We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Le Meridien Kochi(Maradu)
US$ 99
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 209
US$ 102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trident, Cochin(Kochi (Cochin))
US$ 83
US$ 74
Trident Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Kochi(Ernakulam)
US$ 93
US$ 66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 45
US$ 37
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palm Grove Service Villa(Ernakulam)(Great Value!)
US$ 21
US$ 18
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 111
US$ 76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherai Beach Resorts(Cherai Beach)
US$ 53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
301
178
52
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
178
52
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarabian sealight housesir robertpoolside villafort cochinwatch dolphinsthe chinese fishing netslovely hotelthe general managerswimming poolsmall hotelnice poolstayed for nightswarm hospitalityrestaurant staffspecial thanksrooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
457 - 462 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We have just spent 2 nights in this hotel after spending 3 weeks touring india - and what a disappointment! The service is appalling, when we arrived no one greeted us or told us what was happening - when we left we ordered a car for the airport at 6.15am - they rang our room at 6am to tell us the car had arrived, when we got to reception they told us it wasn't our car and they hadn't ordered ours! The pool is dirty and the jacuzzi looks although it died years ago. Breakfast is non existent and the chefs looked as though they hadn't washed for days. It's impossible to sleep as the air conditioning is so noisy - save your money - we have previously stayed at the Malabar House which is 100 times better!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidleeNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear davidleeNewcastle,
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize if you were not greeted at the front office and welcomed as is the norm in every hotel including ours. I find this highly unusual. I also sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding with the driver as the other guest just jumped in while we were attending to you. I hope the 15 minute delay did not cost you, your flight. The chefs being inappropriately dressed is a matter of great concern and the breakfast also not being up to your specified standards is something that we will address as we have not received complaints in the recent past about our breakfast. We will make a best attempt to look after the air condition as most of our rooms are centrally air conditioned and I assume you would have stayed in the room which did not have one. Having an online review and making sure we live up to high standards is a matter of professional delivery that we hope to live up to. We however never compare ourselves to anyone or claim to do so on our website. We are observing a trend here that has been reported into the management of the hotel that will need unbiased analysis. We look forward to serving you well in the future to your expected standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked at the lastminute due to general strike. Stayed February 27th in 2 rooms, 1 in the main building and a pool villa. We found the large rooms to be very clean, well appointed with great bathrooms with proper baths.
Free wifi throughout the hotel including in the rooms which makes a welcome change from some larger hotel chains. The beds were very large and very comfortable, I was told they had been imported from the US. Staff were charming and helpful. There was a good choice at breakfast and I would stay here again.

If there is one thing holding this property back it is the lack of a liquor license although I understand this is to be granted soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear JPXC,
Thank you so much for your review. We now are officially having a liquor license, so we can serve our valuable customers like you and any more that you would recommend!!!!

The Lighthouse Lounge, the Vinocean and the Bristows Bristow will now be more enjoyable with sea views and breeze with a drink of your choice. We strive to make you feel at home at the Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel. If there is anything that I can do for you please feel free to get in touch with me at vghorpade@suvira.com, so I can make your stay more enjoyable and customized to meet your requirements.

Vikram Ghorpade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

While well located, we found this hotel not a great choice for the cost. Although bedrooms were nicely furnished, but the hotel seemed a bit rundown - places actually seemed dirty. The pool area was not clean, the tile in the pool slimy and slippery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at the Old Lighthouse for three nights, the first two in a bungalow close to the pool and the third within the main house. The property is superbly positioned and of historical interest. Both rooms were clean, well managed and comfortable if a little tired. The hotel does not have a licence to sell alcohol but we were assured that this is a fault that is to be corrected shortly. Meals are taken on the verandah which enjoys wonderful views across the estuary (sadly to a natural gas storage plant) and the passage of ships gave an added interest.
The food was perfectly adequate if not dazzlingly exciting but the service was slow and very deliberate.
The staf were, without exception, charming and smiley but one gained the impression that their training was not quite finished.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return. We gained the impression that the management were keen to improve the service they provide.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are probably the better choice.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CodfordWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear CodfordWanderer,

Thank yo so much for staying with us at the Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel. The sea views at the Bristows Bristow and Lighthouse Lounge have always had a special place in people's heart; especially the evening sunset, wherein we have a number of walk in's from the surrounding area visiting us for the view. I sincerely apologize for the service not meeting your standards in term of speed, and we hope to get them to a level where in you would be satisfied the next time you visit us. We do have a liquor license and it would be a pleasure to host you or your friends and family in the near future. Please drop me a line at vghorpade@suvira.com so I can customize your stay to meet your requirements in the most appropriate fashion including a tour of Kerala if the need be. It is for a reason that this place is called God's own country!!!

Thanks & Best Regards,
Vikram Ghorpade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the old lighthouse for 3 nights
The hotel is clean beautiful decorated rooms, stuff friendly and helpful.
Very close to the Princes Street (shopping and restaurants)
The hotel is on the beach (great view)
Restaurant at the hotel OK food (there are better places around)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mnaor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickram99, Owner at Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Mnaor,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel. We strive to make you feel at home and make you feel welcome and well taken care of. I sincerely appreciate the 5/5 ratings we have received from you, as it motivates us to see our guests leave with a smile on their faces. We do have a liquor license and it would be a pleasure to host you and your family and friends if they do visit Kerala. We would be glad to customize their stay or travel in Kerala if they do wish to make a booking with us. The seaviews at the Bristows Bristow or the Lighthouse Lounge will surely leave them with splendid memories. Please drop me a line at vghorpade@suvira.com and it would be an honor to take care of any of your needs.

Thanks & Best Regards,
Vikram Ghorpade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews