We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome in Cochin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reds Residency Homestay
Ranked #42 of 451 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We received a very warm welcome at this guesthouse in Cochin, situated 15 mins walk from the town. The room was clean, large bathroom, cable tv and a very comfortable bed. The family speak excellent English and are very helpful with organizing transport and recommending places to eat and visit. They have wifi.
We had tea on arrival and fresh juices before we left again in the morning. We found Cochin expensive after our time in Varkala, however enjoyed our stay here immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I spent my first night in India at Maryann's and Philip's place, then took some days around in Kerala, and came back on my last day at their place. I enjoyed the stay at Reds Residency. I got two different rooms, both very clean, both with AC. Maryann served great food at breakfast and tea times, and provided me with plenty of advices to make my stay wonderful.
I really like the atmosphere and hospitality and recommend that place if you plan to stay in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papillon_vlinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Do to the fact that not all `Home Stay` residencies in the Province of Kerale - or in Fort Kochi for that matter - are referring to the same hi standard of room condition and service, I find it most relevant to put in a few word for Reds Residency in Fort Kochi / Cohin.
I’ve stayed in this residence - owned and carefully run by the extremely nice and informative plus very helpful English speaking couple, Philip and Mary Ann – for two periods, 11 days in total.
From my first arrival – with a noisy taxi driver at half past four o’clock in the morning – I felt welcome.
The rooms including the integrated bathrooms are exactly like you want rooms in India to be – big ones with high sealing and all equipped with a fan, air-condition and very comfortable beds.
The Reds do have my full respect, and should I ever return to Fort Kochi / Cohin I would not hesitate to give them a call and ask for one of their nicely decorated beautiful rooms.

Tage Seier Mikkelsen
Denmark

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We Indians are yet to catch on to the culture of staying at homestays than those highly overpriced luxury hotels :) I love homestays basically because it so warm to have like minded people around, curious tourists and lovely hosts. Reds Residency happened by chance, I chose the place for my two day stay in Fort Kochi and I must tell you that I would stay there everytime I revisit the city. Maryann is already a close friend and I have shared life's big secrets with her already :) She is lovely and makes you feel like one in the family. The hosts are extremely caring and do not invade your privacy. They are also very cool about the tariffs as I stayed for one and a half day and they cancelled a booking just for me. Usually I would end up paying for two days but I paid up only for one and a half day. Maryann makes sure you are fed well :) and really pampers you. She is your perfect guide to the city and you won't get a more vibrant one. The rooms are spick and span, modest and comfortable. It is also pretty close to all places in Fort Kochi, you wont have a problem going around. I didn't have the food but I can vouch that it would have been real good going with the standards they maintain. So if you are in Fort Kochi..go to Reds Residency.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LekshmiNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Phillip and MaryAnn were wonderful hosts, who took time to discuss and plan a full week long stay in Kerela. We stayed at their homestay for two of the nights; The rooms were excellent with AC, and a nice clean bathroom. The breakfasts were good with lots to eat. Phillip helped to arrange a car to take us to Periyar, as well as suggested the place to stay, which was amazing. He also arranged the backwater boat tour, which was great, although if you are looking for a high-class boat, make sure to tell him and I'm sure he will arrange it for you, of course for a higher price. The boat we had was fine, but not the newest or cleanest. The chef, captain, and boatman were all wonderful and friendly and we had some truly memorable times for the two days were on the lakes. Thank you Phillip and Family for a wonderful stay in Fort Cochin.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REDSFORT, Owner at Reds Residency Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for your review, we look forward to having your friends and family visit us in the future too. Thank you once again for your wonderful advice given to us against the experience your family had while on the Kerala tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.4 km away
Green Woods-Bethlehem
Green Woods-Bethlehem
#19 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
428 reviews
1.2 km away
Namasthe Fort Kochi
Namasthe Fort Kochi
#13 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
156 reviews
1.0 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#4 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#42 of 212 in Kochi (Cochin)
297 reviews
1.3 km away
Fortkochi Beach Inn
Fortkochi Beach Inn
#8 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
149 reviews
1.0 km away
Bastian HomeStay
Bastian HomeStay
#3 of 451 in Kochi (Cochin)
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reds Residency Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reds Residency Homestay

Address: 11/372 A K J Herschel Road | Near Dronacharya Main Gate, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 451 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: ₹ 782 - ₹ 2,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reds Residency Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reds Residency has 5 double rooms, all of which are spacious and have attached bathrooms. There is also a luxury suite, which includes a living room, kitchen and bathroom. In addition to a warm and friendly welcome from the hosts, and first class service throughout your stay, the following are also present: homemade Indian and Continental breakfast; a tour and activity booking desk; laundry facilities; free wi-fi internet access; a range of books and magazines. The facilities and service available are of the highest quality. Staying at Reds Residency Home stay whilst exploring the area is perfect for really getting to know people here. As well as having the all of the luxuries that you would expect to find in a star hotel, you get the added benefit of receiving the warm care and service of being within a family environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Reds Residency Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reds Residency Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Reds Residency Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing