We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Tissa's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tissa's Inn
Ranked #8 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Tissa's Inn is a gem in the heart of Old Cochin. Immaulate rooms, fantastic staff and exceptional food combine to make Tissa's a first rate, pleasurable experience. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    148
    23
    5
    0
See reviews for
164
340
62
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I must agree with the other reviewers that all the staff at Tissa's Inn was very friendly and helpful. The service was on a par with 5-star luxury hotels: Our room was comfortable and clean; The Indian breakfast was delicious; We took the hotel car from the airport. On the way, the driver told us many interesting facts about the city, and slowed down when we're nearby beautiful sights; We were flying out on an evening flight, and the manager Francis allowed us to use the room until the evening (as opposed to the standard checkout time at noon).

The hotel is conveniently located. It's less than 10 minutes' walk from the Chinese fishing nets. We felt safe walking from the shore area back to the hotel at night. The hotel's elegant, traditional-style furniture and decoration made the experience even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2012

From the time we arrived to the time we departed, the personal attention we received was excellent and went beyond the call of duty. We felt at home within an hour of our arrival.
The establishment was very clean and any special request we made was immediately attended to. We arrived late one night from being out and felt like having tea. Restaurants in the area were closed, the front desk staff opened the kitchen and made us tea. What more can I say.
Thanks very much to the GM, Francis who was always around and always with a smile. Talking about smiles, Sanita (hope my spelling is correct?) was wonderful and has a smile that will brighten any day.
Looking forward to a revisit in the near future. Allan, Jordan and Tina. Toronto, Canada.

Room Tip: Small and Cozy Inn...all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlMenash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Being here my second time on an extended stay has been such a pleasant experience. I have received all time kindness and courtesy from the staff.

Francis, Cristina, Sanihta and the rest of the staff made me feel so much at home.
They ensure service is excellent in this hotel, stylishly decorated by the owner, a wonderful leading antique dealer. Highly individual pieces of functional and decorative furniture give a sense of being invited into someone's home.

The level of cleanliness in this hotel is first class.It is an excellent hotel, with great facilities. A quiet, tastefully decorated hotel within easy walking of the main attractions of Fort Cochin, amazing breakfast, tasty food in the restaurant, great staff, spectacular rooms…One of the best hotels I have been to.

I had an enjoyable stay and the staff know I´m missing them.  I love the hotel and the staff.
If any traveler is thinking about Cochin, don't hesitate to stay here, is the best choice. I will be staying at this hotel ever time I am in Cochin.

Highly recommended. Keep up the great work!

Thank you Johny, Francis, Cris, Sanitha and the rest of the staff for your hospitality, would recommend always anyone for an extended stay in your establishment.

Looking forward to seeing you all of you very soon!

Warm Regards,

Olga from Barcelona

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank real187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The staff was sooo nice here. We were very impressed on how clean and nice the hotel and rooms are. I would say it was the cleanest place in all of India. The breakfast was excellent for both Indian and western dishes. I would definitely stay here again! The pool on the roof was just the icing on the cake!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.5 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
0.9 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#1 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 km away
Sajhome
Sajhome
#4 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
10.0 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
3.7 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tissa's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tissa's Inn

Property: Tissa's Inn
Address: 1 / 1128, Kunnumpuram | Fort Cochin, Ernakulam (Dt), Kerala, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,554 - ₹ 8,595
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tissa's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tissa’s Inn is a boutique hotel housed in a mansion that belonged to the erstwhile Adv. V.K. Hamza, a lawyer and philanthropist of high repute. The mansion now has 9 air conditioned rooms, a 24 seater restaurant serving fresh seafood- Indian and Continental style, an open-to-the-sky swimming pool on the deck, a yoga and meditation center that nestles among the verdant tree tops and is rated one of the best accommodations in Cochin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Tissa's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tissa's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing