We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly”
Review of Hotel Fort Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Castle
Ranked #131 of 437 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Lancs UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“friendly”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

a small hotel with excellent position. Clean and modern with air con and ceiling fans. very helpful friendly staff who speak English.

Room Tip: rooms on firts floor have better water pressure than those on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheeler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    41
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
28
40
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

The location of the hotel is spot on and is what gives the 3rd star... rooms were not interesting with a damp smell.The breakfast was fine (toast and eggs) without being impressive. Following the advise of previous reviews we had all other meals in other locations. Staff was kind and attentive to our needs

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thedane80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stafford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We liked this simple hotel. It had no frills but had a nice feel to it for what it was. Breakfast was dire...eggs and not much else, but there are plenty of other places to eat breakfast. During a 6 week tour of India we stayed in worse that cost more. This was the start hotel for a 9 day tour of kerala with Intrepid Travel at the end of our6 week tour of India, so we had plenty to compare it with.. The next two hotels we stayed in on this Intrepid tour were much much worse! Anyone thinking about doing this tour the next hotel is Deshadhan resort, Munnar, and you can follow our reviews through each hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had the same experience as other people on this site - we had a confirmed booking, had paid a deposit but when we arrived they told us they were full and didn't have any rooms for us. As it is new year's eve all the other nice hotels in town are fully booked so we are stuck in a cheap, old hostel.

It seems like they do this regularly and nobody at the desk apologised. Disgusting customer service. Do not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Fort Castle, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Sir ,

We regret for late reply as we were not used to Management review in Trip Advisor

Please note that our hotel accepts only booking on prepayment basis and that too in the peak season time ( 15th Dec /10th Jan ) We request the payment to be remitted atleast 60 days in advance , In your case we had not received the payment at all , How can we hold the booking without payment in a peak season ,

In case the agent ( Hostel Bookers ) have made the payment to us why did the agent did not bother to call us and speak to us in this regard

However we apologize for the inconvenience faced though it was not our fault and we request you to give a chance to be at your service for your next visit to Fort Cochin

Warm Regards

William Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Great location, historical place. Highly recommended to all travelers to Fort Kochin. Value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 km away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#59 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
248 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel White Rose
Hotel White Rose
#67 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
92 reviews
0.3 km away
Bright Heritage
Bright Heritage
#185 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rossitta Wood Castle
Rossitta Wood Castle
#59 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
290 reviews
0.1 km away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#40 of 207 in Kochi (Cochin)
294 reviews
0.3 km away
Fort Manor
Fort Manor
#52 of 437 in Kochi (Cochin)
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Castle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Castle

Property: Hotel Fort Castle
Address: Rose Lane | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 437 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,223 - ₹ 3,090
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fort Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Castle is a new boutique hotel in the heart of Fort Kochi. Explore the glorious past of Fort Kochi where history, time and tradition meet by staying at Fort Castle which comprise of 10 elegantly furnished, smartly designed rooms providing you with stylish comfort and modern amenities. Be it Chinese Fishing Nets or St Francis Church (where Vasco da Gama was once buried) or Kochi beach, all are located within walking distance from hotel. Soak in the history by walking through the streets lined with mixture of old houses built by the Portuguese, Dutch and British in the colonial periods. Quality service, value for money and personal attention are always assured. Set near the warm, welcoming environment of the reception Casanova - Hotels Bar Cum Restaurant offers you with the best settling for a leisurely meal. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner Casanova offers an a la carte with the best of continental, Indian and Kerala delicacies. With emphasis on variety, freshness and quality to patrons, The Casanova is the perfect place to indulge in best gastronomic exoticism and culinary pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Fort Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Castle Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing