We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Disappointing after hype of guide books” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sui House Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sui House Homestay
Ranked #58 of 408 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing after hype of guide books”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

Attractive period building with large rooms (in need of electrical rewiring) and some fine antique furniture pieces. Owners not particularly helpful (no assistance offered with suitcases; seemed irritated at our 10.30am arrival; check in delayed until afternoon when electricity was still being repaired in our room). Sleepless first night as air-con was not functioning (mended the next day) and noisy fan. We looked forward to the special Kerala breakfast mentioned in guide books but were disappointed. Each morning we ate alone – limited fruit (bananas/oranges), tea in a thermos, and bread. No offer of a cooked Indian breakfast. More an impersonal guest house than a homestay. Disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Kumar's family was friendly and accomodating and made me feel welcome in their home. The Sui House is a lovely art deco house which has been beautifully and tastefully decorated with antiqie. The lighting and rich wall colours add to the atmosphere of the house. Breakfast is included and was delicious and different each morning. I really enjoyed staying here, meeting the family and sleeping in the really comfortble bed! I definitely reccomend this place to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the home of Pauline and Kumar at Sui house and Fort Cochin, the experience was without doubt one of the highlights of our trip to India.
The room itself was beautiful, stylish and very large and the home was gorgeous too; filled with antiques creating a classic and unique feel which felt very homely at the same time. The location was excellent for exploring Jew town/Mantancherry and Cochin while providing a peaceful haven to return to. The lovely hosts, Pauline and Kumar were very accommodating, extremely helpful and very friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic. Sui house is a real gem and we would recommend it to anyone looking for an interesting and tranquil place to stay in a gorgeous setting a stones throw from Jew Town and Fort Cochin's main attractions. A Wonderful place!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillyFlipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

We had such a nice time here. It is a gorgeous property and the house is full of exquisite pieces. Make use of the knowledge and advice that Pauline and Kumar impart. The breakfst is amazing! Pauline is the best cook in the world!!!!!! Coffee is great. They are lovely people, the place is great. There is no reason why you would stay anywhere else in Kochi. Ruth and Al

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingfisherMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

My partner and I travelled on an impulse to Cochin for a few days at teh end of August. Being monsoon, the trip was beatiful for photography and exploration during the days we spent in Cochin. Quite by co-incidence, we found out about a beautiful house that was offered as a bed and breakfast to explorers of the little city Sui House, that is owned and managed by the fantastic Mr and Mrs Kumar. The house itself is really old and has so much character and the interior has been lovinly restored and furnished by Mr Kumar and his wife Diane and filled to the brim with antiques from Mr Kumars antique store, Leems, in nearby Jew Town. Matt and I stayed in one of their rooms they rent out - it was furnished beautifully and was very clean. The little room (almost like and apartment with a little lounge off the bedroom) opened to the garden through the private entrance and always smelled of flowers. Breakfast of fruit and awesome coffee, Indian delights, dates and toast and marmelade was always amazing. Mr and Mrs Kumar were helpful in all ways and offered walking trip advice, restaurant tips and helped arrange day missions out to the Hill Palace set in a magnificent garden. Id recommend their home for anyone wanting a peaceful and lovely stay in Cochin. The house is within walking distance to Jew Town (the old city) and Bazaar Road which is full of old stores, galleries and spice shops.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneLeeGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
2.2 km away
Spice Fort
Spice Fort
#29 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.2 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#32 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.2 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#2 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Raintree Lodge
Raintree Lodge
#41 of 196 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.8 km away
Caza Maria
Caza Maria
#94 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.1 km away
Niyati - Boutique Stay
Niyati - Boutique Stay
#15 of 408 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sui House Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sui House Homestay

Property: Sui House Homestay
Address: 8/2010, Maulana Azad Road | Near Westside Hospital, Kochi (Cochin) 682002, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 408 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,502 - ₹ 8,323
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Sui House' is a B&B in Jew Town close to the Synagogue and Dutch Palace. This refurbished heritage house has all modern comforts like attached bath, hot and cold shower, aircondition etc. Surrounded by a beautiful garden this private residence has 2 beautifully decorated suites for guests. Attached living rooms open out to the garden. Breakfast is served near the garden patio. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sui House Homestay Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing