We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful owner.”
Review of Kapithan's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapithan's Inn
Ranked #197 of 442 Kochi (Cochin) B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great location, helpful owner.”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I was able to book during a busy time, and was received helpfully when I needed to change my plans during the busy family holiday season, Puspar was able to make herself available when needed and books things efficiently without any hesitation or delay. A good source of local knowledge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
37
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We booked this place through hostelbookers for a few nights, encouraged by the great reviews we had seen on trip advisor. When we got there, we found the budget room we had booked very clean, but also very small and the matress thin, considering the price we had paid. So we chose to leave after about 5 minutes - after paying the first night's accomodation as per the hostebookers policy.
We then found another place around the corner, which had larger rooms for a cheaper price and good, thick matresses. If we had stayed in the more deluxe rooms (with AC etc) on offer we would probably have had a vastly different experience, but these were way out of our price range.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alholrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Kapithan Inn is a very good guest house to stay in Fort Cochin. We spent 4days 3nights & we enjoyed it! The owner is very helpful & friendly.

The guest house is clean & tidy with a/c. The location of the guest house is very convenient to the most of the sight seeing location as well as the happening places in Fort Cochin, however is is also isolated from the noise as it is quiet at night for rest.

Our advise is to choose the suite at the back as it is spacious & newly renovated. Do not hesitate to ask advice for tours as they also provide some good, quality & reliable packages.
Looking forward to go. We would recommend our family & friends to go there when visiting Cochin.

Job well done!

Room Tip: Suite, big & quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pack2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed in Kapithan room a few days ago and were thrilled with the clean, thoughtful and affordable room, the excellent location in beautiful Fort Cochin and the warm and helpful Pushpar and family. We would definitely stay here again! Everything you could want...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I love this place! It's convenient to restaurants and shopping, and around the corner from the best part of Kochi, the Kathakali Cultural Center, where you can do yoga, meditation, or watch traditional dance and music.The Inn overlooks a field where kids play cricket and football.
Rooms themselves are clean and you get a new towel daily. There's wifi downstairs and a rooftop patio.
My favorite part of my weeklong stay there was getting to know Pushpa, Grace and Pais (I might have spelled his name wrong), the two sisters and brother who run the place. They grew up there and know everything about Fort Cochin. and are happy to chat with you about their community, Kerala, or India in general. Definitely a highlight of my month in India.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violet222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.2 km away
Trinity at Fort Cochin
Trinity at Fort Cochin
#86 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
25 reviews
0.3 km away
Vasco Da Gama Inn
Vasco Da Gama Inn
#88 of 210 in Kochi (Cochin)
77 reviews
0.2 km away
Leelu's Homestay
Leelu's Homestay
#71 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Madeleine Inn
Madeleine Inn
#18 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
110 reviews
0.4 km away
Sonnetta Residency
Sonnetta Residency
#19 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
266 reviews
0.1 km away
ChristVille Homestay
ChristVille Homestay
#12 of 442 in Kochi (Cochin)
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapithan's Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapithan's Inn

Property: Kapithan's Inn
Address: 1/931 Near Santa Cruz Ground | K. L. Bernard Master Road, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 442 B&Bs / Inns in Kochi (Cochin)
Price range (per night): ₹ 835 - ₹ 1,928
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapithan's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THE CHANGE OF PROPERTY NAME - FROM KAPITHAN INN TO KAPITHAN'S INN We have elegantly furnished cozy rooms for budget travellers with affordable prices. Rooms are avaialble Non AC and with AC, attached bathrooms with hot and cold showers. Also have exquisitely furnished modern AC suite rooms for high end travellers with TV, refrigerator, balcony etc. Family rooms are also available with 4 beds in an AC suite room. We are centrally located and have easy access to beach, historic monuments, restaurants, shops, theatre with cultural activities, yoga and meditation centres, massage parlours etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelGuru, EaseMyTrip, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Kapithan's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapithan's Inn Kochi (Cochin), Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing