We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place but some rooms are overpriced”
Review of Spencer Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spencer Home
Ranked #116 of 436 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place but some rooms are overpriced”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This place has a good reputation - it is certainly friendly but like many places in Kochi is now overpriced. There is certainly a freedom in the place around a central courtyard but rooms 8 to 12 (or is it 11?) are overpriced at Rs 2000, being small with inadequate bathrooms and noisy fans.

Room Tip: Room 3 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham040642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    34
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
11
25
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

to be fair, the hotel itself is quite nice, an old colonial builing converted into a hotel. Our room was fairly large and clean, so thought it was overpriced. In general the staff was friendly.
We had booked a taxi to the airport trough the hotel, the taxi arrived half an hour late so we almost missed our flight. On departure from the hotel, we were already nervous, the receptionist jumped into the car because he wanted a ride. The taxidriver told us later that the receptionist had changed our departure time from the hotel by half an later. This beaviour is simply not acceptable

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjuergenHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This place saved the day for us when we missed our Mumbai connection and rerouted through Trivandrum during high season. We drove up, arriving late and Delight Homestay had given away our room without notification (I had no cell phone and I couldn't make it to a computer after a multi hour flight negotiation- when I finally got to a phone they were rude to boot).

Spencer House took us in at 11pm and quickly situated us. Unfortunately, it was an indoor room with no window (it did have AC, which we didn't use) but we were charged 2500Rps, twice what Lonely Planet noted- tho they claimed the extra cost was due to high season and a very large room (true, but room had no windows). They threw in breakfast (which most people do not receive included so clear it before booking), at which we noticed the lovely rooms off the garden, where food is served. Only problem we saw with these rooms were circulation vents above the doors had screens so you could prob hear loud neighbors at night/morning. Indoor room was spacious and clean and bathroom was clean tho small. Towel set by bathroom floor was dirty. Towels were beyond rough, more like scouring pads, tho clean.

Breakfast in the garden was good. Free wifi, tho it was very weak and only worked from the indoor lounge room.

Centrally located in lovely Fort Cochi, 1 block from lots of shops, a great bookstore and restaurants, 2 blocks to Chinese fishing nets (catch them at dawn or dusk in real action).

The boy working helped us arrange a car to Munnar, tho it was a bit pricey, 2500Rps, but the driver was skilled on crazy mountain roads.

Most annoying thing about Cochi (not the homestay) was every tuktuk "throwing in" a shop on the ride. We were in a rush to see the town and it just got annoying to tell EVERY driver we just want to go straight to the site we wanted. We've been in India a month almost and know the commission drill. Sometimes people in India don't want to shop. Seriously. Second point is that although we were rushed it didn't seem that fort Cochin itself and the close area warranted much more than a day. Is Ernakulum interesting? We had to leave, so will not know. But the sights of Cochin are more quaint and charming than alluring. Great chill vibe to the city, except of course the tuk tuk driver hassle

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbodht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

it is too expensive for what they offer! We paid 1800 IRS including breakfast. And we had very very dirty sheets and even the glasses we got for breakfast haven't been clean. The sheets looked as if they are not able to be cleaned anymore. They haven't been very friendly and didn't excuse for their mistakes. So we moved to "Delight" next door, which was more than excellent- for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kriq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Spent 5 nights here and it was pleasant, rooms set around a small garden. Mosquito coils are distributed every night, the food is ok and the staff very friendly. The laundry service is very reasonable. Only downside was the lack of fresh air in the rooms, there is a ceiling fan but even with that on full our room was warm and stuffy so we didnt get the greatest nights sleep.

There are a few place similar to this in Fort Cochin, old house, wood furniture, colonial charm, so it might be worth checking out a few. But for a decent place, clean and homely this one is good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaffer1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.0 km away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#14 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
235 reviews
0.0 km away
The Fort Bungalow
The Fort Bungalow
#7 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
157 reviews
0.0 km away
The Hotel Elegance
The Hotel Elegance
#2 of 2 in Angamaly
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
407 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Meridien Kochi
Le Meridien Kochi
#2 of 3 in Maradu
982 reviews
0.0 km away
Good Karma inn
Good Karma inn
#3 of 436 in Kochi (Cochin)
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer Home? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer Home

Property: Spencer Home
Address: 1/298 Cochin Residency Parade Road | Fort Kochi, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 436 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,778 - ₹ 3,488
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the center of Fort Cochin, Spencer Home is a Colonial House with 11 comfortable, clean rooms in good condition. Well maintained historical building with ample hall and a nice inner courtyard surrounded by guest rooms. Air conditioned and non-AC double bed rooms available at affordable prices.We have a well maintained beautiful garden which is surrounded by rooms for guests. This gives a calm cosy environment midst nature and a good place to relax and enjoy your time here. Non-AC double bed rooms are available at the garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Spencer Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer Home Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing