We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Ranked #179 of 202 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great potential”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Potentially this is one of the best hotels in Fort Cochin. With its seaview and the constant flow of shipping there's always something to look at. Even the Natural Gas tanks across the water add a certain sparkle at night. It's also very handy for the local sights.

We stayed for a couple of nights at the end of March in one of the larger, first floor rooms. There was a certain amount of confusion at check in. We didn't really seem expected but were offered an upgraded room when the confusion was sorted out. This turned out to be a lower grade than we'd actually booked and prepaid for but after a chat with the manager everything was amicably resolved.

The staff are uniformly friendly, helpful and mildly eccentric - all of which adds to the charm of the place. Food is adequate but we chose to eat dinner elsewhere. Free WiFi throughout the hotel but it isn't always actually connected to the Internet which can be a trifle frustrating.

The house is lovely but in need of some TLC. Reception is very attractive but everywhere else needs a lick of paint. The restaurant is on a veranda overlooking the sea but the potential of this is simply not realised. The drain in our shower was blocked but a bit of DIY soon removed the hair that was clogging it. It clearly hadn't been touched for months.

For military enthusiasts the southern end of the hotel overlooks the guard post on the adjoining military base and there is an impressive display of naval gunnery on view.

We'd certainly consider visiting again but would hope to see some improvement.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    146
    45
    24
    17
See reviews for
119
193
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel after spending 3 weeks touring india - and what a disappointment! The service is appalling, when we arrived no one greeted us or told us what was happening - when we left we ordered a car for the airport at 6.15am - they rang our room at 6am to tell us the car had arrived, when we got to reception they told us it wasn't our car and they hadn't ordered ours! The pool is dirty and the jacuzzi looks although it died years ago. Breakfast is non existent and the chefs looked as though they hadn't washed for days. It's impossible to sleep as the air conditioning is so noisy - save your money - we have previously stayed at the Malabar House which is 100 times better!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidleeNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear davidleeNewcastle,
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize if you were not greeted at the front office and welcomed as is the norm in every hotel including ours. I find this highly unusual. I also sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding with the driver as the other guest just jumped in while we were attending to you. I hope the 15 minute delay did not cost you, your flight. The chefs being inappropriately dressed is a matter of great concern and the breakfast also not being up to your specified standards is something that we will address as we have not received complaints in the recent past about our breakfast. We will make a best attempt to look after the air condition as most of our rooms are centrally air conditioned and I assume you would have stayed in the room which did not have one. Having an online review and making sure we live up to high standards is a matter of professional delivery that we hope to live up to. We however never compare ourselves to anyone or claim to do so on our website. We are observing a trend here that has been reported into the management of the hotel that will need unbiased analysis. We look forward to serving you well in the future to your expected standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked at the lastminute due to general strike. Stayed February 27th in 2 rooms, 1 in the main building and a pool villa. We found the large rooms to be very clean, well appointed with great bathrooms with proper baths.
Free wifi throughout the hotel including in the rooms which makes a welcome change from some larger hotel chains. The beds were very large and very comfortable, I was told they had been imported from the US. Staff were charming and helpful. There was a good choice at breakfast and I would stay here again.

If there is one thing holding this property back it is the lack of a liquor license although I understand this is to be granted soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear JPXC,
Thank you so much for your review. We now are officially having a liquor license, so we can serve our valuable customers like you and any more that you would recommend!!!!

The Lighthouse Lounge, the Vinocean and the Bristows Bristow will now be more enjoyable with sea views and breeze with a drink of your choice. We strive to make you feel at home at the Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel. If there is anything that I can do for you please feel free to get in touch with me at vghorpade@suvira.com, so I can make your stay more enjoyable and customized to meet your requirements.

Vikram Ghorpade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

While well located, we found this hotel not a great choice for the cost. Although bedrooms were nicely furnished, but the hotel seemed a bit rundown - places actually seemed dirty. The pool area was not clean, the tile in the pool slimy and slippery.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at the Old Lighthouse for three nights, the first two in a bungalow close to the pool and the third within the main house. The property is superbly positioned and of historical interest. Both rooms were clean, well managed and comfortable if a little tired. The hotel does not have a licence to sell alcohol but we were assured that this is a fault that is to be corrected shortly. Meals are taken on the verandah which enjoys wonderful views across the estuary (sadly to a natural gas storage plant) and the passage of ships gave an added interest.
The food was perfectly adequate if not dazzlingly exciting but the service was slow and very deliberate.
The staf were, without exception, charming and smiley but one gained the impression that their training was not quite finished.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return. We gained the impression that the management were keen to improve the service they provide.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are probably the better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear CodfordWanderer,

Thank yo so much for staying with us at the Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel. The sea views at the Bristows Bristow and Lighthouse Lounge have always had a special place in people's heart; especially the evening sunset, wherein we have a number of walk in's from the surrounding area visiting us for the view. I sincerely apologize for the service not meeting your standards in term of speed, and we hope to get them to a level where in you would be satisfied the next time you visit us. We do have a liquor license and it would be a pleasure to host you or your friends and family in the near future. Please drop me a line at vghorpade@suvira.com so I can customize your stay to meet your requirements in the most appropriate fashion including a tour of Kerala if the need be. It is for a reason that this place is called God's own country!!!

Thanks & Best Regards,
Vikram Ghorpade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 km away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#73 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.7 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.2 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Tissa's Inn
Tissa's Inn
#8 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.7 km away
The Old Courtyard
The Old Courtyard
#35 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.1 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#10 of 202 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel

Property: Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Address: Beach Road, | next to INS Dronacharya, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#47 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,331 - ₹ 13,576
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic luxury heritage boutique hotel in Fort Kochi. This is the latest treasure that has been created with great outdoor dining by the sea, one of the only spas that offers both western and traditional treatments in the area, and an infinity pool with great views of the sea and the English style garden. The indoor lounge is fantastic for a relaxing evening. The lighthouse bears witness to many a ship passing by and the ships that sail by seem to walk into the property. The hotel was the residence of the founder of Cochin port Sir Robert Bristow and has been receiving great reviews from all its guests. The hotel is a true sanctuary to relax and rediscover yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Yatra, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing