We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prems Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prems Homestay
Ranked #178 of 425 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

My Son and I were travelling from Cochin down to the very south tip of India and this was our first stop in Cochin. We had requested homestays as well as Hotels and this was our first stop. The owners could not have been more helpful and friendly. We were invited into their house and ate breakfast in their dining room a homemade choice of eggs toast and jam etc. Our room was upstairs and had a shared lounge and balcony for us to relax on, not that we had alot of time to!! We met the father of the lady hostess, who lived next door, and also other family and friends who were just as friendly and helpful as she was They even changed us some money at the local bank rate with no extra charges. As it was part of a planned trip I don't know how much it is to stay here but would thoroughly recommend it as a real insight into Indian family life and generosity.
The location is brilliant for the sea, shops and churches etc. and good restuarants right near the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

Very clean and comfortable. A bragin at Rs 700 for a room. Breakfast extra, on request.

Very central and just no more than 200m to the Kathkalli play each evening at the old theatre.
Best value stay during our say in southern India. Our hostess, Cynthia, is lovely.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynamic_Digger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

I Travelled for 2 months across Russia, The Middle East , Pakistan and India (And this was my 2nd trip to India) and this was by far my favourite place I stayed in! Ran by a lovely family that were the most helpful I have ever met and so nice! Also, a very nice room at a VERY good price! Also, a good location and travel to, from and around Kochi can be arranged and advised on by Prem, a very knowledgable man! The home cooking is also very, very good!

Stay here and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Callumwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sucé sur Erdre
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Personnels really helpful. I had problems with local people in Kochi and the owner of this hotel just helped me to get an expensive camera back. Without his help nothing would have been possible. He never hesitated to help me at 2 am. Incredible people in that homestay.
Definitely the place to be for any service in Kochi

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k4sh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

I really enjoyed my time at Prem's. Prem and Cynthia couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating: they arranged tours, gave me advice on how to pack boxes so they'd be accepted by the post office and gave advice on the best places to shop to avoid rip offs. I stayed at Prem's twice and stayed in two different rooms. Both rooms had no a/c (it's pretty muggy in FC so this was a disadvantage) but powerful fans. The rooms were basic but clean and the second room i stayed in had the added luxury of a hot shower. The balcony areas are great for a quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of town. I'd definitely recommend Prem's for those on a budget as FC is an expensive corner of India. What you save on accommodation you can spend on delicious Keralan fish dishes!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jersey_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.1 km away
Kapithan's Inn
Kapithan's Inn
#182 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 km away
Rampart Homestay
Rampart Homestay
#4 of 415 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 km away
Mother Tree B&B
Mother Tree B&B
#42 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Honolulu Home HomeStay
Honolulu Home HomeStay
#31 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.4 km away
Noah's Ark Homestay
Noah's Ark Homestay
#27 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 km away
XL Homestay
XL Homestay
#49 of 425 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prems Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prems Homestay

Property: Prems Homestay
Address: Njaliparambu Junction, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 425 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 851 - ₹ 1,178
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Prems Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prems Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing