We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“True to the definition of a "HOMEstay"!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazar Residency Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lazar Residency Homestay
Ranked #25 of 408 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“True to the definition of a "HOMEstay"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We are a European couple, living in Hong Kong and we stayed at Joy and Jaicy's place for four nights in January 2012.
The place is really clean, simple and beautiful, with a nice terrace, it's in a very good location of Fort Cochin, extremely close to the very touristic Princess Street, all old churches, temples, Fort Cochin beach and the Chinese fishing nets, palaces and tourist spots, restaurants etc., very near to the Post Office (you can buy and send postcards home from there), walking distance from the ferry (jetty) to Ernakulam, Vypin Island and all other important places in the area.
Now the hosts are really friendly, nice and warm people. Joy's parents, Lazar and Margaret are a really beautiful couple, and Anju and David - their kids are a total joy!:) Everyone really makes you feel welcome, at home, they are easy-going, and they truly go out of their way to help you. Before we left Hong Kong, we needed to book some bus and train tickets in advance, since our whole itinerary was more complex, and we got lost in the maze of the Indian booking system, so Jaicy did everything for us. We paid for the tickets and everything else after having arrived in Kochi. They are honest, giving, generous people and they are an extraordinarily beautiful family. After our trip in Kochi, at a certain point we also reached Trivandrum and we spent a few days in a homestay, as well, and, as nice as it really was, it lacked the warmth and personalised service that Lazar Homestay offers.
Every day in the morning they make breakfast for you and they are so sweet in that they adjust it to your needs, you can have it at any time you are ready. This was also an important aspect for us because, at times, we were really tired and wanted to wake up late or, some other times, we had to wake up early in order to explore some new places or reach a destination we might have had in mind. Coming back to breakfast:), it is authentic Keralite food, homemade and so tasty...: dosa (South Indian pancake), poori bhaji (puffed bread with vegetables), puttu and kadala curry (a rice flour roll with chickpeas cooked in Kerala style), fruit, tea or South Indian coffee, roti/chapatti and vegetables etc. Joy and Jaicy always help with whatever advice you need while in Kochi.
To us, they were the perfect hosts and we did feel a part of their family!

We truly recommend their homestay to anyone who wants to spend some time in Kochi.

Room Tip: You might be interested in the room that has a balcony or another one that has access to the terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobby_g_6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
54
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

me and my husband,we stay at lazar residence and we spend a lovelly time there.the rooms are big and perfectly clean,and the mr.joy and all the familly are warm and very kind.the place is very quite and near of interesting places to visit.s.t cruz church,museam gulbenkian,chinese nets,fort cochim,etc.we felt at home.we wish all the best to lazaar familly.and we hope one day return there.

Room Tip: we try 2 diferents rooms both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anavello66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Well having spent five weeks with Joy, Jaicy and Family I feel I am in good position to give an honest and concise review of the home stay.
Firstly, I wish I had stayed longer, had it not been for family commitments I would have. Initially I chose Lazar because of the friendly manner in which they replied to my questions and emails. Other well known homestays I had contact with in Fort Cochin lacked a personal touch and seemed not bothered whether I stayed or not.
I started my research and contact with Joy and Jaicy a few months before departure and I am very glad that I had found them.
They arranged transfers for me and were there for my every need, they also gave me very good advice on places to visit and places to eat. They didn't try to push packages on me and activly encouraged my desire to get off the beaten track and away from popular tourist trips.
There are plenty of places to eat around the Fort, but honestly Jaicys cooking is up there with the best places I visited (beef roast was formidable).
Knowing that I was missing my daughter, the whole family made me feel one of the gang and I admit I had a smile on my face every day.

Lazar is a wonderful place to stay, my only regret is that I have to share it with you! as when I next visit, due to how many good reviews Lazars get, I can see that they become a first choice without need to research further. Meaning I will be sleeping on the roof.

I had a wonderful time here and Lazars is a fantastic place to use as a base to stop whilst you explore the rest of Kerala and I can't wait to see them again.

Mark Weyman, Gloucestershire.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Very friendly hosts. Rooms are good, location- excelent.
The food for breakfact, made by Jessy and Joy is great.
We came back after trip, as our prfered choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Lazar has the best location! Its not on the main road and Jaicy and Joy are one of the most helpful couples.
Joy asked us about our plans and informed us of the most economical and cheapest ways to get around. the bathroom was exceptionally clean, basic amentites were provided.
The breakfast was included too and it was really tasty. Maps are easily available, Wi-Fi is available too!
All the sightseeing places are pretty cluttered around the homestay and you can easily get around on your own.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACapriciousCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 km away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#12 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 km away
Aaron's Homestay
Aaron's Homestay
#19 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 km away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#16 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 km away
Casa Mia Homestay
Casa Mia Homestay
#22 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.6 km away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#27 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazar Residency Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazar Residency Homestay

Property: Lazar Residency Homestay
Address: House No 1/911, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 408 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,297 - ₹ 1,911
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lazar Residency Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazar Residency Homestay offers a home-like ambience for visitors to the historic town of Fort Cochin. It is close to all the must-visit spots. We will make your stay enjoyable; the budget-friendly rates ensure you get value for your money. A stay at Lazar Residency will add to the charm of the once-in-a-lifetime experience of exploring Fort Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lazar Residency Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazar Residency Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing