big, airy & clean. Breakfast was OK but a bit limited. A choice of Indian breakfasts would have been nice, but for the price think it was good value. My husband & myself would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandF022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 km away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#87 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
0.3 km away
Fort Heritage
Fort Heritage
#172 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
97 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#32 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#58 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
0.2 km away
Eighth Bastion Hotel
Eighth Bastion Hotel
#6 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
351 reviews
0.3 km away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#78 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victory Dawn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victory Dawn

Property: Hotel Victory Dawn
Address: Ridsdale Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 210 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,538 - ₹ 10,447
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victory Dawn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is my pleasure to introduce to you my latest hospitality venture, Victory Dawn in Fort Cochin. Following on the heels of the highly acclaimed boutique hotel Koder House, Victory Dawn is an attempt to bring yet another exclusive experience to discerning travelers. A former Tata tea company bungalow, Victory Dawn is set close to the beach and the Parade Ground in Fort Cochin - an area where English, Portuguese and Dutch influences abound. Tea cultivation and production played a very important role in the commercial history of Kerala and in its heyday, this tea bungalow hosted many influential officials. Like Koder House, Victory Dawn pays tribute to an era and preserves this atmosphere in an authentic manner. The bungalow offers six large rooms refurbished to retain all its age-old charm as well as modern facilities like internet data port and TV in each room, business centre, foreign exchange, electronic safe, doctor-on-call and laundry etc. We hope your patronage and support will continue to be with us as we embark on this new venture. Help us to make it a success as we attempt to give our distinguished guests yet another exclusive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Victory Dawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victory Dawn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing