We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison Casero Home Stay
Ranked #52 of 451 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very comfortable stay at this place. The room and the entire place was nice and clean. Owners were very nice person and really helpful. We were there when demonitisation hit India, we had old currency and no one was ready to take those. At that time they understood our difficulties and not only they accepted old currencies for rent, they arranged for car to Munnar who would take old currency. So really grateful to them and specially to the landlady.
From a travellers perspective, all the tourist spots are within walking distance of 5-10mins at max. There are couple of cool resturants nearby the stay.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anupam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

My friend and I stayed at Maison Casero for 2 nights in early March 2017. Everything about this homestay was wonderful. The hosts, Priya and Jaison, were charming, helpful, and thoroughly enjoyable. Our room was on the 1st floor (not the ground floor), with a balcony surrounding it at which there was a table, and where we had our breakfast delivered. The room was a good size, even with the beds as 2 twins. Everything was clean and neat. The location of the house is perfect, right at the crossroads of two alleys in the residential district at the heart of Fort Kochi, near the Basilica. This gives an interesting vantage point for seeing the life of this unique area; but is also very quiet. Only the crows might wake you. Easy walking distance to restaurants, and to the beach with the Chinese fishing nets. They have 2 rooms total.

To me, this homestay was exactly what a good homestay should be. Simple, clean, comfortable, friendly, well-located and affordable. We could not have been more pleased with it, and cannot imagine finding one better. Do not hesitate to reserve here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bookmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

This is such a lovely home stay. The room is clean and bright, with air con and a fan. It has a beautiful balcony with a nice view of the narrow paths which connect the houses in this quaint and unusual area. It has a European feel about it.

Sleeping was a little difficult as the noise from outside can get quite loud during the night. Dogs barking and there seemed to be some loud chanting or praying going on nearby in the early hours every night. But it is located in the centre of town so some noise is to be expected.

The location is perfect, walking distance from the ferry and the galleries and nice shops.

The hosts are friendly and helpful and very accommodating.

I wish we could have stayed longer but I will definitely come back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Martha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 February 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

I had a really great time (2 nights) at Maison Casero. The rooms are nice, clean, bright, spacious and have good AC. The location is ideal to explore Fort Cochin and to enjoy some nice cultural program in the nearby Kerala Kathakali Centre. It’s situated in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. The homemade Keralan breakfast is delicious. The whole family is really lovely… each of them (the two kids included) are very friendly, helpful and do everything to make their guests feel like home. I would definitely stay again at this place to enjoy the hospitality and warm-hearted atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
2  Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Maison Casero is run by a lovely family who were extraordinarily helpful and generous with their time - finding a place for us at another place when an upcoming booking inexplicably cancelled and sharing stories of their life and family in Ft. Kochi. Getting to know them was certainly the highlight. Each time we returned there, in the midst of our trip and at the end, it felt like coming home. The location is very convenient to many of the sites, good restaurants, shopping, and the lodgings were perfectly fine - It is not luxurious and is modestly priced but was honestly our favorite place out of many where we stayed during our trip. In fact, in terms of value, it far surpassed a much more expensive place that was frankly awful, but which was trying to be something it wasn't. Mary

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P5072CXmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaisonmathew, Owner at Maison Casero Home Stay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2016

Thank you Mary for your inspiring words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.3 km away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#19 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
112 reviews
0.3 km away
Fort Bridge View Homestay
Fort Bridge View Homestay
#20 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
113 reviews
0.4 km away
Elim Homestay
Elim Homestay
#22 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
162 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Fort Castle
Hotel Fort Castle
#135 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
123 reviews
0.2 km away
Nena's Inn
Nena's Inn
#77 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Casero Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Casero Home Stay

Address: H Fosse Road | Opposite Fatima School, Kottavalappu, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 1,431 - ₹ 1,626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home in the heritage town of Fort Cochin, calm & quiet place and stay with a little family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Maison Casero Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Casero Home Stay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing